For those who do not use an EMU

Want to talk about your hardware setup? Brag about your super-machine's layout? Pretend you know a lot about computers? You can do all that and more in this forum.
Post Reply

For those you use old hardware to run DOS games, what do you use?

Pentium
7
64%
486
2
18%
386
0
No votes
286
0
No votes
XT/Tandy
0
No votes
PII/K6
2
18%
 
Total votes: 11

Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time
Posts: 559
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 6:55 pm

For those who do not use an EMU

Post by Unknown_K »

What processor platform do you use to play your games?
User avatar
abyss
Moloral Compass
Moloral Compass
Posts: 754
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 6:13 pm

Post by abyss »

Pentium 2 is the best all around for gaming.
<i>Formerly known as Hulk Hogan.</i>
User avatar
Ro@m
<i>Hamachi Guardian</i>
Posts: 1556
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 1:34 pm
Location: Croatia

Post by Ro@m »

Pentium 166Mhz MMX
Kazer0 wrote:WHO ARE ALL YOU PEOPLE?
User avatar
dosraider
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9243
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

Post by dosraider »

P1-120MMX
32MbRam
S3Virge 4Mb + Voodoo 8Mb
SB16ISA

P1-100
16 MbRam
S3Virge 4Mb
SB16ISA

Also my old 486-40MHz but my power supply is giving me probs , must find another one.
User avatar
486 player
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god
Posts: 1196
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2002 6:32 am
Location: Europe

Post by 486 player »

I wouldn't have that nic if it wouldn't be true.
NO Windows, NO DOSBox, DOS!
User avatar
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4143
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:06 am
Location: Romania

Post by Larry Laffer »

486
100 MHz
16 MbRAM
er... .5 Mb Video? :laugh:
Win 95 or plain DOS

But I don't power up that old hunk'a games, I'd rather use VPC with 95!
<center>
abyss wrote:I don't even know if starcraft 1 was a windows or dos games.
</center>

ModBot™ - Faster than the speed of spam!(and always taking it to where it belongs!)
User avatar
abyss
Moloral Compass
Moloral Compass
Posts: 754
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 6:13 pm

Post by abyss »

A 300 mhz provides a good balance of windows and dos capability.
<i>Formerly known as Hulk Hogan.</i>
User avatar
dosraider
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9243
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

Post by dosraider »

Abyss:
UnknownK in the topics tittle wrote:For those you use old hardware to run DOS games
Please, Abyss, don't go all the way back to your obsession about what YOU think is TEH BEST COMP ALLZ TIMES.
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time
Posts: 559
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 6:55 pm

Post by Unknown_K »

Outside of ancient CGA/TGA games that I play on a Tandy 1000HX, I stick to a 486/66VLB or my pentium 200MMX. I retired my 386/40 and will probably use it for old Apps and programming. Never seen a reason to use a 286 so I don't have one.
RetroGoth
Member
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 6:47 pm

Post by RetroGoth »

I'm using an AMDk6 333 processor made by packard bell and I was wondering what old age graphics card would help me get out the most of dos games?
dayaccus007
Expert
Expert
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:58 am

Post by dayaccus007 »

Ro@m wrote:Pentium 166Mhz MMX
same for me
Post Reply