Tell us about your computer!

Want to talk about your hardware setup? Brag about your super-machine's layout? Pretend you know a lot about computers? You can do all that and more in this forum.
redwing634
Member
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 3:28 pm

Post by redwing634 »

I have a few old Windows 3.1 and Windows 95 PCs at home.. not sure the specs on them

The PC I use is:
Vista Home Premium OS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 2.4GHz
2GB (1GBx2) Corsair DDR2 800MHz RAM
XFX Geforce 7900GT 256MB PCI-E Graphics Card
250GB Seagate Barracuda HD
160GB Western Digital HD
600W OCZ GameXStream Power Supply
Apevia X-Pleasure Case
User avatar
DaDosDude
Member
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 7:45 am
Location: Dutchland

Post by DaDosDude »

I ahve 1 DOS PC and 1 regular gaming PC. My Dos PC is a pentium 1, 133MHz, 32MB RAM, Sound blaster pro :P. How i love that machine.

My normal PC is geeting kinda old for these day's games. But i can still play C&C3 and Oblivion. P4 2.6 GHz. 1 gig ram, ATI raedon 9600 pro video card. 160 Gig Harddisk.

That's pretty much my gaming setup.
Pancake
Expert
Expert
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 5:23 pm

Post by Pancake »

I have a 286 computer that first helped me get into DOS games, however, I'm not sure of the specs, though it has a 3 1/2" floppy drive as well as a 5 1/4" one.

My second oldest PC is a Packard Bell computer (not sure of the model, and don't really care to look). Windows 98, 300 MHz processor, 32 MBs of RAM, 3 GB HDD, a 3 1/2" floppy drive + a CD-ROM drive, and that's all I'm really sure of.

I have another PC that's a little newer; a Hewlett Packard Pavilion 6735 with Windows 98 SE (originally came with Windows ME), 633 MHz Intel Celeron processor, 63 MBs of SDRAM PC-133, 11 MB video card, 13.5 GB HDD, and 3 1/2" floppy drive that ceases to read disks at all + a CD-ROM drive.

My newest PC; A Gateway GT4016 with Windows XP Professional SP2, AMD Athlon 64 3700+ 2.1 GHz processor, 896 MB of DDRAM, nVIDA GeForce 6100 GPU (not exactly sure of the exact numbers), 195.7 GB HDD, a DVD+RW/CD+RW disk drive, and a 3-in-1 media drive that just doesn't work.
User avatar
pcxt21
Member
Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 9:16 pm
Location: USA

Post by pcxt21 »

Well i got an

486DX-66
16mb RAM (SIMM)
32x CD-ROM
400MB HD
3 1/2 Floppy
5 1/4 Floppy
1mb VRAM (ISA)
Sound Blaster 16 (ISA)
56k Modem

Running DOS 6.22 and Windows 3.11
DOS Games Run Native!!
Ahh F-19, spend 40 minutes on a slow stealthy approach drop a bomb and spend another 30 flying back to base. 70 minutes of pure bliss...
User avatar
dosraider
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9243
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

Post by dosraider »

pcxt21 wrote: ...
5 1/4 Floppy
...
My last working 5 1/4 drive died last year , passed away noiseless but smoking.
Took my power supply in the ol'486 with it to the ethernal compy hardware nirvana.

I said SHIT.

And I say it again : SHIT.
User avatar
wardrich
"Some Troll"
Posts: 3940
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2002 9:08 pm
Location: Ontario Canada

Post by wardrich »

My old AMD64 has been handed down to my brother... I built myself a new one back in December:
<pre>
+-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+<br> Motherboard: Asus M2N4-SLI<br> Processor: AMD 64 4200+ (~2.2ghz)<br> RAM: 2gigs of DDR2 (I think it's Kingston, I don't recall the speed)<br> HDD Space: About 400gigs (800 with the external attached)<br> Videocard: XFX GeForce 7300GT [256mb PCI-E]<br> Soundcard: Soundblaster Audigy 2 platinum Pro [ripped out of the old computer] *will be upgraded when I have money.<br>+-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
</pre>
User avatar
franpa
Way too much free time
Way too much free time
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 5:38 am
Location: australia, qld

Post by franpa »

I'm angry now :Angry: :Angry: my mother board is revision 1.xx and only revision 2.00 or newer support the core 2 duo processors !
Intel Core2 DUO e6750 @ 2.66GHZ
Asus P5KC Mother Board
Windows Vista Home Premium SP1
2 Gigabytes DDR2 800 RAM Dual Channel
500 Gigabytes SATA2 Hard Disk
Creative X-FI Extreme Music
BFG Geforce 8800gt 512mb PCI-E (OC1)
Thermaltake 750watt Toughpower Power Supply
Thermaltake Armor+ MX Case.


Click here to download 'Milo The Fuel Run'. [More Information.]
User avatar
wardrich
"Some Troll"
Posts: 3940
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2002 9:08 pm
Location: Ontario Canada

Post by wardrich »

franpa wrote:I'm angry now :Angry: :Angry: my mother board is revision 1.xx and only revision 2.00 or newer support the core 2 duo processors !
lol intel
User avatar
franpa
Way too much free time
Way too much free time
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 5:38 am
Location: australia, qld

Post by franpa »

oO it isnt intel i blame, its ASUS.
Intel Core2 DUO e6750 @ 2.66GHZ
Asus P5KC Mother Board
Windows Vista Home Premium SP1
2 Gigabytes DDR2 800 RAM Dual Channel
500 Gigabytes SATA2 Hard Disk
Creative X-FI Extreme Music
BFG Geforce 8800gt 512mb PCI-E (OC1)
Thermaltake 750watt Toughpower Power Supply
Thermaltake Armor+ MX Case.


