DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Theme Park issues .......
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work
Author Message
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9246
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 12:04 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have an older ISA card try it, won't harm you.... Happy
But as far as my experience goes any ISA card should work in dos.
ISA is dos compliant.
Back to top
organisation64
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 18 Feb 2010
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 12:26 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I'm stumped. I have doubts as to whether there is a problem with the sound card itself as sound and music work perfectly in other games.

It's just so weird how music can work fine (even though it appears to be set up incorrectly saying 'Music to port: None'), and sound effects do not work.

Maybe its something to do with ASP on the card. Some Sound Blaster cards had an optional ASP chip, and the option in Theme Park is called 'Soundblaster 16 ASP'.

No idea.
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9246
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 1:24 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

organisation64 wrote:
DOSBox may be easy, but surely using good solid hardware is far more satisfying for you. Happy

v
v
v
organisation64 wrote:
Well, I'm stumped.


Tbbbbbth!

Well you always could ask where some real specialists in the matter reside:
http://vogons.zetafleet.com/index.php
Vogons isn't only the home of dosbox, they have dos and dos-hardware subs.
There are some real die hard ol'stuff lovers over there that know a lot more then I ever did or ever will know of those matters.
As you have the original game it shouldn't bne a problem (They don't really like abandonware @ Vogons .......).
Back to top
organisation64
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 18 Feb 2010
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 1:49 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I made a post on Vogons. I was immediately met with the reply 'Use DOSBox'. Not really the reply I wanted.

As I'm sure you've guessed by now, I dont want to use emulators, I prefer using the real thing.
Back to top
Ultroman
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 15 Jul 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 2:47 am     Post subject: The MOUSE FREEZE problem is a (fixable) GAME-issue Reply with quote

Sorry to dig up an old post, but...

There is a FIX for the MOUSE FREEZE problem.

See this post:
http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?t=31983&sid=6a3a397399f9c7837e222a265b195f4a#p263514

Also, the standard sound setup for Theme Park in DosBox has the "Activate Sound" checkbox ticked off! All my sound works perfectly using DosBox.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Free Windows games


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)