DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


EGA Trek (WARNING: This will make the game extremely easy)
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Game Help, Hints and Tips
Author Message
smjg
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 11 Mar 2014
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2014 7:00 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

When you move to a new quad, the positions of objects in the quad are re-randomised. I guess the idea is that the warp engines can't be used to navigate with precision, and so the reshuffling is a way of making you need the impulse engines to get the needed precision to position yourself next to a base or planet, or to get the best line of fire on an enemy ship.

However, in the end a mistake was made whereby the damage-checking code looks at whether the quadrant has been specified, instead of whether the player is actually moving between quads. Only after the damage check has been done, whether to warp or impulse is determined by whether the destination is in the same quad.

You can see the converse of the bug by setting a warp speed that is too high because the warp engines are damaged, and then attempting an intra-quad move. Only if you specified the quad does the move fail.
Back to top
RareElusiveGrif
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 06 Oct 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 8:25 am     Post subject: Computer Damaged; Manual Only Reply with quote

Does anyone know how to use the manual coordinates DeltaX and DeltaY? I've never been able to figure it out. Doesn't seem to correspond to the grids at all. At least not the traditional way you would think of x and y axis'. It's pretty frustrating when your computer gets damaged and you find out a Starbase is in trouble and you can't get there to help. Sad
Back to top
BlackMantis
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 29 Aug 2014
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 8:56 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

I figured it out once but then forgot how. If I have time I'll see about doing a little experimentation to work it out again. I know there's a way to input manual coordinates even if the computer is working, but I don't remember exactly how to do that either.
Back to top
smjg
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 11 Mar 2014
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 1:15 pm     Post subject: Re: Computer Damaged; Manual Only Reply with quote

RareElusiveGrif wrote:
Does anyone know how to use the manual coordinates DeltaX and DeltaY? I've never been able to figure it out. Doesn't seem to correspond to the grids at all. At least not the traditional way you would think of x and y axis'. It's pretty frustrating when your computer gets damaged and you find out a Starbase is in trouble and you can't get there to help. Sad
You just have to remember two things:
  • X and Y are the wrong way round (I don't know whether this is a deliberate design)
  • the number is in octal - so 1.4 means 1 quad + 4 sectors in the given direction
Back to top
RareElusiveGrif
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 06 Oct 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 2:44 pm     Post subject: Thank you! Reply with quote

Awesome, thanks! I've been wonderin' that for probably 17 years! I figured it must be something used in some field of expertise I am not familiar with. I must admit I would not have known what octal meant (still not sure I do) if you had not explained.
Back to top
smjg
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 11 Mar 2014
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 7:06 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

BlackMantis wrote:
I figured it out once but then forgot how. If I have time I'll see about doing a little experimentation to work it out again. I know there's a way to input manual coordinates even if the computer is working, but I don't remember exactly how to do that either.
Hit F4 a second time.
Back to top
Quadko
Darklander
Darklander


Offline
Joined: 24 Jun 2011
Posts: 2034

PostPosted: Sun Oct 19, 2014 10:56 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

The main viewer block comes up with "pretty pictures" labeled things like Array Monitor, Subspace Com Net, Grav Field, and some pretty ship status screens, all with pictures. Do these ever show real data like the damage summary screen, or are they just there to be pretty and inhance atmosphere?

And I just discovered I've been play v1.0 for years, and there's several v2.xs and a v3. I wondered what all this Mongol chatter was, but happy surprise! Now I know. Happy

I asked because I was fiddling around today taking screenshots and writing some HTML5/Javascript to see what could be done and practice my "Single Page Web Applications" book lessons. It certainly isn't a remake in a day, and the code is all but nonexistent, but as a screenshot and homage site with potential promise for future, I was pretty proud with what I accomplished:
http://www.joelmcintyre.com/egatrek/egatrek.html


But I'm hoping some of you might be interested in telling me how the more esoteric parts of the game are supposed to work? Though I'm working with version 1, on easy, so it looks simple so far. I assume I'm missing lots. Happy
Back to top
smjg
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 11 Mar 2014
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2017 12:08 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I discovered something else just now. Even when the SR scanner is damaged to 0%, you still get the scanner reports when a Mongol moves!
Back to top
smjg
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 11 Mar 2014
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2017 12:42 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

In my time I've found three things that you can score points for rescuing:
  • a federation base
  • a Union ship
  • settlers from a planet
It appears that it counts only if whatever it is has sent out a distress call. At least for bases - I don't know about the others. Is my inkling correct?
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Game Help, Hints and Tips All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)