Page 1 of 1

Help me run DOS games smoothly!

Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 7:54 am
by RetroGoth
I have a big problem. I was playing bio menace with a PC I fixed up(Packard Bell windows 98se, 10gb HD, 196mb ram, direct x 9.0c, motherboard ATI TV Capture Card) and saw something weird. The sound of the game is perfectly as this PC also came with the classic PC sound (so good) but the problem is when I scroll left or right during the game. I have tried it with different games and I seem to have the same problem. I changed monitors so that's not the problem...I can only think the graphics card is the problem. I made a quick video of Mario PC so you can see what I mean. Keep your eyes on Mario and hellllppppppp! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VqDgxhJNUlU

Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 10:00 am
by dosraider
How you run this? Startup in W98 or from a dosboot?

Packard Bell, W98Se, P2? P3?
System specs please.

Tried a Dos6.22 bootdisk yet? Dual boot W98SE/Dos6.22?

Details details details details ........

And 'direct x 9.0c' won't help you with dosgames. Au contraire.

Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 10:08 am
by RetroGoth
WAAAAAAAAAA well my processor is amd-k6 222 and no haven't tried dos6.22 boot. I only tried running them from windows

Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 10:30 am
by dosraider
Well friend, the truth is that dosgames run best on a dos system, or a dosemulator.
So create yourself a nice good working dosbootflop, and try it out.
Once you will have done that, you will realise that it's the way to go, and will <strike>screwup completely your PC</strike> setup a nice dual boot W98SE/Dos6.22.

As we all did in the ol'times.
Even if the W98SE dosbootmode is pretty good, it ain't 100% dos compliant for gaming.
(Altered Mem managers .... whatever).

Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 12:25 pm
by RetroGoth
I see thanks a lot for the help. I'll check out how to make a dos boot flop

Posted: Sat Mar 22, 2008 1:21 pm
by RetroGoth
Alright problem fixed! the graphics card I bought fixed all the gameplay slowdowns. woot!

Posted: Sat Mar 22, 2008 1:49 pm
by dosraider
VESA compatibel?

Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 1:58 pm
by RetroGoth
how do I know if it is?

Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 2:23 pm
by dosraider
Look in teh manual?
Google for the specific vid card?

If it runs dosgames smoothly and without glitches in W9X it probably will be.

Posted: Sun Mar 30, 2008 2:26 pm
by RetroGoth
Yeah it does run games smoothly with this card. It's a S3 Virge/GX 2MB PCI Video Card

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 7:41 am
by dosraider
Ah that good ol'S3 Virge PCI card.
Have the same in my (antique now) P1.
Always been looked upon as a 'low end' graphical card, but it is an excellent all-round card. Nothing very special, no extra fancy stuff but reliable as no other.

Should you be able to find a VooDoo3Dfx -(VooDoo chipset 1)- addon card for cheap, don't hesitate, it works flawless daisy-chained together with the S3.

That combination was the one in my P2, runs Unreal in glide rendering.
Simply beautifull graphics.

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 6:33 pm
by RetroGoth
waaa thanks for the advice. I checked ebay and the voodoos go for quite a penny....

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 6:59 pm
by Wally
yes because they run on PCI chipsets :P

maybe contact Voodoo, they might cut you a deal

Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 7:02 pm
by dosraider
RetroGoth wrote:... amd-k6 222 ....
You won't get far with an PCI-E on this one, Wally.
:P

Posted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 9:24 pm
by Guest
Wally*Won_Kenobie wrote:yes because they run on PCI chipsets :P

maybe contact Voodoo, they might cut you a deal

LOL ok

Posted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 11:23 pm
by Wally
No i mean old style PCI :P

Posted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 11:54 pm
by dosraider
Never heard of 'old style PCI'.
? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ?
Is it bigger then a rabbit?
:huh:


:laugh: