DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


+ Driver issues

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work
Author Message
SeizerX
Guest






PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2003 8:01 am     Post subject: + Driver issues Reply with quote

I've been trying to get WC Privateer to run on my machine using WinME. I've patched my files so I can use Dos. My only problem is its been so long since I've had to write my own driver lines, that I don't know how to set up for a sound card with joystick support. I can play the game with no sound, no mouse and no joystick. And it stinks. Any help would be great. Thanks!
Back to top
procerus
Expert
Expert


Offline
Joined: 16 Sep 2002
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2003 10:46 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Grab CuteMouse 1.9 from the link in my sig. To use it in DOS put it in a known folder (just ctmouse.exe will do) and then point to it in the autoexec.bat file. So, if you put it in the Windows folder, you want to add the line-
C:\WINDOWS\CTMOUSE.EXE

Read the CuteMouse documention for details of ways of tweaking things like cursor speed and so on. Note that CuteMouse will load itself high if there's room automatically.

For the sound card you will have to do a bit of detective work. We need to know the make and model of your sound card/onboard sound. It is possible, if it's very recent, that there is no DOS driver for it. But let's give it a go.

Go to Control Panel in Windows and double-click System. Go to the Device Manager tab and see what is listed under Sound, Video and Game Controllers. That should help us a bit.
Back to top
Seizer
Guest






PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2003 6:19 pm     Post subject: Drivers Reply with quote

I have a SoundBlaster 16 Plug and Play listed, as well as a gameport joystick. I checked out that cute mouse download. Looks like it only supports PS2 and serial mice. I am using a USB Intellimouse. So am I going to have break out the old PS2 mouse to play?
Back to top
procerus
Expert
Expert


Offline
Joined: 16 Sep 2002
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2003 3:14 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

If, as you say, you've "patched" ME so that you can use DOS mode then I'm afraid that you will have to install either a PS2 or else a serial mouse if you want mouse support in DOS games. Sad

Although many motherboards have an "enable legacy mouse/keyboard support" option in the BIOS to allow use of USB items under some conditions, I think you'll find that it won't work for games. Sad

For the sound card, if you've properly installed the drivers, I think you'll find there should be a file called CTSB16.SYS somewhere. Do a search for it (Start, Find...). Then add the following to your DOS mode config.sys

Devicehigh=C:\******\CTSB16.SYS /Unit=0 /Blaster=A:220 I:5 D:1 H:5

where "******" is the correct path to the file. Then add the following to your autoexec.bat

SET SOUND=C:\"******"
SET MIDI=Synth:1 Map:E
Set BLASTER= A220 I5 D1 H5 P330 T6

where "******" is that path again.

Post again if you can't find that file. I may have got these details from too old a web site. Perhaps there are more modern versions and the entries may have to be different.
Back to top
486 player
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god


Offline
Joined: 18 Sep 2002
Posts: 1181

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2003 6:35 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Joy've may been configured in mother board. Check manual. Tried to lit joy to sound card's port?
Back to top
procerus
Expert
Expert


Offline
Joined: 16 Sep 2002
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2003 2:08 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the joystick will be attached to the SoundBlaster, 486. So it needs to sound card driver installed to initialize it.

I've got onboard (motherboard) sound here and my joystick won't work in DOS unless the DOS sound driver's installed. Happy
Back to top
Seizer
Guest






PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2003 11:41 pm     Post subject: Sheesh Reply with quote

I forgot how tough this could be setting up for a game. I've tried what you suggested as far as your command lines. It locks up right after

device=c:\windows\system\SB16SND.drv /Unit=0 /Blaster=A:220 I:7 D:1 H:5

In my driver file details the only other on there with SB16 is SB16.VXD. All the others are WFM and a few other ones.
BTW I reformatted and loaded on 98SE. I realized how much ME stunk.
So here's what my config.sys looks like

device=c:\windows\himem.sys
device=c:\windows\emm386.exe 16384 ram D=64 FRAME=E000 /I=B000-B7FF
dos=high
files=25
buffers=25
device=c:\windows\system\SB16SND.drv /Unit=0 /Blaster=A:220 I:7 D:1 H:5

And here's autoexec.bat

@echo off
path=c:\windows;c:windows\command;c:\dos;
prompt $p$g
SET SOUND=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SB16SND.DRV
SET MIDI=Synth:1 Map:E
Set BLASTER= A220 I7 D1 H5 P330 T6
No luck at all. Here's some info might help, I got new dos drivers for the SB. When I go to install em the program asks where the card is. I tell it 220H and it says its not there. Thanks again for the assitance.
Back to top
procerus
Expert
Expert


Offline
Joined: 16 Sep 2002
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2003 12:08 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

If the driver says the card isn't there then it might be worth reseating the actual sound card.

