DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


Game Requirements

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Game Help, Hints and Tips
Author Message
Chilly Willy
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 05 Nov 2014
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2015 4:04 pm     Post subject: Game Requirements Reply with quote

When you read the following on a box, what do you think the memory requirements are?

Quote:
Requires 512K for EGA (256K) & Tandy graphics
Back to top
Quadko
Darklander
Darklander


Offline
Joined: 24 Jun 2011
Posts: 2034

PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2015 10:19 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

That it will run great in DosBox?

Probably is saying a machine with less than the full 640k can run it, but needs more memory for EGA than CGA. And if you've got 640k and a Vga card, you are golden.
Back to top
486 player
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god


Offline
Joined: 18 Sep 2002
Posts: 1185

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2015 4:25 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

256 kB on video card
Back to top
Quadko
Darklander
Darklander


Offline
Joined: 24 Jun 2011
Posts: 2034

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2015 11:00 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Enhanced_Graphics_Adapter
Quote:
The original IBM EGA card had 64k of onboard RAM and required a daughterboard to add an additional 64k (cards with 64k are limited to 4 colors when 640x350 mode is used). All third-party cards came with 128k already installed and some even 256k, allowing multiple graphics pages.


I hadn't remembered EGA cards had variable/expandable amounts of memory, cool!

So, probably "fully" means:
IBM PC with 512k RAM/conventional memory and EGA card with 256k memory installed required to play game in EGA graphics mode.
- or -
Tandy Computer with 512k memory to play game in Tandy graphics mode.


And I assume that means the game will play in CGA mode on computers with less than 512k of memory or not enough EGA card memory.
Back to top
Rwolf
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 11 Jan 2013
Posts: 692
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2015 5:42 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

The first IBM AT (6MHz 286) that I used was ordered with a 64kB EGA card.

When it arrived, the EGA was on back-order, couldn't be cancelled, and couldn't be delivered for 6 months. Then I saw an advert for a competing brand with 256kB onboard which came in a bundle with this new 'Windows' GUI, and was cheaper than the IBM original too.

Once the 64kB card arrived, it was only used for testing to make sure of backwards compatibility to the minimum reference hardware, as upgrading the memory was ridiculously expensive.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Game Help, Hints and Tips All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)