DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Base Memory

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware
Author Message
annicat
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 14 Jan 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 5:11 pm     Post subject: Base Memory Reply with quote

My Computer is showing base memory of 636kb and total upper memory of 43kb

I cannot enable ems

I have tried multiple boot options.

I have tried troubleshooting in windows with msconfig

Any others sugestion?

Thanks

Ann Crying
Back to top
Final Chance
Expert
Expert


Offline
Joined: 23 Dec 2006
Posts: 154

PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2007 12:43 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have 636 KB of conventional RAM, you're doing pretty good. DOS can only have a maximum of 640 KB RAM, so you're only losing a measly 4 KB.

And as for Upper Memory, the most you can get out of that is 384 KB, however, many computers can only get about 90 KB maximum (the most I ever had in my life was about 150 Kb) because the rest of it is used for hardware reserved areas and BIOS stuff.

From the information you have there, it seems like your memory setup is as good as you're going to get it.

Unless there's more you can tell us about what's going on, I don't think there's more we could say.
Back to top
486 player
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god


Offline
Joined: 18 Sep 2002
Posts: 1180

PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 4:14 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

device=c:\dos\emm386.exe auto ram
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9246
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 10:03 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

annicat wrote:

I have tried troubleshooting in windows with msconfig

486 player wrote:
device=c:\dos\emm386.exe auto ram


Somehow I really doubt your suggestion will work here 486 player, seems the cat is on a Win PC, not a dos PC.

Kittycat: give more info on what OS you are, maybe then we can suggest something (game shortcut or so...).

OS means what Dos/Windows/Whatever your PC runs.
Maybe the game you try to run also could be usefull.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Free Windows games


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)