Getting Joysticks to work

Post problems with getting games installed and running properly here.
starfiretbt

Post by starfiretbt »

How do I get new joysticks to work in old dos games?
I have been trying to play several games with my joystick but they don't work, the games don't recognize the device. These games include Metaltech: Earthsiege, Star Wars: Rebal Assault, and Star Wars: X-Wing.
I have a Thrustmaster T. Flight Stick X. I have tried third party applications to associate the Joystick to other inputs that the game will recognize such as mouse or keyboard. These programs include the program "Antimicro" however they don't fully emulate the joystick functions. For Example some Dos games ask for a joystick calibration, while I can use antimicro to center a joystick and move it to top left I do not know how to program antimicro to automatically recenter the joystick, I need to manually move it and since I can't see where the joystick is currently that is very hard. What usually happens is the joystick is partially uncalibrated and this causes performance issues.
MrFlibble
Demoniac Demo maniac
Demoniac Demo maniac

Post by MrFlibble »

If you're running in real DOS, I suggest you ask here.
starfiretbt

Post by starfiretbt »

I've tried asking them, they don't respond. I have been on a few emulator forums trying to get answers to getting a joystick to work. There is a post on Vogon's where somebody mentions each game having a specific joystick driver but the person making the post doesn't have the same problem as me.
Rwolf
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god

Post by Rwolf »