Windows XP install

Want to talk about your hardware setup? Brag about your super-machine's layout? Pretend you know a lot about computers? You can do all that and more in this forum.
User avatar
dosraider
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9243
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

Post by dosraider » Thu May 19, 2005 4:35 am

LOL, :laugh:
Sorry , excuse me for the 'LOL'...............but tweakui is installed by rightclick on it and choose install, it will be installed on your W98 control panel, it isn't a executable.....
:)
PS: i'm not sure about the 'install' , you see my W98 is dutch , but will be something simular.
wardrich wrote:The contrasts in personalities will deliver some SERIOUS lulz. I can't wait.

User avatar
Gamer_V
Gaming God
Gaming God
Posts: 1145
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 11:46 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Gamer_V » Thu May 19, 2005 12:26 pm

Install is Install....
<TABLE width="100%" cellpadding="1" border="0"><TR><TD width="50%">
robhofen wrote:no warcraft is a rip off of age of empires and so are a lot of other games
</TD><TD width="50%">
Larry Laffer wrote:Your people are n00bs :laugh:
</TD></TABLE><CENTER>Image</CENTER> .

User avatar
Ro@m
<i>Hamachi Guardian</i>
Posts: 1556
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 1:34 pm
Location: Croatia

Post by Ro@m » Mon May 23, 2005 2:11 am

dosraider wrote:LOL, :laugh:
Sorry , excuse me for the 'LOL'...............but tweakui is installed by rightclick on it and choose install, it will be installed on your W98 control panel, it isn't a executable.....
:)
PS: i'm not sure about the 'install' , you see my W98 is dutch , but will be something simular.
the point is it doesn't install in the control panel.
Kazer0 wrote:WHO ARE ALL YOU PEOPLE?

User avatar
dosraider
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9243
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

Post by dosraider » Mon May 23, 2005 5:52 am

It really should install itself onto control panel. Tweakui is in fact a system dll.
Do you get a error message of some kind ? :suspicious:
wardrich wrote:The contrasts in personalities will deliver some SERIOUS lulz. I can't wait.

User avatar
Wally
King of the Carrot Flowers
Posts: 4704
Joined: Thu May 01, 2003 8:30 pm

Post by Wally » Mon May 23, 2005 7:51 pm

There there..

Reinstall windows??/

Save you time

User avatar
Gamer_V
Gaming God
Gaming God
Posts: 1145
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 11:46 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Gamer_V » Tue May 24, 2005 10:49 am

If everytime I had an error like that I would reinstall windows, I wouldn't have a life. (Not as if that's a change.)

Just reinstall the software or something complete boring something-else-thingy.
<TABLE width="100%" cellpadding="1" border="0"><TR><TD width="50%">
robhofen wrote:no warcraft is a rip off of age of empires and so are a lot of other games
</TD><TD width="50%">
Larry Laffer wrote:Your people are n00bs :laugh:
</TD></TABLE><CENTER>Image</CENTER> .

User avatar
dosraider
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9243
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

Post by dosraider » Tue May 24, 2005 11:29 am

You also can try via ->control panel->software ->install/uninstall.
Or consider what Wally suggested.... :boring:
wardrich wrote:The contrasts in personalities will deliver some SERIOUS lulz. I can't wait.

User avatar
Ro@m
<i>Hamachi Guardian</i>
Posts: 1556
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2003 1:34 pm
Location: Croatia

Post by Ro@m » Wed May 25, 2005 6:14 am

dosraider wrote:It really should install itself onto control panel. Tweakui is in fact a system dll.
Do you get a error message of some kind ? :suspicious:
no nothing like that
Kazer0 wrote:WHO ARE ALL YOU PEOPLE?

fabiobol
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 8:13 am

Post by fabiobol » Fri Aug 26, 2005 1:17 pm

Hey, I bought a Soltek-54U5 with the Via MvP3 chipset. I have installed 256 MB of RAM DIMM PC133, 3 HD for a total size of 22 GB (!!), and a CD-RW 52x producted by LG, and TNT2 for Video Card. The question is: what can I do for make Windows XP running quite well? I have modded XP with Nlite, it ran fine, but there are always problems with internet explorer. Now I'm using windows 98SE but it's quite slow while I'm running Internet and an audio program. With windows 2000 everything is ok, but I can't run DOS games!!! Could you tell me something more? In your opinion, how is my motherboard? Was good for its time?

User avatar
dosraider
Admin
Admin
Posts: 9243
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 2:06 pm
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

Post by dosraider » Fri Aug 26, 2005 2:24 pm

If you are happy with W98SE for your dosbased games, and with W2K for the other stuff, why not dual boot ?

fabiobol
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 8:13 am

Post by fabiobol » Fri Aug 26, 2005 2:42 pm

dosraider wrote:If you are happy with W98SE for your dosbased games, and with W2K for the other stuff, why not dual boot ?
This is not a bad idea, but the problem is that I want, if possible, an operative system that allows me to do everything, without changing it. The possible solution would be to install Windows XP or 2000, and install a VERY, VERY GOOD dos emulator. I mean an emulator that I can use to run all the dos games. For example: on Windows 2000 pro, i couldn't hear any sound on Doom2, with my Yamaha OPL3-SAx, while under Windows 95, 98 or ME the audio is pretty good. With Windows 98SE I run fine, but while i use a lot of applications, the performances are not good. Could it depend from the Via MvP3 chipset? Could I install a Pentium-MMX on a i-430FX chipset-based motherboard?

fabiobol
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 8:13 am

Re: Windows XP install

Post by fabiobol » Sun Aug 28, 2005 5:14 pm

Elign wrote:I installed Windows XP on a Pentium 200 MMX with 64 MB RAM, I was amazed when it ran at a half-decent speed.
Could you tell me the exact configuration of your P200 MMX, please? Like motherboard and chipset. for me is very important. Thanks.

Post Reply