Running Linux in Windows

Anything else unrelated to gaming can go here.
User avatar
abyss
Moloral Compass
Moloral Compass
Posts: 754
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 6:13 pm

Post by abyss »

I'm english with a messed up combonation of french and english dilect. On topic: What linux is the best?
<i>Formerly known as Hulk Hogan.</i>

User avatar
wardrich
"Some Troll"
Posts: 3940
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2002 9:08 pm
Location: Ontario Canada

Post by wardrich »

abyss wrote:I'm english with a messed up combonation of french and english dilect. On topic: What linux is the best?
It's personal preference. I suggest starting off with Mepis. It's where I started. It's still one of my most favourite distros. My fave is probably Sabayon, but it's not very stable ATM.

User avatar
Ro@m
<i>Hamachi Guardian</i>
Posts: 1556
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 1:34 pm
Location: Croatia

Post by Ro@m »

Larry Laffer wrote:
Ro@m wrote:and it has a module called Wine,basically with it you can run windows programs and games.
If I said that you remind me of Tinman47, would you get it? :P


And I for one wouldn't mess with co Linux. If I want to run Linux, then I install Linux, ONLY!
LOL,you run windows programs INSIDE of linux,no need for a VM.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WINE
n00b
Kazer0 wrote:WHO ARE ALL YOU PEOPLE?

User avatar
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4143
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:06 am
Location: Romania

Post by Larry Laffer »

You're the noob for discovering sliced bread! Again! Tinman47 :P
<center>
abyss wrote:I don't even know if starcraft 1 was a windows or dos games.
</center>

ModBot™ - Faster than the speed of spam!(and always taking it to where it belongs!)

User avatar
dosraider
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9243
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

Post by dosraider »

Back on topic :P

Haven't tried that one yet, but seems it's not bad at all:
http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/VirtualBox
All the manuals and support you need.

Supports several guest OS'es.
http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Guest_OSes

Ro@m wrote:LOL,you run windows programs INSIDE of linux,no need for a VM
This one also runs in several Linux distri.



Freeware.
Open source software, the kind I like.

Will probably give it a try one day .


....one day.

Don't hold your breath.
wardrich wrote:The contrasts in personalities will deliver some SERIOUS lulz. I can't wait.

wadeo999
Expert
Expert
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 2:50 am
Location: Australia

Post by wadeo999 »

What earlier versions of linux are avalible for a 300mhz computer?

or maybe a 600mhx with 64 meg of ram, any versions of ubuntu or soemthing support that?
-WADEJ999

Image

User avatar
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4143
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:06 am
Location: Romania

Post by Larry Laffer »

Slackware!

But I'm not sure about a decent command-less GUI!
<center>
abyss wrote:I don't even know if starcraft 1 was a windows or dos games.
</center>

ModBot™ - Faster than the speed of spam!(and always taking it to where it belongs!)

User avatar
dosraider
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9243
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

Post by dosraider »

Ubuntu ? nope, forget Ubuntu.
Even the so called 'light' version needs more:
http://www.ubuntu.com/products/whatisubuntu/xubuntu

Slackware would probably be one of the highest you can run smoothly on 64MB:
http://www.slackware.com/faq/

Or some older FreeBSD, have a 6 CD set here , FreeBSD 2.0x, but that needs a bit of linux knowledge to get it running. That one could even run on a 486/100Mhz.
The later Freebsd's need again a bit more, certainly if you want a GUI installed.

The highest FreeBSD on your specs (LOW RAM !!) is probably the 3.x:
http://ftp.xfree86.org/pub/XFree86/4.6. ... eeBSD-3.x/
Again: not that easy to work with.
wardrich wrote:The contrasts in personalities will deliver some SERIOUS lulz. I can't wait.

User avatar
wardrich
"Some Troll"
Posts: 3940
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2002 9:08 pm
Location: Ontario Canada

Post by wardrich »

wadeo999 wrote:What earlier versions of linux are avalible for a 300mhz computer?

or maybe a 600mhx with 64 meg of ram, any versions of ubuntu or soemthing support that?
DSL should run on it.

User avatar
dosraider
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9243
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

Post by dosraider »

Completely forgot that one, what a shame!!

DSL will run on it.
And pretty fast also.
One drawback: older kernel.
He would be better of with DSL-N, that runs pretty good on a 300MHz/64MbRam, a 600MHz is perfect for it.
DSL-N has a newer kernel and can thus run newer linux applics.
Both can be downloaded as live CD ( ISO format), so he can test both.

One advise Wadeo: read the manual before you decide to install it on your HD, depending the sort of HD install you need 64 or 128MBRam.
Be sure to choose the right one ;)


On a side note:
A nice GUI, with full rightclick mouse support .
Maybe B.Gates should look that way for his next GUI, the right mouse support is marvelous in DSL/DSL-N.
dayaccus007 wrote:Linux is for server.
Now, that tiny thing is a complete desktop PC. And server if you want.


Sorry for the rambling ....
wardrich wrote:The contrasts in personalities will deliver some SERIOUS lulz. I can't wait.

User avatar
dosraider
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9243
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

Post by dosraider »

dayaccus007 wrote:Linux is for server.
And Linux is also a good gaming PC.

Pingus (Lemmings clone) in Kororaa:
Image

You probably have no idea how many freeware Linux games are downloadable on teh internet. And plenty of ported W_games.

You may drool now. :)
wardrich wrote:The contrasts in personalities will deliver some SERIOUS lulz. I can't wait.

User avatar
wardrich
"Some Troll"
Posts: 3940
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2002 9:08 pm
Location: Ontario Canada

Post by wardrich »

dosraider wrote:
dayaccus007 wrote:Linux is for server.
And Linux is also a good gaming PC.

Pingus (Lemmings clone) in Kororaa:
Image
Screw penguins...

Image
Quake 4

Image
Sauerbraten


(Sauerbraten being free)

User avatar
Thunderdog
<b>Token Black Guy</b>
<b>Token Black Guy</b>
Posts: 1737
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2002 9:25 pm
Location: Southeastern Japan

Post by Thunderdog »

Man, I bet my 32 MB graphics card could run Quake 4 SMOOTH.

User avatar
dosraider
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9243
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

Post by dosraider »

wardrich wrote:Screw penguins...
Nope, I'll leave that for you .
I know you love them penguins.
wardrich wrote:The contrasts in personalities will deliver some SERIOUS lulz. I can't wait.

User avatar
wardrich
"Some Troll"
Posts: 3940
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2002 9:08 pm
Location: Ontario Canada

Post by wardrich »

dosraider wrote:
wardrich wrote:Screw penguins...
Nope, I'll leave that for you .
I know you love them penguins.
UNF UNF UNF

Post Reply