DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


running rayman without dosbox

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work
Author Message
lostg
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 03 Oct 2018
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 6:54 pm     Post subject: running rayman without dosbox Reply with quote

hello, I am trying to run rayman on my windows 7 ultimate x86 bits with svga as the display adapter, and it shows up this message:the ntvdm cpu has encountered an unhandled exception.
PLZ CAN SOMEONE HELP MEEE!
(btw I don't want to use dosbox lol)
Back to top
Wally
King of the Carrot Flowers


Offline
Joined: 01 May 2003
Posts: 4663

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:57 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Well you have no choice.. Dosbox or no Rayman.
Back to top
MrFlibble
Demoniac Demo maniac
Demoniac Demo maniac


Offline
Joined: 05 Dec 2010
Posts: 2477

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2018 1:18 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Why yes, there are ways to run DOS games without DOSBox. Here's two:

1. Set up a virtual machine (e.g. VirtualBox), install DOS or FreeDOS in it, and install and run the game you want in this virtual DOS machine.

2. Use DOSEmu. I'm not sure if it's available for Windows though, so you might want to install Linux first.
Back to top
lostg
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 03 Oct 2018
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2018 8:57 am     Post subject: well, dammit Reply with quote

I ran it already with dosbox in the same computer but it doesn't have music, plz help!!!
Back to top
lostg
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 03 Oct 2018
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2018 9:29 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

MrFlibble wrote:
Why yes, there are ways to run DOS games without DOSBox. Here's two:

1. Set up a virtual machine (e.g. VirtualBox), install DOS or FreeDOS in it, and install and run the game you want in this virtual DOS machine.

2. Use DOSEmu. I'm not sure if it's available for Windows though, so you might want to install Linux first.


cool, i will try it then
Back to top
Rwolf
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 11 Jan 2013
Posts: 707
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 8:40 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

DOSbox probably needs a music card configuration (type, interrupts, io ports, DMA channel), which must match whatever the game can setup too.

Is there a setup/config program for Rayman that you can test the audio with?
Back to top
MrFlibble
Demoniac Demo maniac
Demoniac Demo maniac


Offline
Joined: 05 Dec 2010
Posts: 2477

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2018 10:10 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm guessing Rayman may have music as CD Audio (considering that no demo versions have music), which needs some extra steps to make it work in DOSBox.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)