Dosbox just got killed.

General discussion for all topics related to DOS, Windows, Linux, consoles, etc. Anything to do with games.
User avatar
Vangar
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 6:49 am

Dosbox just got killed.

Post by Vangar »

Virtual PC is now 100% free, you can get it from:

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/virtua ... s/sp1.mspx

This gives perfect DOS emulation, but the catch is you need a copy of Windows 98 or the old DOS Floppies (Which i have, woo!)
User avatar
emmzee
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2455
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2002 2:25 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post by emmzee »

Oooooh ... fancy. I'll try it out later today. I have a copy of MS-DOS 6.22 sitting on my HD ... wonder if there's some way to use that .... hmmms ...
Owner / Webmaster of DOSGames.com for over 20 years

Download my free ebook: The Historical Reliability of the New Testament
User avatar
franpa
Way too much free time
Way too much free time
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 5:38 am
Location: australia, qld

Post by franpa »

Intel Core2 DUO e6750 @ 2.66GHZ
Asus P5KC Mother Board
Windows Vista Home Premium SP1
2 Gigabytes DDR2 800 RAM Dual Channel
500 Gigabytes SATA2 Hard Disk
Creative X-FI Extreme Music
BFG Geforce 8800gt 512mb PCI-E (OC1)
Thermaltake 750watt Toughpower Power Supply
Thermaltake Armor+ MX Case.


Click here to download 'Milo The Fuel Run'. [More Information.]
User avatar
Thunderdog
<b>Token Black Guy</b>
<b>Token Black Guy</b>
Posts: 1737
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2002 9:25 pm
Location: Southeastern Japan

Post by Thunderdog »

I'd still be better off using DOSbox. Unless I can get a pirated copy.

Edit; That was easy. MS Dos 6.22, a whopping 3.95 MB.
Last edited by Thunderdog on Thu Sep 21, 2006 6:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Vangar
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 6:49 am

Post by Vangar »

Oh right... haha sorry, i've been posting it at all the forums i visit, and forgot this was the source XD

EDIT:
I'd still be better off using DOSbox. Unless I can get a pirated copy.
Uhhhh... Virtual PC is now free dude.
User avatar
franpa
Way too much free time
Way too much free time
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 5:38 am
Location: australia, qld

Post by franpa »

100% free as in no limitations what so ever except that you can't run Vista with it.
Intel Core2 DUO e6750 @ 2.66GHZ
Asus P5KC Mother Board
Windows Vista Home Premium SP1
2 Gigabytes DDR2 800 RAM Dual Channel
500 Gigabytes SATA2 Hard Disk
Creative X-FI Extreme Music
BFG Geforce 8800gt 512mb PCI-E (OC1)
Thermaltake 750watt Toughpower Power Supply
Thermaltake Armor+ MX Case.


Click here to download 'Milo The Fuel Run'. [More Information.]
User avatar
Thunderdog
<b>Token Black Guy</b>
<b>Token Black Guy</b>
Posts: 1737
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2002 9:25 pm
Location: Southeastern Japan

Post by Thunderdog »

Vangar wrote:Oh right... haha sorry, i've been posting it at all the forums i visit, and forgot this was the source XD

EDIT:
I'd still be better off using DOSbox. Unless I can get a pirated copy.
Uhhhh... Virtual PC is now free dude.
I see that. I just wasn't thinking straight, and didn't structure my post properly. I meant, I'd have been better off using DOSbox, seeing how I had no copies of DOS with which to use with Virtual PC.
User avatar
Vangar
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 6:49 am

Post by Vangar »

Oh, fair enough then.
User avatar
KAN
Experienced Member
Experienced Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 3:13 pm
Location: Indonesia

Post by KAN »

Question: can Virtual PC emulate various vintage sound cards like Roland MT-32, Adlib, etc, like DOSBox does?
ImageImage
User avatar
franpa
Way too much free time
Way too much free time
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 5:38 am
Location: australia, qld

Post by franpa »

nope... it emulates (rather poorly [lacks emulating an IRQ]) a soundblaster 16/awe32.
Intel Core2 DUO e6750 @ 2.66GHZ
Asus P5KC Mother Board
Windows Vista Home Premium SP1
2 Gigabytes DDR2 800 RAM Dual Channel
500 Gigabytes SATA2 Hard Disk
Creative X-FI Extreme Music
BFG Geforce 8800gt 512mb PCI-E (OC1)
Thermaltake 750watt Toughpower Power Supply
Thermaltake Armor+ MX Case.


