DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


Help!!! with my Tandy 1000 TX harddrive error

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware
Author Message
dosuser
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2008 8:52 am     Post subject: Help!!! with my Tandy 1000 TX harddrive error Reply with quote

My Tandy 1000 TX gives a svcadp50 harddisk controller error. Please help!
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9246
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2008 9:43 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Not enough details.
What HD?
Do you have free IRQs?
BIOS rom version?
What's all hooked up yet on your 1000TX?
SCSI?

Plenty more details needed.
Back to top
dosuser
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2008 10:04 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

HD #1 is Miniscribe Model # 8438

HD # 2 is Microscribe Model # 8040 - 00

I have the original keyboard and monitor.

Have know idea about the bios (Can't figure out how to get into system information)
SCSI? Ummmm... What is that??
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9246
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2008 10:24 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

dosuser wrote:
SCSI? Ummmm... What is that??

Small Computer System Interface

Seeing your question and the info you were able to give, I can only advise you to forget the HD and go for a 100MB parallel zip drive.
Gives you 100MB/disk and is known to work on the Tandy 1000TX.

Really.
Back to top
dosuser
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2008 10:28 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Can it boot from the zip drive?
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9246
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2008 10:44 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

No, you can't boot from it.
It needs drivers to work.
Don't you have a floppy? Was a 720 KB limit I thought, but eventually you can use a 1.44 one as 720 on a 1000 TX.
Back to top
wardrich
"Some Troll"


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 3945
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2008 10:15 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Hard drives are for sissies. You should upgrade to a Tandy 1000 TL/2 like mine! (note that that is not actually a picture of mine). hahaha
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)