DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Getting Battle Isle 3 to run with Dosbox

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work
Author Message
tomern
Guest






PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 2:15 pm     Post subject: Getting Battle Isle 3 to run with Dosbox Reply with quote

Hi, I am pretty new to this, but I set my dosbox up as explained for windows xp.

I downloaded it from here:
http://www.SNIPPED.not.allowed.here.com

But when trying to load in dosbox it says
"This program cannot be run in DOS mode"

Can someone please explain to me step by step how to make this specific game work? Where to install, how to mount, what EXE to run in dosbox and how.

Thank you!
Back to top
MrFlibble
Demoniac Demo maniac
Demoniac Demo maniac


Offline
Joined: 05 Dec 2010
Posts: 2362

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 2:21 pm     Post subject: Re: Getting Battle Isle 3 to run with Dosbox Reply with quote

tomern wrote:
But when trying to load in dosbox it says
"This program cannot be run in DOS mode"

That's right, because Battle Isle 2220 is a Windows game, it can't be run in DOSBox.
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9246
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 3:47 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Indeed, as listed on the game's info page:
Quote:
Platform : Windows 9.x / XP

So if you can't get it working directly on a newer OS: VPC2007.
Back to top
tomern
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 3:37 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

I have windows XP but I get this error when trying to run the game:

http :// s1.postimg.org/pijwkhha7/error.jpg

Is this fixable?

I have installed VPC2007.
How do I know which operating system I need?
Where can I obtain it?

Thank you.

[Edit by ~dosraider]
http://s1.postimg.org/pijwkhha7/error.jpg
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9246
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 4:29 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you try 'compability' set to W98 (rightclick on the executable)? Doesn't always work but sometimes ...... yeah, it's a bit a gamble.

Otherwise: guest OS to run in VPC2007: Win98SE
(or Win98 but W98SE is slightly better)
Where to obtain it: google and search pirate sites/torrents.
Back to top
MrFlibble
Demoniac Demo maniac
Demoniac Demo maniac


Offline
Joined: 05 Dec 2010
Posts: 2362

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 8:09 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

I remember that the demo of the game did not run for me in WinXP.

If you have a powerful enough PC, you could try booting Linux in a virtual machine and running the game in Wine. Or just set up a dual-boot Windows/Linux system.
Back to top
tomern
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 12:43 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

dosraider:
I don't have the compatibility option when I right click, I will try the VPC.

Is using VirtualBox also good? I saw an explanation how to use it with one of the win98SE I am downloading, it is a vdi file.


MrFlibble: Thanks, but I have no Linux experience so I will try the first option.
Back to top
wardrich
"Some Troll"


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 3944
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 12:51 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought those types of errors had to do with the .net framework, but I could be totally wrong on that.
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9246
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 2:12 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

tomern wrote:
dosraider:
I don't have the compatibility option when I right click, I will try the VPC.

Is using VirtualBox also good? I saw an explanation how to use it with one of the win98SE I am downloading, it is a vdi file.


MrFlibble: Thanks, but I have no Linux experience so I will try the first option.

If you don't havethe compability option it means that:
Or you don't have the needed permission to do that (account?)
Or something is wrong on ya PC (wardrich has a point ....)

Virtualbox doesn't support W98SE normally, but it is possible to run W98SE as guest in it,
Al will depend of the skills of who created the virtual HD .....

It's also possible that the downloaded game is poorly ripped or borked, we can't know, maybe ask where you downloaded the game? Does it need to be installed? A crack? Registry settings ???? No idea.
Or hunt the net for the full original CD image?

Or simply buy it for a 9.99 @GOG?
http://www.gog.com/game/battle_isle_platinum?pp=114d4eefde1dae3983e7a79f04c72feb9a3a7efd

Contains:
Quote:

Contains full versions of the following strategy games in one package:
• Battle Isle 1 including Data Disk 1 & Battle Isle ‘93 & Historyline: 1914-1918
• Battle Isle 2 including Scenery CD “Titan’s Legacy”
• Battle Isle 3 along with extensive video sequences
• Incubation and The Wilderness Missions,

A nice and cheap deal I must say.
Back to top
Quadko
Darklander
Darklander


Offline
Joined: 24 Jun 2011
Posts: 1995

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2014 3:24 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

It depends on the error code, some are certainly .net framework related. Looks like the 0xc00000005 is an Access Violation.
Quote:
This problem is generated by Microsoft's Data execution prevention (DEP) . For more information, reference Microsoft Technet
Any application that is not registered with DEP will receive an exception with status code STATUS_ACCESS_VIOLATION (0xC0000005).


Sounds like a "sloppy" Win95 era game that "usually" works and occasionally crashes; things like buffer overflows or writing to invalid pointers/memory, or even directly accessing memory it shouldn't, like the OS. Starting in XP and way more in Vista->7->8, MS OS's watched for such things and disallowed them using various tricks, and MS programming tools helped avoid such things. Sadly, nothing can retroactively fix them.

I'm glad you're giving the VM a shot, I hope it works for you! You might also have fun setting up an old game box (ebay!) Hopefully someday DosBox will support Win98 or someone else will come out with an equivalent Windows Game Emulator "WinBox" or something.

edit: Ooh, I totally missed the fact it was sold on Gog.com! Nice - they've done a good job with emulation tricks and hacking patches for the games they can get licenses to package and sell. It's a totally hassle free way to play.
Back to top
Quadko
Darklander
Darklander


Offline
Joined: 24 Jun 2011
Posts: 1995

PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:41 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, XP had some start at memory protections, and some Win9x games wouldn't play. Vista introduced more, and even some XP games wouldn't play. 7 & 8 introduce more protections, and that's why a lot of otherwise working games won't play on newer OSs even with settings and getting 32/64 correct.

Some of that "protections" were against memory bugs that were greatly responsible for Blue Screens of Death, others are driver issues or games looking in Window's memory for data instead of calling the appropriate API... all "bad" things for stability, and progressively disallowed as more versions of Windows come out.
Back to top
Rwolf
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 11 Jan 2013
Posts: 662
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2014 1:30 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I saw some German gaming forum posts indicating it is possible to play BI3 on XP, with some effort (even under 64-bit Windows).
Since I don't have the game myself, I'm not able to test these workarounds.

XP:
http://www.spieleforum.de/thema/168866.html
http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=347070

Win7:
http://www.gamershall.de/index.php?p=showtopic&toid=62
Back to top
exoscoriae
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 17 Jan 2014
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2014 1:19 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

for the record, Battle Isle 3/2220 is Win 3.1 compatible... barely. It requires the WinG and Win32 libraries.

I've been testing various installs of the program using a Win 3.x install within dosbox, but have not managed it yet. Seems to be a hang up in the way dosbox and WinG work together. That said, I have managed to make many other WinG compatible games run.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Free Windows games


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)