DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Tell us about your computer!
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 13, 14, 15  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware
Author Message
wardrich
"Some Troll"


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 3942
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2007 4:57 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

greencosmos wrote:
Let's see what I understand of this stuff... I have a Logitech laser mouse... Logitech speakers... Samtron screen... 114 GT hard disk... and Windows XP. Dunno about the other stuff.


But... the other stuff is what this thread is about...
Back to top
franpa
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 847
Location: australia, qld

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 6:34 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

hey, got my memory, so now my pc is complete again <3

i got a gig of ddr2 800mhz ram while i wait for ddr3 to become available near me.

also, CPU temperature dropped from 60 degrees Celsius to 15 degrees celsius Wink (25 degrees approx. when under load) and the CPU fan runs incredibly quiet compared to my last processor and fan.
Back to top
dayaccus007
Expert
Expert


Offline
Joined: 18 Apr 2007
Posts: 136

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 10:20 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

I just upgrade my PC from Athlon Xp 2200+, 1gb Ram, Gf6600 to C2D E 6750, MSI Neo2P35 mobo, Gainward 8800GTS 320 mb, Corsair 2x1Gb 675 Mhz RAM.
Now I can play something. Happy
Back to top
ImperfectSense
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 18 Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 9:33 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

AMD64 3500+ 2.2Ghz Orleans AM2
MSI K9N SLI Platinum nForce 570
1GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800 (2x512mb)
eVGA GeForce 7600GT-KO 256mb
WD 250GB SATA2 3.0Gb/s
Lian-Li PC-60A Plus-II aluminum case
excellent psu/dvd+rw/etc
Back to top
erick_999
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 12 Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Location: Mexico

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 9:19 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, i like DOS games,
ejem I have 3 Machines:

AMD k5 PR133 (100MHZ)
8MB RAM SIMM (I think 66MHZ
170 MB HDD
15" very old Monitor
Soundcard YAMAHA or ESS
VIdeo Cirrus Logic 5446 lol
Windows 95, MS-DOS when fails win 95 (ashhh)

IBM Celeron 333MHz
32 MB RAM SDR DIMM
2MB VIDEO, up to 16 MB with miniSDR
6000 MB HDD
15" monitor
Soundcard is the same that above (i just change this)
Windows 98

Intel Celeron 1800MHz
512 MB RAM DDR400
64 MB Video SiS 661FX (200MHz RAMDAC, 166MHz GPU)
40154 MB HDD ATA 133
17" Monitor VESA DDC compatible (COMPAQ 7540)
TV capturer
Empty AGP (maybe for ATI x1950 XTX) XD
SoundCard C-Media AC'97
Windows XP

Future computer lol
Intel Core 2 Extreme Edition
8 GB RAM DDR2 PC 10000
ASUS Strike MB
768MB VideoCard Nvidia 8800 ultra
32" LCD Monitor WIDESCREEN
Sound Blaster Fatality
SO: Suse+Debian+WinXp+Windows 3.1 lol, and vista maybe

Be hapy
Back to top
franpa
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 847
Location: australia, qld

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 12:34 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

INTEL Core 2 DUO E6750 2.66GHZ
ASUS P5KC motherboard
1024mb ddr2 ram 6400 (800mhz)
bfg geforce 8800gt 512mb pcie
200gig sata2 hdd
ASUS DRW-1814BLT DVD RE WRITER
Sound Blaster X-FI Xtreme Music
direct x 9.0c
windows xp home sp2 on ntfs partition
latest updates for drivers, software
thermaltake toughpower 750watt power supply with cable management.
Back to top
CPT Worm
American Hero
<font color=gold>American Hero</font>


Offline
Joined: 25 May 2004
Posts: 1386
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 12:47 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm getting a "new" laptop.
Pentium M 1.8GHz
1GB RAM
40GB HD

Yeah, it's pimpin'. It's for use on campus and home home (since my iMac will stay in DC over the break).

I got it refurbished because I don't give a shit about it.
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9257
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 8:49 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Not bad at all, such laptop.
Not a modern gamer's delight but enough to do some stuff on it.

And dosbox will run fine on it ..... Happy
Back to top
The Boss
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 29 Sep 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2008 6:00 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

1.0 Ghz Processor
488MB RAM
20GB Hard Drive
4x Phillips CD-ROM Drive
16x BTC DVD-ROM Drive
64MB Nvidia Graphics Card
Genius 16-bit Sound Card
Windows XP Pro Racin Larry
Fly Video TV Tuner Card
Back to top
Super Smash Bros. Fan
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 23 Jan 2010
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2010 6:16 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

This thread has been sticked for a long time, so I guess it's worth reviving this one.

