BIG TOP

Help locating old / Pre year 2000 games you used to play.
Post Reply
blondeinside

BIG TOP

Post by blondeinside » Sat Sep 22, 2007 6:10 am

hi, I'm desperately looking for "BIGTOP" a dos game that i used ti play several years ago, I think it was from '83 or 84, location of the game was a circus, very minimal graphic..
please help!!!

User avatar
greencosmos
Expert
Expert
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2006 11:21 am
Location: Finland

Post by greencosmos » Sat Sep 22, 2007 7:46 am


blondeinside

Post by blondeinside » Sat Sep 22, 2007 8:41 am

WOW!!thank you so much

sarosaripeta

Post by sarosaripeta » Fri Oct 05, 2007 6:46 pm

I've been looking for that game for years too!!!

But I have just one problem... My computer hasn't 3.5'' disk drive... blondeinside, was you able to run it?

thanks...

User avatar
dosraider
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9243
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

Post by dosraider » Sat Oct 06, 2007 12:40 am

You don't need a floppy drive.
Inside the archive you'll find 2 zipfiles.
BIGTOP-IMG.ZIP -> bootable game image for floppy.
FLOPPER.ZIP -> a flopdrive emulator.
Don't use the flopper emulator.

Extract bigtop.img to c:\games
Run dosbox.
Input:
boot c:\games\bigtop.img
That will boot the image.
Keep your cycles low.
Select difficulty with 1-9.
Use the numpad keys to play.
Image
wardrich wrote:The contrasts in personalities will deliver some SERIOUS lulz. I can't wait.

sarosaripeta

Post by sarosaripeta » Sat Oct 06, 2007 5:52 am

Thanks dosraider, but it didn't work... DOS doesn't recognize the word "boot"...

User avatar
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4143
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:06 am
Location: Romania

Post by Larry Laffer » Sat Oct 06, 2007 6:59 am

Ahem! Not DOS[or XP's Command Prompt], but DOSBox

That's a totally different thing :P

*Edit
Edited URL, was typo in it ~dosraider
<center>
abyss wrote:I don't even know if starcraft 1 was a windows or dos games.
</center>

ModBot™ - Faster than the speed of spam!(and always taking it to where it belongs!)

User avatar
dosraider
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9243
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

Post by dosraider » Sat Oct 06, 2007 7:00 am

Oh my .... n00bs.....
:blah:

Disregard that 'n00bs' ... my fault, I wasn't specific enough.
:shame:

Of course dos don't recognise that, this isn't a MSDos command, the 'boot' command is a specific DOSBOX command.

Image
As you can see it's used here in DOSBOX 0.72, my imgfile is on E:\.
Works flawless.

Bottom line:
Install dosbox 0.72, unzip bigtop.img in c:\games\
run dosbox
input at dosboxprompt
boot c:\games\bigtop.img

and there you go.

Whilst I'm on it ......
Lower the CPU cycles or your game will be unplayable.
To lower the CPU cycles:
hit CTRL+F11
To rise them:
hit CTRL+F12
In dosbox of course, that won't work in a MSDos command window.

Capiche?

*Edit
Kicking Larry's arse right now. How dare you post whilst I'm typing?
wardrich wrote:The contrasts in personalities will deliver some SERIOUS lulz. I can't wait.

sarosaripeta

Post by sarosaripeta » Sat Oct 06, 2007 7:36 am

Great!!! It worked!!!

Thanks everybody... :D

User avatar
dosraider
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9243
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

Post by dosraider » Sat Oct 06, 2007 11:27 am

You're welcome, sarosaripeta.

Thanks for the feedback, we appreciate this.

B)
wardrich wrote:The contrasts in personalities will deliver some SERIOUS lulz. I can't wait.

Post Reply