DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Civilization 1 freezes

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work
Author Message
Posix_memalign
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 02 Aug 2009
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 10:43 am     Post subject: Civilization 1 freezes Reply with quote

I experience an issue with Civilization 1 running on DOS 6.2. The version of Civilization is 474.03.

When a building gets built, it will display the animation of it being constructed fine, then it switches back to the city overview and the "CHANGE" widget flashes. When I click that button, the game freezes. But it doesn't freeze completely, the water animation on the shore tiles is still animated, and the mouse still works. However, no actions seem to have any effect.

I have experienced a similar issue in Colonization, the game freezes, but tiles are still animated and the mouse works. I'm guessing these games share some of the code and that the bug I'm experiencing is present in both games?

Is there some patch, memory related fix or other trick that will solve this problem?
Back to top
Posix_memalign
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 02 Aug 2009
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 7:01 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

A working fix seems to be to use version 474.04 instead. I have yet to experience any issues with that version.
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9257
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 10:11 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Civ1 has some unsolved bugs, alas.
Can be that your compy is too fast and triggers some extra problems.

If my memory serves me swell, I solved some of those Civ1 problems on a faster P3/667MHz by using dos32A in stead of dos4gw.

Dos32a is freeware, there are several releases(versions) floating around, basically it's a cleaned up and better coded dos4gw, try it out I would say.

Keep in mind: *IF* my memory serves me swell .... Laughing

Of course, if 474.04 runs now without troubles for you, simply ignore my post. However keep that 'dos32a' replacement for dos4gw in mind, can help with other games (and it's faster on slower PCs ....)
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Free Windows games


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)