Click here to download 'Milo The Fuel Run'. [More Information.]
User avatar
AdamN
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming
Posts: 261
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 2:19 am
Location: in your basement with a blood-covered axe

Post by AdamN »

Larry, Virtual PC has been around for ages, however only Apple Mac users really knew about it and the software was quite expensive. See, Virtual PC allowed an Apple Mac user to run Windows Based Applications, which were never intended to be released with Apple Mac. Of course, most software company's don't support Apple Mac, so if the user of the Apple Mac ran into a problem with the Windows Based Application, it was never given, this is due to the fact that the user had an unsupported OS with an unsupported configuration to run the Windows Based Application.

Of course, now Microsoft have incorporated the technology to run applications that were MS-DOS 6, FAT16 and FAT32 based. However, DOSBox will be needed to play most games before Windows 95.
<img src="http://iphonehellas.files.wordpress.com ... d-kill.jpg" border="1" bordercolor="#363636" width="298" height="148" alt="">

<font face="Arial" color="660000">
Nobody's More Disturbing!!
</font>
User avatar
franpa
Way too much free time
Way too much free time
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 5:38 am
Location: australia, qld

Post by franpa »

yep virtual pc suxors in the emulation department... think of it as a hackers dosbox build... everything was hacked together to work rather then actually trying to get the right end result they got a result that suited them...
Intel Core2 DUO e6750 @ 2.66GHZ
Asus P5KC Mother Board
Windows Vista Home Premium SP1
2 Gigabytes DDR2 800 RAM Dual Channel
500 Gigabytes SATA2 Hard Disk
Creative X-FI Extreme Music
BFG Geforce 8800gt 512mb PCI-E (OC1)
Thermaltake 750watt Toughpower Power Supply
Thermaltake Armor+ MX Case.


Click here to download 'Milo The Fuel Run'. [More Information.]
User avatar
Vangar
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 6:49 am

Post by Vangar »

Really... it seems to run all my old DOS games fine when in pure DOS, and not Windows 98.
User avatar
franpa
Way too much free time
Way too much free time
Posts: 847
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 5:38 am
Location: australia, qld

Post by franpa »

try getting sound fx and music at the same time in a build engine game... eg: blood/duke nukem 3d/shadow man

also settlers 2 fails to run... milo the fuel run fails... and i think i tried cannon fodder... also some of the devs told me how shitty the code is in virtual pc compared to dosbox...
Intel Core2 DUO e6750 @ 2.66GHZ
Asus P5KC Mother Board
Windows Vista Home Premium SP1
2 Gigabytes DDR2 800 RAM Dual Channel
500 Gigabytes SATA2 Hard Disk
Creative X-FI Extreme Music
BFG Geforce 8800gt 512mb PCI-E (OC1)
Thermaltake 750watt Toughpower Power Supply
Thermaltake Armor+ MX Case.


Click here to download 'Milo The Fuel Run'. [More Information.]
User avatar
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4143
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:06 am
Location: Romania

Post by Larry Laffer »

Hmm people... Can I get a FREE version of DOS from somewhere? any version is ok with me!
<center>
abyss wrote:I don't even know if starcraft 1 was a windows or dos games.
</center>

ModBot™ - Faster than the speed of spam!(and always taking it to where it belongs!)
User avatar
Mr.Guimo
Expert
Expert
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 6:56 am
Location: In front of my computer

Post by Mr.Guimo »

Is that your only wish so why not. I'll give u one link here below. Good luck with Dl.

http://www.freedos.org/
User avatar
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4143
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:06 am
Location: Romania

Post by Larry Laffer »

Thanks!
but I actualy meant MSDos as in to use it with Virtual PC!
<center>
abyss wrote:I don't even know if starcraft 1 was a windows or dos games.
</center>

ModBot™ - Faster than the speed of spam!(and always taking it to where it belongs!)
User avatar
Mr.Guimo
Expert
Expert
Posts: 157
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 6:56 am
Location: In front of my computer

Post by Mr.Guimo »

Ahaa, well i will figured it out, give me some time and i will mess you a link, but now i would have some dinner or something. See ya :)
User avatar
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin
Posts: 4143
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 8:06 am
Location: Romania

Post by Larry Laffer »

Enjoy your dinner! :laugh:
<center>
abyss wrote:I don't even know if starcraft 1 was a windows or dos games.
</center>

ModBot™ - Faster than the speed of spam!(and always taking it to where it belongs!)
User avatar
CPT Worm
<font color=gold>American Hero</font>
<font color=gold>American Hero</font>
Posts: 1383
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 12:04 pm
Location: Shiloh, IL
Contact:

Post by CPT Worm »

Linux and Mac OS X users will still use DOSBox. It's not dead at all.
Sustinendum Victoriam!
Post Reply