DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Heroes of might and magic

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work
Author Message
Reichsmarschall
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 7:52 pm     Post subject: Heroes of might and magic Reply with quote

Please help....
Hello, I am trying to play heroes of might and magic to play by using dosbox and I can't figure it out. I have all the files needed on my computer. I have used dosbox to install heroes on my computer and after I get the files installed dosbox says, "Installation complete! type Heroes to play...." After I type Heroes dosbox says. "Unable to access cd drive." But when I try to load and run Heroes of might and magic from a cd I cant save the settings which means that I cant finish installing it and dosbox says, "Error opening Heroes.cfg!" If anyone can help me it would be greatly appreciated. I am about to give up.


Here are the specs on my computer...if it will help anything.

OS Name Microsoft Windows XP Professional
Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 2 Build 2600
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation

System Manufacturer HP Pavilion 061

System Model PX769AA-ABA a1130n

System Type X86-based PC

Processor x86 Family 15 Model 47 Stepping 0 AuthenticAMD~2188 Mhz

BIOS Version/Date Phoenix Technologies, LTD 3.20, 7/8/2005

SMBIOS Version 2.4

Total Physical Memory 1,024.00 MB

Available Physical Memory 434.55 MB

Total Virtual Memory 2.00 GB

Available Virtual Memory 1.96 GB

Page File Space 2.12 GB
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9227
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2007 4:38 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Your PC certainly is beefy enough to handle dosbox running HoMM.

Did you :
-> correctly mount a C ?
-> correctly mount your CD drive as D ?

Could you post your mount lines ? I think you screwed up somewhere.

Also : Do you have the original CD or a copied one?
Back to top
Reichsmarschall
Guest






PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2007 6:42 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

the mount lines that I used are:

mount c c:/games
(the Heroes files are in the games folder)

and for the cd drive:
mount d e:/

----------------------------------------------------
And the cd I am using is a copy not an original.
Back to top
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 4148
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:37 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

You're not labeling D as the cd drive, so DOSBox has no clue that it's in fact a CD drive.

Write:

mount d e:\(btw, it's "\" not "/") -t cdrom
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9227
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2007 3:27 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

If Larry's lines don't work try:
mount d e:\ -t cdrom -ioctl
or
mount d e:\ -t cdrom -usecd 0 -ioctl

If it should not work:
Are the HoMM files in a specific subfolder under 'games' ?
Is the copy burned from an ISO or image? Does it has a label ? If it has a label, what's the label ? ( Can be important , you can give the CD a label in your mount line if needed)



*cough* Larry , \ and / work both in dosbox *cough*
Sometimes it's even easier to use '/' on a non-English keyboard.
Back to top
Reichsmarschall
Guest






PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:01 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried all the mounting codes for the cd drive and you were correct in the fact that these codes mount the drive correctly. There is still a large problem.
After I run setup dosbox replies, "Installation Complete Type Heroes to play Heroes of Might and Magic (r)."
I type heroes and then two lines come up saying, "Dos/4GW Professional Protected Mode Run-time Version 1.97 Copyright (c) Rational Systems, Inc. 1990-1994."

After this instead of loading the game the writing inside dosbox flashes to a brighter white color and then does nothing. No command prompt or anything. It is like the program is frozen.

Also the cd was burnt from an iso.
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9227
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2007 2:50 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Now, that's weird.
I have the original HoMM and dosbox (0.65 and 0.70) run the game without problem.

I think you meant install instead of setup ?
Some things you can try:
Mount your drives, an run install from your c:\heroes folder in dosbox again.
You should get a config screen.
My settings are:

Sound card: Sound blaster 16/AWE32/compatible
Music: 16 bits stereo
Video card: compatible VESA
Network : none

Check your settings.

->It's always possible that your CD is faulty , Did you 'verify' after burning it ?
->and again check the label of your CD .Is it labeled or is it simply a number? If it has a label, what is it?
-> did you install the game under dosbox in a folderc:\Heroes ?

-> Your CD , must have a subfolder called HEROES, that folder:
457Mb, 5 folders, 204 files.

->The full CD must be 474 Mb, but the most important files are in the HEROES folder.
Back to top
Reichsmarschall
Guest






PostPosted: Mon Apr 30, 2007 6:20 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I am done with this....Is there any way that I can get a copy of someone else's disk or files? Thanks for all the help that you have already given.
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9227
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2007 2:54 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

So , a bad copy ?
No, we can't give a url to download it, it's still sold.
But you can find it pretty cheap on amazon.
Amazon search results

Hmmmm ,they even have the PS version for a 8$.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Free Windows games


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)