Here are the computer specs that I could find:

Computer made by: Dell
GB: 137.1
RAM: 1012.9
CPU: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 420 @ 1.60GHz
GHz: 1.60 GHz
Operation System: Windows XP
Video Card Intel(R) GMA 3100
DirectX version: 9.0
Sound Card: SoundMAX Integrated Digital HD Audio
Attribute of Video Card:
Pixel Shader: 2.0
Supports 3D
Video RAM: 128 MB
Graphic Chip: Intel(R) G33/G31 Express Chipset Family
Back to top
Eugene Esterly III
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Posts: 63
Location: Breinigsville, Pennsylvania, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 4:32 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I also have a Dell computer, upgraded the system 2 months ago but here are my new specs:

Dell Dimension E520
Hard Drive: 250 GB
4 GB Ram ( Upgraded from 2 GB )
Intel Pentium 4 Hyper Threading CPU running at 3.06 GHZ
Windows XP
PNY Geforce 9800 GT 1GB Video Ram (Upgraded from a 512 MB Nvidia card)
DirectX version 9.0
Creative XFI 5.1 Sound Card
15" LCD Monitor
450 Watt Power Supply (upgraded from 305 Watt Power Supply
External 3.5 floppy drive
External 500 GB hard drive
Back to top
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 4144
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Fri Jun 25, 2010 9:35 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

New Windows gaming rig:

E8400 clocked at 4.0GHz
2GB RAM(wtb moar)
nvidia 250 GTS
Windows 7 Ultimate.


It's been running everything I threw at it on high quality at the max resolution native on my monitor(which is 1280x1024).
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9257
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 25, 2010 5:14 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Pretty nice gaming rig Larry, pretty nice ....
Congratulatory

... and I see you already know what the next upgrade will be: some moar RAM. Laughing

... and most probably some extra -(not so)- silent fans to keep the temp within acceptable range .... Laughing x2
Back to top
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 4144
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 5:28 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, I've got aftermarket cooling on both the CPU and RAM(which I've overclocked a bit as well) Shit-Eating Grin



This beast is so large I can't even close the case properly. Laughing
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9257
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 5:37 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Larry Laffer wrote:
This beast is so large I can't even close the case properly. Laughing


Laughing

?
Back to top
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 4144
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 5:46 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Most likely, yes! Laughing
Back to top
pinkcannon
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 18 Jul 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 11:09 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm Using Athlon 3.2ghz ,2G ram DDR3,80G HDD,
I wanna change it next month i hope with I7 any suggestion where i can buy the cheapest one?
Back to top
Rodimus80
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Feb 10, 2014 6:31 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Main PC
Mobo: Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
CPU: Core i7 950 3.07GHz
RAM: 6GB
GPU: nVidia GeForce GTX 470
HDD: 128GB SSD
OS: Windows 8.1

Server PC
Mobo:
CPU: Core 2 Duo
RAM: 4GB
GPU: nVidia 9800 GTS
HDDs: 10TBs Amongst SATA Seagate HDDs
OS: Windows 7 Pro

Windows XP Gaming
Mobo:
CPU: AthlonXP 3200+ 2.21GHz
RAM: 1GB
GPU: nVidia GeForce 6200
OS: Windows XP

Windows 98 Gaming
Brand: Dell Dimension 4100
CPU: Pentium III 867MHz
RAM: 256MB
GPU 1: nVidia TNT2 M64 32MB
GPU 2: Voodoo 2
Audio: SB Live!
OS: Windows 98SE

DOS 6.22-Windows 3.11/Windows 95 Gaming
Brand: Gateway G6-333
CPU: Pentium II 333MHz
RAM:
GPU 1: ATI Mach 64 GT
GPU 2: Voodoo 2
Audio: AWE64
OS: Dual Boot DOS 6.22/Windows 95 OSR2.5

DOS 6.22 / Windows 3.11 Gaming
Mobo:
CPU: Cyrix 6x86-P133
RAM: 16MB
GPU: ATI Mach64
Audio: AWE64 / ESS Audio Drive ES1898F
OS: DOS 6.22 / Windows 3.11

DOS 6.22 Gaming
Mobo: G486HVL
CPU: 486DX 2
RAM:
GPU: CL-GD5428
Audio: ESS1868
OS: DOS 6.22
Back to top
Aldeb
Expert
Expert


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2014
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2014 3:12 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice. my retro gaming rig is as follows:

Pentium II 400 Mhz
192 MB RAM
CD-Rom / DVD-Rom
4 GB HDD
TNT2 Model 64 Video Card / 32mb
Windows 98 SE

It can run anything as new as Half-Life (in HL fps rate drops at 20 or lower). My other Windows XP machine can run HL and anything newer, so that's fine. i tried adding another 20 GB HDD but Windows 98 won't recognize it, must need a reinstall for it to work idk
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9257
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2014 3:38 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

A nice ol'gaming PC I would say.
Aldeb wrote:
......i tried adding another 20 GB HDD but Windows 98 won't recognize it, must need a reinstall for it to work idk

Naaaaaa, don't need a reinstall to add a compatible HD in W98.


Master/slave setting on your HDs?
Some old HDs had jumpers that restricted only one HD, also don't use 'cable select', some had 'slave present', etcetera ..... plenty of things that can go wrong with those @#@#@#jumpers
Wrong FAT system?
BIOS settings?
Wrong flat cable? (ATA xxx)
Faulty flat cable?

It's a long list of things that can go wrong .....
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 13, 14, 15  Next
Page 14 of 15

 
Free Windows games


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)