DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Hard Drive Problem

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware
Author Message
pedersencato
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 6:39 pm     Post subject: Hard Drive Problem Reply with quote

Hey everybody, I have a pentium-S 200mhz computer, it's got a Samsung sp0411N 40 GB harddrive, it's worked as long as we've had it until i recently reformatted, now it reads disk read error. I think it's set wrong in the bios, so what i need is numbers for the "type, size, cyls, head, precomp, landz"(all read firectly from bios) as the auto setting does not set it right. any help will be appreaciated in advance.
Back to top
jmmijo
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 224
Location: PDX

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2005 7:34 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm thinking that you had to use some kind of Drive Overlay software to make that HD work with an older system like yours. However, is this HD connected to a third party controller card or connected to the motherboard IDE controller port ?!?

If it's the latter then you will need to find that floppy disk that came with the HD and install that Drive Overlay software again. This will allow the older BIOS to properly support that capacity HD Wink
Back to top
Guest







PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 1:26 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

the harddrive came with no disks, and i don't really know what drive overlay is so i'm going to ask for some more help. Now, I took the old harddrive that was in the computer (a seagate 2 or 3 GB one) and set windows up on that drive, rebootoed and it said something to the effect of error loading Operating system, which has lead me to beleive there's actually a major problem somewhere. BTW, when I put the 40GB hdd on auto in the BIOS it reads 4655mb, mode 4, LBA.
Back to top
jmmijo
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 224
Location: PDX

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 11:23 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Anonymous wrote:
the harddrive came with no disks, and i don't really know what drive overlay is so i'm going to ask for some more help. Now, I took the old harddrive that was in the computer (a seagate 2 or 3 GB one) and set windows up on that drive, rebootoed and it said something to the effect of error loading Operating system, which has lead me to beleive there's actually a major problem somewhere. BTW, when I put the 40GB hdd on auto in the BIOS it reads 4655mb, mode 4, LBA.


You can pick up a third-party ATA controller card for pretty cheap anymore, I prefer Promise but there are so many name and generic brands now so what ever fits your budget you should look for.

My guess is that the onboard controller is having some issues, if you place a separate ATA controller card into a PCI slot and connect the 40GB HD to that controller card, see if things start to work properly.

Since you mentioned what the onboard BIOS is reporting back to you, you would most certainly need that drive overlay software to make the onboard BIOS see the entire 40GB of storage Happy

The drive overlay software is usually on a floppy disk and it comes by many different names, like Maxblast for Maxtor HD's. Normally you only get these disks when you purchase a RATAIL boxed HD and not the bare/OEM drives Wink

You can also d/l this software from most if not all of the manufacturers web sites.
Back to top
pedersencato
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 9:08 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

The thing I don't understand tho, is that the 40GB worked before on it's own, and now suddenly it doesn't want to. And yes, my drive was a OEM one that can just in a antistatic bag.
Back to top
jmmijo
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 224
Location: PDX

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 10:16 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

pedersencato wrote:
The thing I don't understand tho, is that the 40GB worked before on it's own, and now suddenly it doesn't want to. And yes, my drive was a OEM one that can just in a antistatic bag.


Well like I said, it's possible that the onboard IDE controller just gave up the ghost so to speak Wink

Remember this motherboard is getting on in age and sometimes the electronics can just go.

However, if you want a direct mobo replacement, look around schools and such and see if they are giving away older P1/P2 boxes. You maybe able to find something very similar in specs to what you have for nothing or next to nothing Shit-Eating Grin
Back to top
pedersencato
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 11:05 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

would the following card work for me?:
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1070704&CatId=508

remember I don't have the ability to use windows on the computer
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 11:54 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Or better: Update your BIOS. Old motherboards had a block at 5gb, 8gb, 16gb, 32gb, and 78gb. Look for a BIOS update first.
Back to top
pedersencato
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 4:19 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Hurray for forums! I went out today and bought a Promise Ultra 100 Tx2 ATA/100 PCI Card
Price : $45.95
and it seems to be working great. I'm on the second part of the XP install(the more then 4 colour part, lol) and it's been running flawlessly. Congratulatory Thanks to all. Happy
Back to top
fabiobol
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 9:50 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

So, you are saying that, if the bios couldn't see an hard disk, i could use a PCI ata controller for using the drive? Because, if it is true, I will go out now and i will buy an ata-controller. I'm going to build a computer for dos games, using internet, listen to music and, of course, making tests. I'm going to buy a Pentium-MMX 200 MHz, i hope with a MB with agp and dimm support. If i wanted to use a SERIAL ATA HARD DISK, could i install a PCI controller? I'm not mad, but I just want to try... imagine: if it runs, i will install windows xp... on a pentium 200... and than, i will Play GTAIII (if the video card is strong enough) and some things like these....
Back to top
pedersencato
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 8:15 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

yes you would want a Sata pci controller card because I there are no P2 boards with SATA onboard (As Far As I Know). That systemshould be able to run XP (mine does, P1-200mhz). By the way, I doubt you'd be able to play GTA III on a P2 no matter how fast a video card you had.
Back to top
fabiobol
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2005 10:42 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Your Pentium 200 runs Windows XP, then! If it isn't a problem, could you write me your hardware configuration? It's a Pentium-S or a Pentium-MMX?
Back to top
pedersencato
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2005 3:28 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a Pentium-S 200mhz
It had 80MB of ram but now only 64, and it still runs
40GB HD
8MB Video card
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Free Windows games


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)