When you open Control Panel, System, Device Manager, Sound Video and Game Controllers in Windows what is listed there? And, when you double-click each of the sound card's entries, what is listed under the Resources tab?

Remove any entries I suggested you make. They're obviously wrong if they're locking the machine up!

Ideally the DOS drivers should make the entries in the config.sys and autoexec.bat for you when you install them.

We need to know the IRQ and memory details from the sound card in Windows. Then, hopefully, we can use those to install the DOS drivers properly.
Back to top
Seizer
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2003 5:52 pm     Post subject: Drivers Reply with quote

Ok under sound and video game controllers is
Creative 3D stereo enhancement
Creative Sound Blaster 16 Plug and Play
Gameport Joystick

Resources for Stereo Enhancement is 0100-0100
Resources for SB16 Plug and play is
IRQ 7
DMA 7
DMA 3
I/O Range 0220-022F
I/O Range 0300-0301
I/O Range 0388-038B

Resources for Joystick 0200-0207

That's it.
Back to top
procerus
Expert
Expert


Offline
Joined: 16 Sep 2002
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2003 11:02 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Let's try changing the config.sys line from:

device=c:\windows\system\SB16SND.drv /Unit=0 /Blaster=A:220 I:7 D:1 H:5

to

device=c:\windows\system\SB16SND.drv /Unit=0 /Blaster=A:220 I:7 D:3 H:7

and one of the autoexec.bat lines from:

Set BLASTER= A220 I7 D1 H5 P330 T6

to

Set BLASTER= A220 I7 D3 H7 P330 T6

We're doing this because the original lines are telling your computer that the sound card's DMA lines are at 1 and 5 whereas your system says that they are at 3 and 7.

I'm not promising that this will work. And I wonder why your system doesn't have any "legacy" sound entries under Sound, video and game controllers? Odd.
Back to top
Seizer
Guest






PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2003 1:38 pm     Post subject: Same Reply with quote

Hey thanks for the help Procerus. I got sound working fine before your repost, but alas no joystick. Crying

I will try out your driver lines and let you know.
Thanks
Back to top
Seizer
Guest






PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2003 2:03 pm     Post subject: Ohh Reply with quote

I also forgot to ask my joystick is a Sidewinder. It's serial plugs right into soundcard. First thing I am going to check is that the jumper is still on the card, other than that any advice would be great.
Back to top
Seizer
Guest






PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2003 3:42 pm     Post subject: Same Reply with quote

Ok there's no joystick jumper on soundcard. I tried your lines Procerus and they made the computer crash. So I am going to use what I came with as far as sound. Looking for ways to make the blasted joystick to work still.
Back to top
procerus
Expert
Expert


Offline
Joined: 16 Sep 2002
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2003 1:13 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you sure it's a game port joystick (connects to midi connector on sound card) and not a USB one? A USB stick isn't going to work in DOS.
Back to top
Seizer
Guest






PostPosted: Sun Mar 23, 2003 5:32 pm     Post subject: Same Reply with quote

Positive its not USB. I got an old Sidewinder. No forcefeed back or any new stuff on it. Plugs right into soundcard. Almost looks like a serial port.
Here's someting curious I've noticed. The way I set sound up is with a utility from Creative Labs. It seeks your SB and sets the port, irq, midi, and dma. The thing is it changes the port and midi almost everytime I use it. The game works great as long as go to the install and change settings. Maybe this is the reason no joystick support.
At any rate having a great time fraggin pirates and retros, though I use the keyboard for flying. :Angry:
Back to top
Seizer
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 26 Mar 2003
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2003 6:32 am     Post subject: Same Reply with quote

Well Procerus I finally figured out that I am just SOL with a MS Sidewinder use in dos. Crying Now I've got to go find an older joystick. Thanks for all your help.
Back to top
procerus
Expert
Expert


Offline
Joined: 16 Sep 2002
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2003 3:54 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry to hear it Seizer. Sad

Good luck.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Free Windows games


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)