DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


SWIV 3D - No CD
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work
Author Message
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9228
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 4:25 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Ealhaya wrote:

I don't have the real CD as it's at my brother's place, so he sent me an ISO which I mounted with Daemon tools lite. the D: I mounted is the virtual drive, but I supposed DosBox wouldn't see the difference)

would mounting a cue or bin do the trick ??

-> Try to mount the ISO directly in dosbox 0.73(don't use daemon tools) with imgmount.
imgmount d "x:\path\name.iso" -t iso

-> Won't hurt to try with a BIN/CUE, use a good soft to create it, as is:
http://www.imgburn.com/
Mount it also directly in dosbox with imgmount
imgmount d "x:\path\name.cue" -t iso

-> Ask your brother to make a good copy of the CD.
Back to top
Ealhaya
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 6:05 am     Post subject: no cd Reply with quote

Hi again.

thank you for the so quick answer !!!!
I just tried the imgmount but to no effect, I still get the no cd-rom error.
(i replace my D: autoexec line, so I don't think re-installing is the solution ?)

is it possible that it won't work because of a cd protection ?
Back to top
Ealhaya
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 6:10 am     Post subject: testing Reply with quote

I'm currently writing a bin.
will come back to you.

I think I'll also try Virtual PC as it's free...
Back to top
Ealhaya
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 6:25 am     Post subject: cue/bin Reply with quote

hey again

I burned a bin/cue and tried mounting the cue, but it just doesn't work.
I always get an error :

Could not load image file: C:\DOSPROG\ISO\SWIV-3D.cue"
MSCDEX: Failure: Path not valid

but I still can load easily the iso, and could load the bin.
but when launching I still get a NO CD error.

too bad.

I was so happy to play it again !
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9228
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 7:32 am     Post subject: Re: cue/bin Reply with quote

Ealhaya wrote:
Could not load image file: C:\DOSPROG\ISO\SWIV-3D.cue"
MSCDEX: Failure: Path not valid

Not a valid Dos name.
Delete and try again, but this time name your image
swiv3d.cue / swiv3d.bin

Remark: delete it, don't simply rename it, won't work (... it's possible, but a bit more complicated ....)

[Edit]
For good understanding:
I mean that you create the bin/cue from the original CD.
Not using the probably faulty ISO / a CD burned from that ISO,...... I doubt that would work.
Back to top
Ealhaya
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Oct 09, 2009 9:57 am     Post subject: cd Reply with quote

I tried from the ISO you're right it didn't work.
thanks for all your help, I'll be back when I'll have that new copy ! (probably in a few weeks, I'll have to go to his place)

bye
Back to top
peregrine581
Guest






PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 9:10 pm     Post subject: Using DOSBox for Swiv Reply with quote

So... I get the error message when I follow everything that says "this is a Windows NT windowed executable." What did I do wrong, and what does that mean?
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9228
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 2:04 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

It means it's a a Windows NT windowed executable....?

Maybe tell what you're talking about....?
Back to top
manuSpun
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 12:52 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

To fix "NO CD" error:
Open SWIV_DOS.EXE in a hex editor.
Go to raw byte offset 0x2CE7F and change it to 0x84
Now you can run the game without the original CD but unfortunately no music.
Back to top
Ashma
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 22 Dec 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2009 2:52 pm     Post subject: GOT SWIV WORKING ON WINDOWS 7 PRO 64-BIT Reply with quote

Hello!

Just wanted to share with everyone, how I got SWIV to play on my Sony Vaio A790 Notebook upgraded to Windows 7 Professional 64-bit.

1. From your SWIV CD, right click on the SWIV Setup file and change compatibility for the install, to WIN95 and then install.

2. Download this patched exe file: http://www.filefront.com/thankyou.php?f=898780&k=8f04726a5a92857dd720d03498db4f44290de1dc30dff4ce91de53ac160d7133
and replace the exe file in your installed SWIV folder.

3. Create a desktop shortcut to SWIV.exe (the patched one you just copied over) and then right click on it and change compatibility to WIN95.

4. Launch the game and it should work and the music should be there, just like we all remember. Only down side is that at least for me, there was some white flashes and the navigation icon in the top left, showing you where to go is mostly white and so I can't tell where I'm supposed to go.

Enjoy the memories!!!!

Ashton
Back to top
tom
Guest






PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 9:51 am     Post subject: Swiv 3d Reply with quote

I had done following your guider. But still appear NO CD

I download this game on rapid but when issue Cd I found label is 200809161030.

I think may be not correct name of CD.

Some one have this CD Pls let me know how to run this games.

I play this game in pass and now I want to play more.

Thank you very much
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9228
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 12:28 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Means the CD image isn't 100% valid, search the net to find a valid one.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Free Windows games


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)