DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Having trouble installing Corridor 7 CD version

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work
Author Message
SqueakyWheel
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 15 May 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2016 5:02 pm     Post subject: Having trouble installing Corridor 7 CD version Reply with quote

Hi!

I'm having a bit of a problem getting Corridor 7 (CD version) to install. I've downloaded the game from a related website. I'm not very proficient in PC jargon, so please bear with me. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

The game requires a Virtual Drive to run properly (it's an image file). I've downloaded Daemon Tools and MagicISO and managed to mount the game onto a virtual drive, which has popped up as drive H. My stock computer has only 2 stock drives - C and D.

After mounting the game to the virtual drive I tried to open the files within using DOSBOX to install the game. I successfully opened the install file by mounting drive H. This is where I'm stumped, however.

The installation drives can only be C or D and not H. If I try to install to C I get a message that reads "Switching to drive C: failed". The same goes for drive D.

How do I get around this problem? Any tips or advice?
Back to top
Rwolf
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 11 Jan 2013
Posts: 661
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun May 15, 2016 9:14 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

There are some wiki pages and guides available:
http://www.dosbox.com/wiki/MOUNT
http://www.sierrahelp.com/Utilities/Emulators/DOSBox/DOSBoxGuide-Mount.html

---

The C and D drives that DOSbox will use are virtual drives and not your actual drives. You create these drives by using a 'mount' command with an image or a directory in a DOSbox dos window, or set them up in the GUI front ends for DOSbox (like D-fend Reloaded).

If you are using DOSbox directly it's a command like "mount c c:\some_existing_directory" which then will be used as C:\ inside DOSbox.
(With a CD rom drive you use an extra parameter to define the drive letter/image as a CD)

---

In D-fend Reloaded, there is a 'drives' setup section on each game entry you make to setup and the C:\ is by default a pre-configured directory called 'VirtualHD'

The CD rom setup for images is setup by selecting a drive letter D and the game image file you need, and define the drive as being a CD rom.
Back to top
SqueakyWheel
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 15 May 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 5:19 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your quick reply and help. I've dug a little deeper since then and managed to install the game, but I've run into yet another roadblock. This is what I did:

1. In DOSBOX I mounted a folder in my drive C (mine being "c:\gog games") and successfully installed the game there.

2. I mounted my virtual drive H as drive D (the command being: mount d h:\corr7cd -t cdrom).

3. I then tried to run the game from my C drive... but I got this message:

Quote:
CORRIDOR 7 CD not found in drive or MSCDEX not installed.


I got closer, but am stumped yet again. What am I doing wrong?[/quote]
Back to top
Rwolf
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 11 Jan 2013
Posts: 661
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 7:06 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Look at the trouble shooting section here: there are a couple of CD related entries.
http://www.dosbox.com/DOSBoxManual.html#CantFindCD

I don't know how the GoG distributions are organised, (I thought they had a builtin DOSbox setup) but you may have to add extra parameters such as a 'label' - sometimes programs look for these things, use 'imgmount' instead of mount, (i.e. don't bother using daemon tools to make the image HHappy

I've never played the Corridor7 game myself, so I don't know the exact details of its setup.

edit: I found a bin/cue version to try out, and using imgmount works fine.
(I first installed the game from a virtual drive using daemon tools, under dosbox - the path to the download was too long to write, so I got lazy.) Once installed, I use the imgmount within dosbox to play the game.

A snippet from my D-Fend start file:
mount C "C:\DOCUME~1\rwolf\D-Fend Reloaded\VirtualHD\"
imgmount D "C:\DOCUME~1\rwolf\MYDOCU~1\Downloads\c7\Corridor.7-Alien.Invasion-TransferCrew.cue" -t cdrom

There is a setup file to change the sound/music config, and keys - this game was made before the WASD standard.


Last edited by Rwolf on Mon May 16, 2016 1:13 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
dr_st
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 347
Location: Absorbed into Clayface

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 8:22 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

SqueakyWheel wrote:
I mounted my virtual drive H as drive D (the command being: mount d h:\corr7cd -t cdrom).

I assume your H:\ has a mounted image of the exact Corridor 7 CD, so it sounds like you need to do: mount d h:\ -t cdrom (without the extra path).

Or use imgmount on the ISO itself, as suggested.
Back to top
SqueakyWheel
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 15 May 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 4:32 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks so much for the help guys. I honestly didn't expect people to help me out when I posted this topic, let alone so quick and in such detail. This really raises my hopes for humanity (said by a guy trying to basically pirate old software).

I got the game working! I couldn't get the image mounted as I don't have enough experience with DOSBOX yet, but I've done what dr-st said and it worked like a charm.

Only problem was that the game was choppy and laggy as hell. I had to raise the CPU speed fourfold (almost 12,000 cycles) to get it running properly. Is this normal? I just haven't had to fuss so much over getting a game to work since I discovered the basic DOSBOX commands. Talk about a mental workout!
Back to top
SqueakyWheel
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 15 May 2016
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon May 16, 2016 4:39 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Rwolf wrote:


I don't know how the GoG distributions are organised, (I thought they had a builtin DOSbox setup) but you may have to add extra parameters such as a 'label' - sometimes programs look for these things, use 'imgmount' instead of mount, (i.e. don't bother using daemon tools to make the image HHappy


Actually, this game isn't available on GOG.com. I just put all my old games into that directory. Wanted to get used to using quotes in DOSBOX.

Rwolf wrote:


There is a setup file to change the sound/music config, and keys - this game was made before the WASD standard.


Yeah, it's basically a Wolf 3d clone. Wanted to try it out cause it scared the $#!+ out of me when I was a little kid. Memories are strong things....
Back to top
Rwolf
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 11 Jan 2013
Posts: 661
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2016 6:42 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Good you got it to work. Tuning the game to your PC is often needed with old games, they were often made to match a specific computer speed, and sometimes DOSbox runs too fast or too slow for specific tasks.

(A possible drawback of emulators like DOSbox is that your old memories can get a bit tarnished when you see those old gems pale in comparision with current titles.
But if you can see past the gnarly surface, they are often still enjoyable.)
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Free Windows games


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)