DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


Im Making An Interpreter,Need Some Help.

 
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Game Creation
Author Message
tinman47
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 1:48 pm     Post subject: Im Making An Interpreter,Need Some Help. Reply with quote

Im Making An Interpreter Out Of Raw Batch Code,And Its Working Very Well,But Im Having A Few Problems.

1.How Do I Make Syntax Highlighting Out Of Batch?

2.How Do I Make A Variable That Does Not Require Putting The % On Each Side Of It.

3.How Do I Display An Image Out Of Batch?

4.How Do I Play A Sound Out Of Bacth?

5.How Do You Perform Arithmetic Out Of Batch Without It Displaying An Error Message?

6.Can You Make DLL Files Out Of Batch,If So,Can You Call It In A Batch Script?

Reply If You Guys Know,And Show The Code.Thank You. Celebratory [/code]
Back to top
MiniMax
Expert
Expert


Offline
Joined: 25 Jan 2007
Posts: 149
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 2:45 pm     Post subject: Re: Im Making An Interpreter,Need Some Help. Reply with quote

tinman47 wrote:
5.How Do You Perform Arithmetic Out Of Batch Without It Displaying An Error Message?


Code:
set /a value=4+7*2 > NUL:
echo Result is %value%
Back to top
emmzee
Site Admin
Site Admin


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 2407
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 3:55 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, this is just a style thing, but could you please not put capital letters on every word? It makes your posts difficult to read. Thanks!

Re your questions ...

#1 Depends what program you're using to edit your code. You can use TextPad or WordPad+ to do syntax hilighting.

#2 Dunno if that's possible.

#3 & #4 You can't do that using batch language alone. You'd need to use an additional DOS program to do that. So you'd have to find a command-line based DOS application that plays sound or shows images, then run it from your batch file.

#6 I really don't think so.
Back to top
tinman47
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 12:29 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Mimzee,Batch can do anything and you don't even realize it.What the hell do you think made Qbasic and all the other BASIC languages.My interpreter is actually working,so dont post me shit like "Oh tinman,you can't do it,its not expansive enough,Oh its impossible,No,No,you should learn another language!"
Shutup!!!!I am almost done with it and people are starting to doubt me,some people are actually tring to get my source code,well guess what?Batch is awesome!!! Batch is what made Python,Batch made so much.I have been studying Batch for a full Year now,and its getting better every day.Im happy,but others are not.The interpreter is actually working,so don't post me that crap,just post the answer to my questions.I'll release the source code next year. :Angry:
Back to top
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 4143
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 3:24 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Huh? Now, what got you fired up like that? Everybody, until now, was polite and answered your questions, you have no right to flame... er? emmzee, or er... MiniMax?

Also, just to make things clear, are we talking about the batch that creates batch files?

Because, if that's so, really, you have to understand that it's limited!
Back to top
emmzee
Site Admin
Site Admin


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 2407
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 3:30 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

No need to get so riled up, tinman. BTW, who's "Mimzee"?

Anywho, maybe the problem is that we're using the same term ("batch") to refer to different things. When I say "batch" I'm referring to MS-DOS batch files, like this:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Batch_files

If you are referring instead to assembly language (aka assembler, aka machine code) like this:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Assembly_language
... then that's something entirely different. QBasic and other BASIC languages certainly would have been coded in assembly language (or perhaps in C or something) but not MS-DOS batch files; these are totally different things.
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9245
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 4:59 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm wondering if tinman47 isn't talking about somekind of converter that he is creating. You know, batch to *.exe or *.com converting.
Sounds as it.
If that's the case, it has been developed long time ago in many variations.
Several professional and freeware programs do such, so no need to getting excited about it.
Back to top
tinman47
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 4:53 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry about the overeaction I made,I was in a very bad mood that day,and I use profanity all the time.(BECAUSE IM 13 Ashamed )
Really sorry Mimzee(I like to call people with in EM in their name
a MIM Shit-Eating Grin )I didnt mean to explode on you like that.IM SORRY.
But anyways,the interpreter Im making is mostly MS-DOS code.
The other parts of it are Qbasic and raw Assembly.But Im probably
going to postpone the project since Im having problems with the
FASM Assembler. Crying And NO its not no fucking converter,thats
too boring Sleeping and a waste of time to make.SO JUST GIVING
YOU A NOTICE MIMZEE.

TRUST ME,MS-DOS MADE QBASIC...I LOOKED AT THE SOURCE CODE!
Back to top
MaryBeth
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 17 Nov 2006
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 7:06 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought MS-DOS was an operating system,
could you give me an example of DOS "code"?

Now don't bite my head off, Forbidding

I'm just wondering what you are talking about,
I'm young and just learning, too.
Back to top
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 4143
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 1:00 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

MaryBeth wrote:
I thought MS-DOS was an operating system,
could you give me an example of DOS "code"?


Maybe he means a DOS programming language such as Borland C++...

/me shrugs
Back to top
MiniMax
Expert
Expert


Offline
Joined: 25 Jan 2007
Posts: 149
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 9:26 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

I think a Babel-fish would be in order here.
Back to top
Dogbreath
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 4627
Location: In the back of a jacked-up Ford.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 10:11 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

tinman47 wrote:
TRUST ME,MS-DOS MADE QBASIC...I LOOKED AT THE SOURCE CODE!


Now that's sig worthy...

Locked, btw. If you honestly still need help with your project you can start another thread in the future, but it'll probably get locked pretty quickly if continue to carry on so rudely. (DON'T "SHOUT" AT PEOPLE PLEASE!!!!!)

And, as MiniMax said, there are plenty of excellent translation services around... don't really see why you need to make your own.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Game Creation All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)