DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Death Rally Windows XP
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work
Author Message
XiXaQ
Guest






PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 12:01 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

It is possible to make Death Rally run smoothly under windows xp. I've done it with the same hardware configuration I'm currently having. But I forgot how. You don't need dosbox.
Back to top
Diablo
Guest






PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2005 11:59 am     Post subject: Go to Run Reply with quote

use the /w command

for example:

C:\DRally\RALLY.EXE /w

Enjoy... now it will look so fast for you Tbbbbbth!
Back to top
BachManiac
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 2:45 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!

I also wanna play Death Rally under Windows XP and have some problem.

in soundsetup I have choosed the soundblaster pro with 220, 5, 1 (this is the only config that works, tested on 3 different PC's yet) and started rally.exe /w!

All works fine, the music is a little bit "hacky" or so, but no matter.

BUT!

Randomly it kicks me out of the game! Sometime during race, sometime in the menu . It cames absolutely randomely, sometimes I can finish a race without kick, but this is rare.
When the game kicks me out onto the desktop I get no error-message!
When I set "NO SOUNDCARD" in Setup, I will not be kicked from the game!



Compatibility-Mode does not have an effect!

----

At second, how can I play it in multiplayer over ethernet-lan?
I have installed ipx protocol at both pc's but the game can't find the protocol!

Can anyone help me?

greetz!
Back to top
BachManiac
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 2:25 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

So now I tried the game with vdmsound, but I can't get the right soundconfig!

The game does not start which any config!

When I disable sound in setup it run's with vdmsound but who needs this... Bored

On VDMSound I can activate IPX Network emulation! The game now finds the network, but my two pc's can't find each other in the game...

Its hopeless......... Meh
Back to top
BachManiac
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2005 9:48 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

So with the VDMSOUND-Update it works!

But it still crashes during gaming...

network does work now with vdmsound...


but no sound.
Back to top
hjuman
Guest






PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 5:30 am     Post subject: please Reply with quote

I'm use command"/w".
but it is rerally slow.
when i have computer who have windows 95 and ms-dos the game was faster.
what can i do to play game in normal speed.
dos or something where can i download programm for this.
please answer in a post or e-mail hjuman@gmail.com
Back to top
franpa
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 846
Location: australia, qld

PostPosted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 6:47 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

dosbox

use the above link to download dosbox.
Back to top
Ranguvar
Guest






PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 3:56 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Death Rally is incompatible with DOSBox. A pity, I love it very much. I just got an old secondhand notebook that has Win98SE on it, that runs it fine, I upgraded to WinME and it even works then. that looks like ur best bet.
Back to top
guile87norway
Guest






PostPosted: Wed Jul 05, 2006 9:29 pm     Post subject: Death rally is somthing problematic to get to work on any pc Reply with quote

I've been stribing for days. I have A allright pc, with newer cards and OS - its XP pro. And this game, DEath rally, i find it quite fun. So i wanted to make it work, last time i played it on a 233mhz p2 pc. But now it was so difficuilt to make it work.
I first made multiboot with Win98se and winXP pro. So it worked almost good enough in 98se. there was a problem with sound and a problem with graphic card. there was a problem with everything anyway, just to get this baby going.

The point about Death Rally is - you have to have an old pc, or old cards and devices. The older, the better. If you have a new OS, and new powerful graphic card and soundcard, then you have to start trying to make the game work with emulators, but thats not gonna fix everything, i think.

The main reason why I wanted to play death rally was cause i was just putting up some LAN network play with friends. So the game is at first just great just as it is. It needs no changing. Its great, the game.

So.. anyway, I had to go to Novell.com to download "THE" IPX protocol. cause Novell was the founder of IPX or something like that. and a lot of those classic tresured games are based on IPX, and the old stuff, is more complicated to make it work. Now we just use the Microsoft-network-protocols or something to make a LAN work - on newer games. But, on older games, you have to work for days and nights to get wiser and just find out what you're gonna have to do to make those games work - especially on LAN, which i think is really fun.

