DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


rename my computer
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware
Author Message
abyss
Moloral Compass
Moloral Compass


Offline
Joined: 06 Nov 2006
Posts: 754

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:33 am     Post subject: rename my computer Reply with quote

Is it safe to rename my computer to program manager as i am going for a win 3.1 look but with win xp functuanality. I have classic background icon which makes the icon look like a 95. I have the win 3.1 coloured icons on though as i found the blue not looking win 3.1ish. I am thinking about putting my computer and internet explorer on the desktop and pulling down the start menu to go even further for a win 3.1 look.
Back to top
CPT Worm
American Hero
<font color=gold>American Hero</font>


Offline
Joined: 25 May 2004
Posts: 1386
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 11:02 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

If you rename your computer, viruses will come to your computer.
It's because these virus people are looking for you. Now they don't see you. But, when you change your computer's name, they will.

You'd better not.
Back to top
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 4144
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 12:55 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

erm, no answer to your question,(or to Wormie's response, for that matter Sarcastic ), but I just want to understand why in the world would you want to change Win XP into a graphical nick-nack looking like Win 3.1?

If you want 3.1, get a 286er, install win 3.1, and plug in the internet cable Malevolent
Back to top
486 player
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god


Offline
Joined: 18 Sep 2002
Posts: 1179

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 2:01 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Internet requires 386.
Back to top
abyss
Moloral Compass
Moloral Compass


Offline
Joined: 06 Nov 2006
Posts: 754

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 2:15 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Internet can run in dos mode on a fairly high end 286 all you need is arachne and i am not sure if you need it or not dsl. It is very slow on a 286 though and you will need to refresh the pages very often and the internet crashes once in a while but it will work and you may need to edit the files on the 286. Arachne is the only internet browser that will work on a 286. Go to youtube and search 286 internet and the first video will prove to you that 286 computers can go on the internet.
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9257
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 3:04 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Djees, even a 8086/8bit compy in the ol'PC BBS days could go on internet.
Textmodus of course.

Sarcastic
Back to top
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 4144
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 3:45 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm..., I bet that even trojan turds would laugh their butt off...
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9257
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 4:59 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

dosraider wrote:
Djees, even a 8086/8bit compy in the ol'PC BBS days could go on internet.

And even before that there was ...
Quote:

1968 : Backbones: 50Kbps ARPANET - Hosts: 4

50 Kbps lolz.


More @
http://www.davesite.com/webstation/net-history.shtml
Back to top
MiniMax
Expert
Expert


Offline
Joined: 25 Jan 2007
Posts: 149
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 2:01 pm     Post subject: Re: rename my computer Reply with quote

abyss wrote:
Is it safe to rename my computer to program manager as i am going for a win 3.1 look but with win xp functuanality.

Yes.

Worm o' Love should go and play in his sandbox, because his answers indicates that he is better suited to that than to answer computer related questions.
Back to top
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 4144
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 2:54 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

ehm, Wormie was joking dude Sarcastic (that or he's still drunk after the Super Bowl celebration party Laughing )
Back to top
CPT Worm
American Hero
<font color=gold>American Hero</font>


Offline
Joined: 25 May 2004
Posts: 1386
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 3:14 pm     Post subject: Re: rename my computer Reply with quote

MiniMax wrote:
Worm o' Love should go and play in his sandbox, because his answers indicates that he is better suited to that than to answer computer related questions.

lol, You're not from around here, are you? Well, as Larry picked up, I was joking. You'll find that I'm only serious when it comes to banning spammers.
And I don't need a sandbox, because I run Mac OS X. ActiveX scripts lol

And abyss, um, I didn't think you could rename "My Computer." I remember trying to rename it to something less...stupid back on my old, old Windows 95/98SE machine. I didn't remember being able to change it.

But if you can change it, er, go ahead. I don't foresee any problems, because paths never contain "My Computer;" the highest level is C:.
But you never know. It is Microsoft.
Back to top
emmzee
Site Admin
Site Admin


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 2402
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 3:17 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems like XP lets you rename My Computer to whatever you want. I think Wormy is right, previous versions (9x) didn't allow you to do so, but there's no harm in renaming it if it really bugs you that much. (If it does, you must not have a lot of pressing life issues.)
Back to top
Final Chance
Expert
Expert


Offline
Joined: 23 Dec 2006
Posts: 154

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 3:18 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I remember back when Windows 95 first came out. I thought that "My Computer" was so childish I almost always renamed it to something cooler.

Now I'm so used to it that it doesn't matter anymore.
Back to top
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 4144
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 4:41 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

meh just don't use a german version of win 95 when you rename My computer, the result is quite... amazing...
Back to top
The_Sinister_Mastermind
Overlord


Offline
Joined: 26 Oct 2005
Posts: 2745
Location: NSW, Australia, Down Under Verse

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 6:16 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Odd, I remember ages ago a friend of mine had My Computer renamed to George on what if I remember right was a Win95 machine. I do know that you can at least rename it in Win98.
Back to top
GAMER
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god


Offline
Joined: 22 Sep 2002
Posts: 1527
Location: chasing chikeds in the snow!

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 10:31 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Have i mentioned recently how amusingly cynical our little dosgames family is??

Anyhoo...On topic: Why are you doing this? :S

Cool GAMER
Back to top
Final Chance
Expert
Expert


Offline
Joined: 23 Dec 2006
Posts: 154

PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 10:31 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

It's 100% guaranteed that you can rename "My Computer" in Windows 95.

A teacher at one of my old schools changed it to "My Imitation Macintosh" on most of the student computers in his classroom (Pentium 100, all Windows 95).
Back to top
The_Sinister_Mastermind
Overlord


Offline
Joined: 26 Oct 2005
Posts: 2745
Location: NSW, Australia, Down Under Verse

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 12:46 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Iím inclined to agree with FC, as I mentioned before Iím sure it was a Win 95 machine that my friend renamed My Computer to George. If was back in the time of NFS but I canít remember if it was the first or second game, though it doesnít really matter since either way it still pre-dates Win 98.
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9257
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 4:49 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Didn't you need a tweak program to rename 'my computer' in W95 ?
Or was that needed to get rid of the icon on the desktop?
Back to top
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 4144
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Tue Feb 13, 2007 6:06 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

I think it was needed to get rid of it, I remember renaming it just by pressing F2(meaning, just using rename Wink )
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Free Windows games


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)