Who o' you has DOS?

Anything else unrelated to gaming can go here.
User avatar
Da_Goat
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2026
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2002 6:14 pm
Location: Prescott, Arizona, USA, Earth, The Milky Way, The Universe, Nothing and Nowhere.

Post by Da_Goat »

They're just annoying to some people......including me. It makes your desktop look "cluttered". I don't mind if it has only the ones I like on there, but I really hated having about 9 manditory icons.
User avatar
Kazer0
<i>Mercenary Dishwasher</i>
Posts: 2704
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2002 5:46 pm
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

Post by Kazer0 »

I only have 6 manditory, maybe less (im not gunna get rid of them). And im clostrophobic, i need the colors of the icons to keep me from feeling trapped inside the desktop. I know it sounds funny, but its true. I have trouble like that making my website, it just seems like im stuck, and i cant go anywhere else. Its wierd, but ok.
User avatar
Da_Goat
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2026
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2002 6:14 pm
Location: Prescott, Arizona, USA, Earth, The Milky Way, The Universe, Nothing and Nowhere.

Post by Da_Goat »

just get an awesome background, and all of your problems are solved.
User avatar
Kazer0
<i>Mercenary Dishwasher</i>
Posts: 2704
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2002 5:46 pm
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

Post by Kazer0 »

I would, and I have one, but my dad wont let me put any background on here. He has some ver odd rules :huh: . So i have the original green-screen.
User avatar
Da_Goat
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2026
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2002 6:14 pm
Location: Prescott, Arizona, USA, Earth, The Milky Way, The Universe, Nothing and Nowhere.

Post by Da_Goat »

he won't even let you do the original windows ones? Jeez, your dad won't let you have games or have a background? I'm surprised you enjoy any of your time on the computer....now I understand why you post so much on forums.
User avatar
Kazer0
<i>Mercenary Dishwasher</i>
Posts: 2704
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2002 5:46 pm
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

Post by Kazer0 »

lol, i knoe. Its sad. I cant even play java-games. Its very odd. Ill change the background when he goes away on vacation in january
User avatar
Da_Goat
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2026
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2002 6:14 pm
Location: Prescott, Arizona, USA, Earth, The Milky Way, The Universe, Nothing and Nowhere.

Post by Da_Goat »

you bad boy, I'm telling :P

Well, when that time comes, try http://www.supercars.net if you are into cars. Presently, I have a Lamborghini Diablo as my background B)
User avatar
Kazer0
<i>Mercenary Dishwasher</i>
Posts: 2704
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2002 5:46 pm
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

Post by Kazer0 »

It just so happens that he and my mom are going to mexico, and the cool back ground is a generated tropic background.

www.geocities.com/gokusonca/tropic_dreams.jpg

you need to copy and paste it to the address bar, or it thinks its hotfiling.
User avatar
486 player
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god
Posts: 1197
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2002 6:32 am
Location: Europe

Post by 486 player »

No more DOS users? No wonder you've so much troubles with our games.
C'mon! Get a 4y. It'll be worth o' it when there aren't any Runtime Errors, and speed problems. And what becomes for memory, DOS has best tools for it.
NO Windows, NO DOSBox, DOS!
User avatar
Oz
Way too much free time
Way too much free time
Posts: 581
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2002 6:59 am
Location: London, UK.

Post by Oz »

i agree. i used to have a 486 dx 25mhz with a 50 mhz upgrade, and i never enjoyed games more. sure, when i first got medal of honour, the graphics were great, but after a few days, the feeling wore off. but i could play death rally forever.... why?

because dos ROCKS!!
User avatar
Kazer0
<i>Mercenary Dishwasher</i>
Posts: 2704
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2002 5:46 pm
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

Post by Kazer0 »

That cant be a 486... 386 = around 88 mhz, 486 = PI Equivilant. I think you have a 286.
User avatar
486 player
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god
Posts: 1197
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2002 6:32 am
Location: Europe

Post by 486 player »

DR reguires 8 mbs o RAM.
NO Windows, NO DOSBox, DOS!
User avatar
Oz
Way too much free time
Way too much free time
Posts: 581
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2002 6:59 am
Location: London, UK.

Post by Oz »

actually, the pentium is intel's name for their 586 processor.
User avatar
Kazer0
<i>Mercenary Dishwasher</i>
Posts: 2704
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2002 5:46 pm
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

Post by Kazer0 »

i think its 486, cuz i have a 486 and its a PI 133 mHz
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time
Posts: 559
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 6:55 pm

Post by Unknown_K »

I runn dos 6.22/win 3.11 on a AMD 486/133 OC to 160 (just for the hell of it) 16mb ram, 2gb WD HD. For the most part it plays the DOS games fine except for some older titles that play kind of fast. Anybody here use a 386 for the real old 80's games?
Post Reply