Click here to download 'Milo The Fuel Run'. [More Information.]
dayaccus007
Expert
Expert
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:58 am

Post by dayaccus007 »

Anyway, to run at full capacity a core2duo need a motherboard with 965 chipset.
User avatar
franpa
Way too much free time
Way too much free time
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 5:38 am
Location: australia, qld

Post by franpa »

oO it just needs a motherboard that supports it ^^
Intel Core2 DUO e6750 @ 2.66GHZ
Asus P5KC Mother Board
Windows Vista Home Premium SP1
2 Gigabytes DDR2 800 RAM Dual Channel
500 Gigabytes SATA2 Hard Disk
Creative X-FI Extreme Music
BFG Geforce 8800gt 512mb PCI-E (OC1)
Thermaltake 750watt Toughpower Power Supply
Thermaltake Armor+ MX Case.


Click here to download 'Milo The Fuel Run'. [More Information.]
User avatar
Thunderdog
<b>Token Black Guy</b>
<b>Token Black Guy</b>
Posts: 1737
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2002 9:25 pm
Location: Southeastern Japan

Post by Thunderdog »

Updated my specs on the first page.
User avatar
Ro@m
<i>Hamachi Guardian</i>
Posts: 1556
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 1:34 pm
Location: Croatia

Post by Ro@m »

Thunderdog wrote:32 MB nVidia Geforce 2 (Ignore that)
:laugh:

Whats with that?

Heres my configuration:

AMD Sempron 3100+ 1.8GHz
512 Mb RAM
Powercolor ATI Radeon 9600XT (128Mb variant)


Currently I'm aiming when i get some money to buy a "newer" graphics card,and more RAM.
Kazer0 wrote:WHO ARE ALL YOU PEOPLE?
Rockerest
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 7:07 pm
Location: Oh my God...where am I?

Post by Rockerest »

MOBO: Asus P5B
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.13Ghz E6400 Conroe
RAM: 2 Gb PC6400 Kingston ValueRAM
GPU: nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS 640MB PCI-e
HDD: Western Digital 320 Gb
ODD: DVD ROM, CD RW
APU: Creative SoundBlaster Audigy 4

It has a floppy drive, too!
+--------------------------------------------------------+

And then there's my laptop.

Sony Vaio VGN-FZ140E, look it up.

-rock
There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who do not.
dayaccus007
Expert
Expert
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:58 am

Post by dayaccus007 »

Nice PC!!! it will last for a while.
User avatar
dosraider
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9243
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

Post by dosraider »

Indeed, a nice PC and a nice laptop too.

One question.
Why no DVD writer in the PC ? Usually they are faster and more reliable than those laptop inbuild ones.
User avatar
franpa
Way too much free time
Way too much free time
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 5:38 am
Location: australia, qld

Post by franpa »

heres a update to my computer, im getting the motherboard and CPU next week (which is really soon :)) and have already gotten the new DVD Burner. if my memory is incompatible then ill upgrade it to 6400 800mhz memory or if possible, get some DDR3 memory :).

edit: adjusted the memory setting.
----------

INTEL Core 2 DUO E6750 2.66GHZ
ASUS P5KC motherboard
1024mb ddr2 ram 6400 (800mhz)

geforce 6600gt 128mb pcie
200gig sata2 hdd
ASUS DRW-1814BLT DVD RE WRITER
lg 52x cd rom
Sound Blaster X-FI Xtreme Music
direct x 9.0c
windows xp home sp2 on ntfs partition
latest updates for drivers, bios's, software
Last edited by franpa on Tue Aug 07, 2007 6:33 am, edited 2 times in total.
Intel Core2 DUO e6750 @ 2.66GHZ
Asus P5KC Mother Board
Windows Vista Home Premium SP1
2 Gigabytes DDR2 800 RAM Dual Channel
500 Gigabytes SATA2 Hard Disk
Creative X-FI Extreme Music
BFG Geforce 8800gt 512mb PCI-E (OC1)
Thermaltake 750watt Toughpower Power Supply
Thermaltake Armor+ MX Case.


Click here to download 'Milo The Fuel Run'. [More Information.]
tinman47
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming
Posts: 230
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 1:07 pm

Post by tinman47 »

Processor: AMD Turion64 X2 Mobile Technology TL-52 (I have 2 of them.)
RAM: 1982 MB
Hard Drive: 120 GB
Monitor: Generic PnP Monitor
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce Go 6150
System Type: 32-Bit

It was originally a Windows Vista,but when I made the smart decision to reformat,I put Windows XP Professional and my comp works like a charm. ^_^
User avatar
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4143
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:06 am
Location: Romania

Post by Larry Laffer »

Eh, why don't you switch to 64-Bit? :huh:
<center>
abyss wrote:I don't even know if starcraft 1 was a windows or dos games.
</center>

ModBot™ - Faster than the speed of spam!(and always taking it to where it belongs!)
User avatar
franpa
Way too much free time
Way too much free time
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 5:38 am
Location: australia, qld

Post by franpa »

less backwards compatible :P
Intel Core2 DUO e6750 @ 2.66GHZ
Asus P5KC Mother Board
Windows Vista Home Premium SP1
2 Gigabytes DDR2 800 RAM Dual Channel
500 Gigabytes SATA2 Hard Disk
Creative X-FI Extreme Music
BFG Geforce 8800gt 512mb PCI-E (OC1)
Thermaltake 750watt Toughpower Power Supply
Thermaltake Armor+ MX Case.


Click here to download 'Milo The Fuel Run'. [More Information.]
Post Reply