DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


Star Trek The next Generation A final unity
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work
Author Message
Guest







PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2015 12:10 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got it working at last! Thanks for your help. I'll let you know if I have any problems in the future.
Back to top
Quadko
Darklander
Darklander


Offline
Joined: 24 Jun 2011
Posts: 2034

PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2015 4:55 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent, nice job! If you can, share what ended up working in case anyone else runs into it!

I did notice a typo in the mount lines, in case anyone else in future is trying to duplicate your success: c apparently was getting mounted twice:

mount c c:\OLDGAMES
mount c e:\ -t cdrom
c:
INSTALL

That last c probably should have been d, but you obviously figured it out if that typo was the problem in dosbox and not just the post. Happy

Correct:
mount c c:\OLDGAMES
mount d e:\ -t cdrom
d:
INSTALL
Back to top
tienkhoanguyen
PSEUDOCODER


Offline
Joined: 05 Sep 2014
Posts: 2664
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2015 6:21 pm     Post subject: Thank you Quadko! I am typo hehe Reply with quote

I did take typing courses however never got a career typiing for a reasonable time frame hehe

My instructors and employers always tells me I get typos so I never became like that one lady who types 90 words a minute as a professional secretary. hehe

So much for taking the easy way out huh?!hehe
Back to top
Guest







PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2015 5:18 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

The mount lines that worked for me:

core dynamic
cycles max 95%
mount c c:\OLDGAMES
mount d e:\ -t cdrom
D: (that's not a typo.)
INSTALL

I don't know why that worked but it did. Also, you need the CD in the drive (Drive E for my computer) at all times. If yours isn't E then try replacing e:\ with whatever your disc drive is. It should fix the speed problem and any other issues you have. After it's installed, use:

C
CD\STTNG
STTNG

That should launch it.
Back to top
Guest







PostPosted: Sat Jun 27, 2015 1:51 pm     Post subject: Another problem. Sorry. Reply with quote

Hi. It's the same guy from before (Adam 19842004.) I have a new problem with the game. It's the same mount lines and system as before:
Windows Vista Service Pack 2
DOSBox 0.74

core dynamic
cycles max 95%
mount c c:\OLDGAMES
mount d e:\ -t cdrom
D: (that's not a typo.)
INSTALL

I used these mount lines to install, as I told you a couple of weeks ago, and it worked fine. I have a saved file now that I've played it once. I haven't played it since the first time I got it to work. So I tried to run it today, instead of installing it, since I already installed it. I used the mount lines:

moun c c:\OLDGAMES
c:
cd sttng
sttng

At first it appeared to work, but, just before the game started, this message came up:

Fatal error. Could not find resource file - check CDpath in sttng.ini

I don't want to re-install because it might get rid of my saved game. How do I get it to launch without encountering this problem, or reinstalling it? Also, I couldn't find a file on my system or on the CD called "sttng.ini".
Back to top
Quadko
Darklander
Darklander


Offline
Joined: 24 Jun 2011
Posts: 2034

PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 11:21 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

You probably still need to mount the cd drive and put the cd in - the error message appears to be saying it can't find the cd.

Try this, just adding the red line to what you have (and put the CD in the drive!):

mount c c:\OLDGAMES
mount d e:\ -t cdrom
c:
cd sttng
sttng
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Page 5 of 5

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)