DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


* Screen Resolution
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware

What is YOUR screen resolution?
< 640 x 320
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
640 x 320
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
800 x 600
12%
 12%  [ 3 ]
848 x 480
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
1024 x 768
58%
 58%  [ 14 ]
1152 x 864
8%
 8%  [ 2 ]
1280 x 1024
4%
 4%  [ 1 ]
> 1280 x 1024
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Duel monitors
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Other
16%
 16%  [ 4 ]
Total Votes : 24

Author Message
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2003 10:56 pm     Post subject: * Screen Resolution Reply with quote

Whats your screen resolution and why do you think its the best for your system?
Back to top
Thunderdog
Token Black Guy
<b>Token Black Guy</b>


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 1737
Location: Southeastern Japan

PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2003 12:10 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

1024x768. I could get it higher, but my monitor [screws] up when I do so.
Back to top
wardrich
"Some Troll"


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 3940
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2003 3:45 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

1024x768. I can use higher, but it gets really small, and there is no real point.
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2003 4:48 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

i use 11** x *** forget the numbers. I still think the things are too big.
Back to top
486 player
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god


Offline
Joined: 18 Sep 2002
Posts: 1185

PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2003 7:55 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Thou mean Win's?
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2003 8:27 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

My 19" sony does 1600x1200 at 75hz, but I use 1280x1024 32bit for everything including games.
Back to top
Thunderdog
Token Black Guy
<b>Token Black Guy</b>


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 1737
Location: Southeastern Japan

PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2003 4:04 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

What's your Address, UK?
Back to top
johpower
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 06 Jan 2003
Posts: 428
Location: Colorado North 40

PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2003 5:42 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

21" and 1024x768 are good eye-saving combo's. My NEC 21" can do this at 85hz.

As to T-dawg's problems above that res, have you tried (1) reducing your refresh rate before setting a higher res? (2) setting a lower color depth before setting the res?

Last option: video card or drivers need updating.


Last edited by johpower on Sun Jan 25, 2004 9:15 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
Annorax
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 46
Location: Westfield, MA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2003 12:39 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

My monitor is kind of weak, it's an old 17 inch one, I want to get a 17'' or 18'' flat screen soon. I run it at 1280x960 in True Color, but only at 60hz.
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2003 2:38 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

60hz will make you go blind man, 75hz is what I like or better
Back to top
Interon
Guest






PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 10:36 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I wanted it to be 800x600 but my brother wanted 1024x768. I decided to please my brother.
Back to top
wardrich
"Some Troll"


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 3940
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2004 11:14 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I actually now use 1280x1024
Back to top
johpower
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 06 Jan 2003
Posts: 428
Location: Colorado North 40

PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 9:21 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Annorax wrote:
My monitor is kind of weak, it's an old 17 inch one, I want to get a 17'' or 18'' flat screen soon. I run it at 1280x960 in True Color, but only at 60hz.


You actually have "960" as a choice??? Very strange...

Yes, 60hz is an eye killer. 70+hz is good for you.

The monitor is weak? As in dim or bad focus or funky color display? If you are cash-shy, there are some fixes, both simple and complex. Let's talk...
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 12:31 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I can get 1280x960 on my current setup (not that strange) ATI 9000 video card and Sony 420GS 19" monitor

1152x864
1280x768

is also available along with the standard resolutions
Back to top
Guest







PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 4:02 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

These wouldn't happen to be res's that make "oversize" people feel more accepted by their PC would they? Laughing
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 3:25 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

wardrich wrote:
I actually now use 1280x1024


Me too. And I dont see any diffrence in anything on diffrent hertz.
Back to top
Thunderdog
Token Black Guy
<b>Token Black Guy</b>


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 1737
Location: Southeastern Japan

PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 4:44 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm on 1280X1024, now.
Back to top
wadeo999
Expert
Expert


Offline
Joined: 10 Sep 2006
Posts: 104
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:17 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

I use 800x600 on my 8mb PCI 3dlabs permedia on my samsung syncmaster 550's at 75 i think
Back to top
dr_st
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 347
Location: Absorbed into Clayface

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 12:02 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

1024x768 on my 17" CRT
1280x1024 on my 19" CRT

These are the resolutions that feel the most comfortable to me on each of them, respectively.

1400x1050 on my 15" laptop LCD. Because it's the native resolution, and LCDs look best at their native resolution. But I had to adjust DPI and play with font sizes, to prevent things from being too small.
Back to top
Ro@m
Hamachi Guardian


Offline
Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 1556
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 12:29 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

My 17" Samsung 730BF runs on 1152 x 864.best preformance.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)