DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


BMP's in gwbasic
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Game Creation
Author Message
Enigma...
Guest






PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2004 2:27 pm     Post subject: BMP's in gwbasic Reply with quote

Don't ask why... but I'm trying to get a BMP or some other windows image in GW-BASIC.
Is there any way to do it? It doesn't have to look smashing but a 256 color picture would be nice.
The problem is... I can't get my screen 13 to work. That would be a nice start if it would.

Can you guys help me out?

greetings from holland
Back to top
barok_unlogged
Guest






PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 12:03 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

why bother with gw basic? Use qbasic... Much better. Or even Visual Basic.

you won't find a bmp loader for GWBasic. Look for one for qbasic and try to convert i guess.
Back to top
Enigma...
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 26 Jul 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Jul 29, 2004 9:46 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

I know... qbasic is easier and better.
But I just wanna try if it is possible. See it as a challenge.

So can anyone help me?
Can I use Assemble maybe to access 256 color modes?
Back to top
knico
Guest






PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 7:31 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Try google Laughing
Back to top
barok_unlogged
Guest






PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 11:57 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

okay... that doesn't make sense... you want to create a bitmap loader in gwbasic for the challenge... yet your asking for HELP....

Meh kids nowadays... why don't you just head to qbasicnews?

I suggest antoni's bitmap loader. it's a geocities page... but i don't know which.
Back to top
Guest







PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2004 10:13 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

gwbasic can't do screens with 256 colors when i remember correctly.
Back to top
Guest







PostPosted: Thu Oct 21, 2004 7:21 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Meh
Back to top
Enigma...
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 26 Jul 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 12:02 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

But I mean...
Isn't there any way I can do that by using asembly code?

and b.t.w. I'm not saying gwbasic is better that qbasic.
please don't get me wrong here. Upset
Back to top
Interon 2.0
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Tue Oct 26, 2004 4:30 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

BMPs didn't even exist when GWBasic was made, so unless there's a converter or a hack, it's about 99% impossible.
Back to top
Frenkel
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 535
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 5:01 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure, you can do everything in assembly.
Back to top
Interon 2.0
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 9:40 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah that's about 99.9% true

But then you would need to make changes to GWBasic itself, and I'm not sure how one would go about that without the original Microsoft source code.

Unless GWBasic has an internal function that allows high-resolution graphics (lots of pixels). Then you may be able to rig a BAS file that GWBasic would interpret it and draw the picture.

Or wait a moment... Isn't GWBasic's limit 64 KB? So the bitmap must be smaller than 64 KB, and even when you add a bitmap, there's not much room left for source code.

And even to accomplish this feat, you may need an enormous amount of free time, patience, and intelligence.

So IMO, you may as well leave off this ambitious project. It's probably more trouble than it's worth.
Back to top
barok
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 15 May 2004
Posts: 30
Location: bushlands of saskatchewan

PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2004 11:18 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Frenkel: yes, you could do anything in assembly, but you wouldn't want to use 1000 lines of assembly to make a game that takes 10 lines of basic, would you?

Enigma: I never thought you said that gwbasic was better than qbasic. However, since most people at qbasicnews have dealt with gwbasic too, they'd be the people to go to. Basically, the people there would be able to give you over 10 times as much support and information as here. (no offense, but some of the people at qbnews are gurus.)

Interon: It doesn't matter if bitmaps weren't made before or during the time of gwbasic. As long as you understand the file format of the bitmap, you'll be fine. Basically, this guy wants a 320x200x256 colors bitmap. (he wants screen 13, that is it's resolution.) Now, 320x200= 64000 pixels. However, due to the way that screen 13 handles bits, bytes and pixels, you only need an array that's 32001 integers large. (you'll see where the one comes form in a minute.) you see, 8 bits = 1 byte. Now 1 byte = 1 pixel. you still with me? Now TWO bytes = 1 integer. So therefore, we can fit a 320x200 picture into this array: picture(32000) However, since basic starts counting from 0 instead of 1, the array should be this. (31999) Now, i said the array should be 32001. That means we have two extra integers somewhere. Those extra integers hold the length and width of the picture. It's odd, really. the first integer holds the size of the picture... IN BITS!!! Before you start panicking, remember that 8 bits = 1 byte = 1 pixel. So therefore, all we have to do is take the width of the picture and times it by 8. the height of the picture has to be in pixels. That's true.

Btw Interon, from what i understand of what your saying, your saying that gwbasic can't handle a picture that large. It can. The source to load and display the picture shouldn't be large at all, and the picture is only 32 kb large. So therefore the person can load the bitmap and still have lots of room for code. And btw, i've coded in gw before, and as i recall, i've loaded more than 64 kb of code and variables before with no ill effects...

just run gwbasic with /ah and you'll be fine.
Back to top
Da_Goat
Moderator
Moderator


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 2026
Location: Prescott, Arizona, USA, Earth, The Milky Way, The Universe, Nothing and Nowhere.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 9:52 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Well guys, if you ever accomplish it, please put a link so I can download the BAS file, so I can be shocked and amazed...
Back to top
Interon 2.0
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Posts: 54

PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 6:02 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Note: the above post is mine and not Da_Goat's. See http://www.dosgames.com/forum/viewtopic-nc-t-4304.html for more information.
Back to top
relsoft
Guest






PostPosted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 5:56 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Enigma... wrote:
I know... qbasic is easier and better.
But I just wanna try if it is possible. See it as a challenge.

So can anyone help me?
Can I use Assemble maybe to access 256 color modes?


Yeah, make a com file that switches the screen res using int 10h and call absolute. Or if gwbasic supports call interrupt.
Back to top
b_unlogged
Guest






PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2004 7:02 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

hey, listen to this guy! He's a guru! Consider yourselves graced by his presence!
Back to top
Jack Bond the guest
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 1:03 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I need help too. I'm not sure how to draw pixels. can any1 help me?
Back to top
Guest







PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 4:34 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Look in QBASIC Help, under the DRAW command.
Back to top
Jack Bond
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:43 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't use qbasic I use GW basic
Back to top
bond
Guest






PostPosted: Sat Dec 11, 2004 12:27 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

nevermind the graphics
I just wanna show a CCOOLL one I did A Frikkin Cuccoan
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Game Creation All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Free Windows games


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)