DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


EGA Games

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> General Gaming
Author Message
Chilly Willy
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 05 Nov 2014
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2015 1:53 am     Post subject: EGA Games Reply with quote

I notice that most games that state they use the EGA color palette, still only use the sixteen colors from the CGA palette. Are there any EGA games that actually use any sixteen colors from the sixty-four colors that EGA offers?
Back to top
Frenkel
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 536
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2015 10:20 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's a list of games that tweak the EGA card: http://www.mobygames.com/attribute/sheet/attributeId,6/

Maybe some games on that list use a different palette of colors than the default 16 colors.
Back to top
tienkhoanguyen
PSEUDOCODER


Offline
Joined: 05 Sep 2014
Posts: 2683
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2015 10:52 am     Post subject: God, Cheese-its & Rice, is number one!hehe Reply with quote

Cheese-its & Rice!hehe

I just developer a program that reads a 256 color palette. It should be in the section where all my developing routines are. The default loadfile.bmp are only shades of grey however you can use a color bitmap and it would show too. I am listing the files here for convenience. Enjoy - although I don't get paid for it, I am happy others find a use for my apps.

http://www.mediafire.com/view/g0ue51vaw3503pp/loadfile.bmp

http://www.mediafire.com/view/axb3xgl2jl8ad8f/jcbmp20.c

http://www.mediafire.com/download/zw42rcuse8rkrow/JCBMP20.EXE
Back to top
Chilly Willy
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 05 Nov 2014
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2015 1:03 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the list Frenkel and thanks for the app tienkhoanguyen! Wink
Back to top
tienkhoanguyen
PSEUDOCODER


Offline
Joined: 05 Sep 2014
Posts: 2683
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2015 1:09 pm     Post subject: God, Cheese-its & Rice, is number one!hehe Reply with quote

Cheese-its & Rice!hehe

Glad I could help you. Please feel free to change the codes as you need to.

Thanks for making me feel useful!!!!!!!!!!!!

Celebratory

Have a good day Chilly Willy.
Back to top
Frenkel
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 536
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2015 4:11 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

BTW, on an EGA in 320x200 mode you can only use the default 16 colors. In 640x350 you can choose 16 colors from a palette of 64 colors.
Back to top
Quadko
Darklander
Darklander


Offline
Joined: 24 Jun 2011
Posts: 1999

PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2015 9:33 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I didn't know that, cool. I always assumed most games/programmers were some form of "lazy" or just happy to have the 16 colors to play with and that was why so many EGA games were limited to the default 16.

I think Aldo and Snarf and of course EGA Trek were my favorite EGA games, before getting a VGA card. Of course Sierra games, etc., but those were their own things.
Back to top
Chilly Willy
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 05 Nov 2014
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2015 11:32 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Frenkel wrote:
BTW, on an EGA in 320x200 mode you can only use the default 16 colors. In 640x350 you can choose 16 colors from a palette of 64 colors.

Do you happen to know the reasoning for that? One would think you would be able to choose from the 64 colors even in low res, if you can in hi res.
Back to top
Rwolf
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 11 Jan 2013
Posts: 685
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2015 5:02 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Backward compatible mode for CGA monitors.
There is an article describing it here:

http://www.reenigne.org/blog/why-the-ega-can-only-use-16-of-its-64-colours-in-200-line-modes/
Back to top
MrFlibble
Demoniac Demo maniac
Demoniac Demo maniac


Offline
Joined: 05 Dec 2010
Posts: 2390

PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2015 9:06 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Frenkel wrote:
BTW, on an EGA in 320x200 mode you can only use the default 16 colors. In 640x350 you can choose 16 colors from a palette of 64 colors.

I did not know that either. Thanks for the info!
Back to top
Chilly Willy
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 05 Nov 2014
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2015 1:30 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Rwolf wrote:
Backward compatible mode for CGA monitors.
There is an article describing it here:

http://www.reenigne.org/blog/why-the-ega-can-only-use-16-of-its-64-colours-in-200-line-modes/

Thanks for the link. That's odd how they did that. I would say most games that were advertised as EGA are really CGA. Kind of odd that the developers of that time would state that.
Back to top
tienkhoanguyen
PSEUDOCODER


Offline
Joined: 05 Sep 2014
Posts: 2683
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2015 6:39 pm     Post subject: God, Cheese-its & Rice, is number one!hehe Reply with quote

Cheese-its & Rice!hehe

I think it has to do with the way the chip is designed. I was reading a diagram of the chip circuits, and supposedly it is wired in such a way that you have to do like that. I think it goes back to convenience. Back in the days memory and such was at a premium. For instance, it was not until the VGA card came out that it could have 256 color palettes. Then the SVGA card eventually came out because I guess there was a huge demand for more colors. So you have like 65536 colors instead of 256. Then when Windows XP came around you have millions of colors.

Personally, I am fine with working in XP to develop DOS applications. I know it sounds funny however I just find it more convenient.
Back to top
Rwolf
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 11 Jan 2013
Posts: 685
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2015 3:56 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

The first IBM PC I used at work was to have the (then) brand new EGA card.
It was shipped without any graphics card, and it took +6 months to get it delivered, tough luck. Must have been a high demand for these things.

Once it arrived it only had 64kB installed, to get full 256k you had to buy an add-on mezzanine card. The only thing it was eventually used for, was for the odd compatibility tests done by the support guys.

(I managed to find a different 256kB EGA card from a 3rd party vendor, with a Windows 1.0 package in the deal, much cheaper than the original IBM brand, so I didn't have to sit twiddling my thumbs for the whole delay).
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> General Gaming All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)