Raptor: Call of the Shadows

Post problems with getting games installed and running properly here.
Locked
Guest

Raptor: Call of the Shadows

Post by Guest »

I have the full version of Raptor from back when it was released in the 90's on floppy disks. I don't know how to intall it on windows 98 and I need help with it. How can I install it on 98?
User avatar
Dogbreath
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4620
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2002 7:02 pm
Location: In the back of a jacked-up Ford.

Post by Dogbreath »

Stick it in the floppy, open My Computer A:\ drive, and run the install.exe program. If that doesn't work, then specify your exact problem with the installation.

(Also, you can reboot to DOS mode, type Cd/ and install it the old fashion way-should work in 98 SE)
User avatar
Wally
King of the Carrot Flowers
Posts: 4708
Joined: Thu May 01, 2003 8:30 pm

....

Post by Wally »

Hi If you cant install Raptor on windows 98

I presume you are getting a runtime error.

Download Moslo from dosgames.com utillities section

put moslo in C:\windows\command directory by going to my computer and so on.

then go to dos prompt (Start>Run Command)
type the path of the file you want to install then type moslo [filename].exe


Happy gaming
User avatar
Dogbreath
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4620
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2002 7:02 pm
Location: In the back of a jacked-up Ford.

Post by Dogbreath »

What's the speed of your super machine? My 98 SE AMD 1GHz, 256mb ram runs it fine without sound. Are you having sound card errors?
Guest

Post by Guest »

I got the game running. But how do I get sound? I can't figure it out. The gameplay is faster on these newer computers, it was slower when I first got it from when it came out in 94 I think it was. Is there anyway I could get the sound to work?
User avatar
Dogbreath
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4620
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2002 7:02 pm
Location: In the back of a jacked-up Ford.

Post by Dogbreath »

Maybe-what's your sound card specs?
Guest

Post by Guest »

I have no idea, but I know its good.
User avatar
Dogbreath
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4620
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2002 7:02 pm
Location: In the back of a jacked-up Ford.

Post by Dogbreath »

Anything Creative Labs? The creators of Raptor didn't think much about sound when they made Raptor so unless you're lucky the sounds probably won't work. (No big loss-they don't add much in piticular to Raptor (unlike Quake or Half-life where you *need* them to feel the atmosphere of the game), just play some Rammstien instead)
Ken

Post by Ken »

Use Sound Canvas for the music and Ultrasound for the the sound fx. That should work nicely with the "recent" windows.

If you want to have the classic speeds, use DOSbox. That accompanied with D-Fend should be a pleasent combo.

P.S. Can I have a copy of that game? :bday:
User avatar
The_Sinister_Mastermind
<font color=red><b>Overlord</b></font>
Posts: 2744
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 11:20 am
Location: NSW, Australia, Down Under Verse

Post by The_Sinister_Mastermind »

This thread is 3 years old; the guest who owned the game is long gone, sorry.
<center>I am the master, fear none but me. I am the master of all that will be... Image

Are you looking for Z? - DOSBox & D-Fend Guide! - I’m looking for 4 games!
Best Of Windows Entertainment Package

DOSgames IRC is back! now with DOS Trivia!
Server: irc.p2p-network.net
Channel: #DOSgames
For mIRC users: irc://irc.p2p-network.net/DOSgames

Please don’t PM me every time you can’t find a game, I really don’t have time to logon to the site that often let alone be your personal assistant.
Just use the “Finding Old Games” subforum like everyone else.</center>
User avatar
dosraider
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9243
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

Post by dosraider »

RIP


poor poor guest, gone forever, breaks my heart ..... :cry:



sorry .
:jester:
mr abominable snowman
Member
Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 1:58 am
Location: Australia

Post by mr abominable snowman »

lol, well this thread helped me to replay raptor again :D
i couldnt rember how to play it, and yeah, running it through CMD helped...
y is that?
User avatar
NeonAmd64
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 7:15 pm
Location: Next to you, if not then who

Post by NeonAmd64 »

You can detect what type of sound card you have...
Right click on "My Computer"... then click on "properties"....

After that, click on a tab titled Device manager and then click on the plus sign of "Sound, video and game controllers" text

Here, is your sound card name So can you tell us now what type of sound card you have.. we may help..... :)
I am living in a black metal and I hope I die for a principle. And of course you still don't know me….
Words are coded in the two sentences above, don't try to decode it.
Atomizer4

Post by Atomizer4 »

I also have a problem with sound. The sound effects work but the music doesn't. Anyone know why? btw I have v1.0
User avatar
franpa
Way too much free time
Way too much free time
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 5:38 am
Location: australia, qld

Post by franpa »

try general midi for sound... if not then dosbox is your freind. http://dosbox.sourceforge.com
Intel Core2 DUO e6750 @ 2.66GHZ
Asus P5KC Mother Board
Windows Vista Home Premium SP1
2 Gigabytes DDR2 800 RAM Dual Channel
500 Gigabytes SATA2 Hard Disk
Creative X-FI Extreme Music
BFG Geforce 8800gt 512mb PCI-E (OC1)
Thermaltake 750watt Toughpower Power Supply
Thermaltake Armor+ MX Case.


Click here to download 'Milo The Fuel Run'. [More Information.]
Locked