DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


DOSBOX or VIRTUA PC for mapping to N/W Drives

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work
Author Message
all4one
Guest






PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 3:00 pm     Post subject: DOSBOX or VIRTUA PC for mapping to N/W Drives Reply with quote

Guys

I DOS Application that I need to get working on a XP PC.

I've got the app running under DOSBOX but I also need to map n/w drives in the virtual machine for the App to copy files up to.

Any ideas how I go about this and would Virtua PC be better for this purpose?

Any help would be really appreciated,
Back to top
wardrich
"Some Troll"


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 3942
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 3:02 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

can't you copy them with dosbox?
Back to top
Guest







PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2007 2:58 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Copy what ?

I need to have mapped drives under DOSBOX to copy files up to the N/W which the DOS App produces.
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9257
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2007 11:37 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Now then you need Virtual PC and use the VPC's LAN bridge on the host PC.
So your network drives and shared folders will be accessible.

In plain Dos/VPC you must add the addons files so that you can LAN connect to the hostPC.
Simply mount the Dos Virtual Machine Additions.vfd on your virtual A floppy,you will find it in the X:\Microsoft Virtual PC\Addition\ folder and run the addon. The neccesary files will be copied to your virtual machine.

You will need at least some extended basic dos understanding to use this.
If you have troubles to understand what I'm talking about read the manual.

If you use W98(SE) you will need the VMAdditions013040.iso if you're on VPC2004.
Back to top
MiniMax
Expert
Expert


Offline
Joined: 25 Jan 2007
Posts: 149
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2007 6:13 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

That sound utterly complicated. Do you also buy a cow when you just want milk dosraider?

all4one - if you mount the network drives as say X and Y before you launch DOSBox, can't you just do a

Z:\> mount E X:\
Z:\> mount F Y:\

and E and F will become the networked drives inside DOSBox.
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9257
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 12:27 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

LOL, complicated? Not if you ever have worked with Dos.

I use VPC much more then dosbox, for the simple reason that all, yes all Dosgames and whatever dosapplications runs in it.
VPC is the closest thing you can get compared to a real 486/P1 when it comes to run plain Dos.
You can't say that from dosbox, can you ?

And:VPC runs W95 games that won't run in XP also.
You can't say that from dosbox, can you ?

And:VPC runs also W98(SE).
You can't say that from dosbox, can you ?

And:VPC runs also Linux, real nice to test some things out before installing it on your good PC.
You can't say that from dosbox, can you ?

And:VPC even runs NT-W2K-XP,also real nice to test some things out without screwing up your system.
You can't say that from dosbox, can you ?

And: all internet connected within VPC without risk for your host PC.
You can't say that from dosbox, can you ?

Backing up your installed systems in VPC is only a matter of copying the virtual folder, screw up and it takes you 5 secs to put them back.

You even can run dosbox in a VPC W98/NT/W2K.

See MiniMax, dosbox has his pluses,but VPC also has his plus'es.
You sound more as someone who doesn't know VPC.

Don't misunderstand me here, I really like dosbox, and certainly the 0.70 is close to perfection, but it ain't VPC nor VMWare.
Back to top
wardrich
"Some Troll"


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 3942
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 1:07 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

dosraider wrote:
LOL, complicated? Not if you ever have worked with Dos.

I use VPC much more then dosbox, for the simple reason that all, yes all Dosgames and whatever dosapplications runs in it.
VPC is the closest thing you can get compared to a real 486/P1 when it comes to run plain Dos.
You can't say that from dosbox, can you ?

And:VPC runs W95 games that won't run in XP also.
You can't say that from dosbox, can you ?

And:VPC runs also W98(SE).
You can't say that from dosbox, can you ?

And:VPC runs also Linux, real nice to test some things out before installing it on your good PC.
You can't say that from dosbox, can you ?

And:VPC even runs NT-W2K-XP,also real nice to test some things out without screwing up your system.
You can't say that from dosbox, can you ?

And: all internet connected within VPC without risk for your host PC.
You can't say that from dosbox, can you ?

Backing up your installed systems in VPC is only a matter of copying the virtual folder, screw up and it takes you 5 secs to put them back.

You even can run dosbox in a VPC W98/NT/W2K.

See MiniMax, dosbox has his plus'es,but VPC also has his plus'es.
You sound more as someone who doesn't know VPC.

Don't misunderstand me here, I really like dosbox, and certainly the 0.70 is close to perfection, but it ain't VPC nor VMWare.


Dosbox is free and doesn't require you to own any other versions of windows [other than the host OS] to use it. Can't say that about VPC, can ya?
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9257
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 2:14 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

wardrich wrote:
Dosbox is free and doesn't require you to own any other versions of windows [other than the host OS] to use it. Can't say that about VPC, can ya?


VPC is also freeware now.
Even VMWare player is freeware, and you can use the trial VMServer to set up your virtuals, you don't need the VMserver afterwards, only the VMWplayer.

And as for the OS you need: We live in the wonderfull internet years, anyone who pays for an old OS is simply an idiot or a complete n00b.

And as i said:
Don't misunderstand me here, I really like dosbox, and certainly the 0.70 is close to perfection, but it ain't VPC nor VMWare.

There is a significant difference between dosbox and VPC-VMWare, dosbox emulates one OS via software, VPC-VMWare emulates a Hardware system.
Back to top
MiniMax
Expert
Expert


Offline
Joined: 25 Jan 2007
Posts: 149
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 2:14 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

dosraider wrote:
You sound more as someone who doesn't know VPC.

I don't know your age, but I would not be surprised if I started to read about virtualization techniques on the IBM 360 while you were still reading your Donald Duck cartoons.
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9257
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 3:37 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

51 now, and grandfather.

Not that this make me wiser than you, far from even.

I'm pretty sure that when my oldest was reading donald duck cartoons MiniMax was waiting in queue somewhere t'll his father and his mother ..... ;)

[EDIT]
Listnen MiniMax, no need to be hostile, OK ?
I didn't said that dosbox was no good, so no need to get defensive here.

Once again, cause apparently it's easy overlooked:
[echo]
And as i said:
Don't misunderstand me here, I really like dosbox, and certainly the 0.70 is close to perfection
[/echo]
OK ?
Back to top
MiniMax
Expert
Expert


Offline
Joined: 25 Jan 2007
Posts: 149
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 2:19 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

No hostility intended, and none taken.

44 btw.
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9257
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 2:38 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

That's your shoe size ? Pretty large feet you have.


|joky ;)
Back to top
roarker
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 12:44 pm     Post subject: dosbox & windows Reply with quote

I just have to set this straight. I have gotten both windows 95 and windows 98(se) running under dosbox. So, yes I can say that!

For higher OS's such as XP, Vista, 7, and linuxes (of all sorts) I prefere vitualbox. It's simple and works well.

Have not tried it but it seems to me that mounting the network drive to a drive letter under windows should allow the dosbox mount command to work just find and it is a MUCH simpler solution to a VPN add on. You have to think about intent hear as well. If your trying to run and enterprise solution something like VPN or VMware seems much more appealing since it is designed for such things and much sturdier than something like dosbox.

On the other hand, if you are just trying to get some old DOS, win95/98 games running dosbox works fine and serves the purpose very well.

Just a point to ponder. sometimes simplicity is better than flexibility. dosbox was not truly designed to run network applications just basic DOS games. I personally think it is a hoot I can get windows 95/98 working with it!
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Free Windows games


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)