Big troubles with a 286

Want to talk about your hardware setup? Brag about your super-machine's layout? Pretend you know a lot about computers? You can do all that and more in this forum.
User avatar
GameMaster.EXE
Way too much free time
Way too much free time
Posts: 694
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 2:36 pm
Location: North Texas, USA

Post by GameMaster.EXE »

yeah...........
User avatar
Kazer0
<i>Mercenary Dishwasher</i>
Posts: 2704
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2002 5:46 pm
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

Post by Kazer0 »

dosraider wrote:
GameMaster.EXE wrote:I'm using a 486. 386 was the standard for Windows 3.1..............
Win 3.x is a GUI for dos....NOT an OS !!!
Delete your dos and win 3.x won't even run.
Graphical
User
Interface
yes ?
Wow, you really are being a jerk. But since you want to be technical, he is quite right. It is a computer operating system.

Operating Systems allow an interface between the user and the computer hardware. Even though Windows 3.1 was built on Dos, it allows the computer to function, and the user to make it do so. It is quite possible to have an OS on another OS.
User avatar
GameMaster.EXE
Way too much free time
Way too much free time
Posts: 694
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 2:36 pm
Location: North Texas, USA

Post by GameMaster.EXE »

*removed*
Last edited by GameMaster.EXE on Mon Aug 15, 2005 6:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Kazer0
<i>Mercenary Dishwasher</i>
Posts: 2704
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2002 5:46 pm
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

Post by Kazer0 »

No, its not at all. Please see the post in general off-topic.
User avatar
WishboneDawn
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2005 1:22 pm
Location: Eastern Canada

Post by WishboneDawn »

GameMaster.EXE wrote:
GameMaster.EXE wrote:
486 player wrote:586 was the 1st Pentium generation.
80586?!? :o

Hey! nobody told me they a 586

"1st Pentium Generation?" I think 486 player is talking about 8586
?? They changed the name from 586 or 80586 to Pentium because of copyright issues.

For the record I'm putting a Cyrix 686 (equivelant to a PII) in my next DOS build.
User avatar
Gamer_V
Gaming God
Gaming God
Posts: 1145
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 11:46 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Gamer_V »

I knew it! I always said a 586 is like a pentium, but no they didn't listen... I pity the fools.
<TABLE width="100%" cellpadding="1" border="0"><TR><TD width="50%">
robhofen wrote:no warcraft is a rip off of age of empires and so are a lot of other games
</TD><TD width="50%">
Larry Laffer wrote:Your people are n00bs :laugh:
</TD></TABLE><CENTER>Image</CENTER> .
User avatar
WishboneDawn
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2005 1:22 pm
Location: Eastern Canada

Post by WishboneDawn »

Gamer_V wrote:I knew it! I always said a 586 is like a pentium, but no they didn't listen... I pity the fools.
Some simply game, some of us are hardware geeks.:)
User avatar
dosraider
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9243
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

Post by dosraider »

Kazer0 wrote: Operating Systems allow an interface between the user and the computer hardware. Even though Windows 3.1 was built on Dos, it allows the computer to function, and the user to make it do so. It is quite possible to have an OS on another OS.
Yes you can have an OS on a OS, BUT win3.11 isn't a OS , never was and never will be.

A OS is an operating system, win 3.11 is a graphical user interface.
take away io.sys, msdos.sys, himem.sys, emm386.exe,mscdex.exe or any needed file (msdos/drsos/pcdos/freedos or whatever win3.11 can run on) and you can trow your pc in the trashcan.
win3.11 isn't able on his OWN to run on ANY pc.
It is an interface, shipped with some improved sysfiles,who remplace the originals,nothing more and nothing less, a interface.
User avatar
Wally
King of the Carrot Flowers
Posts: 4708
Joined: Thu May 01, 2003 8:30 pm

Post by Wally »

Windows 3.11 is for workgroups
Windows 3.1 is for any user except for those who need a network

Windows 3.1x is more like Dos with pictures on top.
User avatar
dosraider
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9243
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

Post by dosraider »

THX Wally, that clarifies the...the....yep.



I would like to see Kazer0 install his w3.x OS on a formatted HD, as he claims it is an OS, their would be no problem.
User avatar
GameMaster.EXE
Way too much free time
Way too much free time
Posts: 694
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 2:36 pm
Location: North Texas, USA

Post by GameMaster.EXE »

[quote="dosraider"].....the...the....[quote]

Out of words, huh? :D










If dosraider was an OS, it would crash often. The only applications that would run smoothly are BadAttitude v1.5, YouFool v6.9 and IDon'tGiveADamn v2.8
wadeo999
Expert
Expert
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 2:50 am
Location: Australia

Post by wadeo999 »

i used win 95 on a 486 fine.
so if i use dos and i install windows 3. watever, will i still have dos on my machine?
-WADEJ999

Image
User avatar
486 player
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god
Posts: 1197
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2002 6:32 am
Location: Europe

Post by 486 player »

Try it.
NO Windows, NO DOSBox, DOS!
Post Reply