I'm saying that there are lots of geat games for DOS, better games than newer games today. So I'm wondering why we or someone Remaster those great games. So that they will function on newer computers and OS'es

you know, to make death rally work on my pc, I had to:

install windows 98se
find an old soundblaster card and install it in my pc
find an old piece of graphics card and install it
and install IPX-protocols for LAN-play

The best to make death rally function, is to find an old pc
pentium 2, 233mhz, 128mb ram, soundblaster awe16 soundcard, graphics card not better or newer than 16mb (32mb is maybe ok)

Just pick up the old family pc and play death rally on it, find together 4 old pc's and put them together in a room, and then you can play lan. I just got to test death rally on 2 pc's. It worked well on the LAN.

but i would be happier if "they"(who will that be, anyway?) would make a newer remastered version of a selected number of DOS-games which are of teh most difficult to make function in modern today - to take those old great gameplay-games - and remaster them to work today. I've been sitting for a couple of days trying to make that great game Death rally to work, with sound, on LAN - complete - but it's always a new problem that accours - it seems like that.

I have to dissconect my geforce 4 MMX (64mb) card everytime i wanna play deathrally so that the pc will recocnice the voodoo 4 4500 (32mb) graph card i have put on a PCI-slot. then it's working about perfect, In win98se, with an old soundblaster card i had to find and install, and... yeah, its crazy - this- well, maybe it should have been a little bit easies to play great games. There are a lot of not so good games that are made today, with lots of graphics and lots of possibilities.
But again - I often find siple things fun. super bomberman 3 - thats my greatest multiplayer game-with-friends-play. warcraft 1 is fun. I think that warcraft 3 is to difficult, too much. war1 is more bacic, simple. Bomberman is too. and death rally. Jones in the fast lane - thats gameplay you have to search hard for.
I don't know but basically i find those games designed for playing with friends are much more fun. thats why i like LAN.
..pretty much off track, heh..

Hey, oldgames-fans: lets give some money or something, or give some effort for making remasterings of games like warcraft 1, bomberman, death rally.. - so that it will get easier and sometimes POSSIBLE to play those great games. some games are so immpossible to play on newer pcs that folks wont ever get the chance. why cant they remaster? sequels often suck. so if they'd remaster, they'd keep all of the original. the reason thy they chance things is cause we're not happy with what was.
hey! lets be happy! yo!

goodbye, too much to be said, better leave it half.
Back to top
Crash_
Guest






PostPosted: Sat Sep 23, 2006 5:59 am     Post subject: Re: Death rally is somthing problematic to get to work on an Reply with quote

guile87norway wrote:

I have to dissconect my geforce 4 MMX (64mb) card everytime i wanna play deathrally so that the pc will recocnice the voodoo 4 4500 (32mb) graph card i have put on a PCI-slot.

I think you don't need to disconnect geforce, just go to bios and change "init display adapter first" from "agp" to "pci", that should do the trick.

Sound emulating you can propably do without old soundblaster, for example with that WDM? (how was it spelled?) thing someone mentioned in this forum.

Still this seems to need old windows. I just can't make the game run smoothly in windows xp. Not even with dosbox. I'm too lazy to try exact version of dosbox someone mentioned. Does it really make this game work on xp?
Back to top
AnimeMasta
Guest






PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 2:23 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

deeze wrote:
Hi guys.
I've P4 2,4 GHz Radeon 9000PRO SB Live! Win XP SP2
I made the game work properly on DOSBox. It runs smoothly and whatever (after just changing cpu speed).

BUT. Is there any possibility I can get the sound to work properly? The thing is that when I start the game or start a race, the music starts to play for about 2 sec. then starts to fail (the game still running but w/out no sound).
I tried with VDMSound but the thing is not there for sure because the sound did this without it anyways!

So my question is: is there any possibility to run a sound w/DR


Im hacing exactly the same problem as this guy, im using dosbox and evreything runs fine exept for the sound which i can hear for about 2 secs then it stops! help please
Back to top
AnimeMasta
Guest






PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 2:41 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok i know how to fix it! all you do is set the frame skip to 3 in config Happy that is if your sound is working but its jumpy
Back to top
AnimeMasta
Guest






PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 3:37 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Ug im an idiot there one more thing... the game runs fine but when i go to start racing it says insert disc although i have the disc in the cd rom :S Is there a way to make dosbox find the disc or something
Back to top
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 4148
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 4:41 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

write mount d D:\ -t cdrom
if d:\ is your CD-ROM
Back to top
AnimeMasta
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 11 Oct 2006
Posts: 13
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 5:10 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, about time i registered Blissful

I put in what you said, it definately is trying to use the CD because i can hear it being read, but it still tells me to insert the disc Sad

What is wrong now? This is a pic of what I put in my DosBox config.

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Free Windows games


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)