DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


HELP: Sound Blaster 16 PCI not working :(

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware
Author Message
dhruba.bandopadhyay
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 14 Aug 2006
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 7:00 am     Post subject: HELP: Sound Blaster 16 PCI not working :( Reply with quote

I just bought a Sound Blaster 16 PCI off eBay. I used Windows 98SE and boot into native DOS mode.

When I try to run Creative SB16 drivers, it keeps on saying that it's detected am in Windows 95 mode.

How???

Anyway, I manage to get "already-installed" drivers from:

http://easymamecab.mameworld.net/html/snddosdr.htm

I run the C:\dosdrv\sbcfg.exe and it displays my settings 220, IRQ5, DMA1, DMA7 (16bit).

When I set up Duke Nukem 3D with these settings, it fails for digital sound, but I got music working. It says DMA conflicts.

Anyway got any ideas why I can't get sound working?
Back to top
franpa
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 847
Location: australia, qld

PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 7:08 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

use general midi for music.... and soundblaster for sound fx.... (you cant have both at soundblaster [but then again you got a soundblaster 16 so yea i dunno.....])
Back to top
dhruba.bandopadhyay
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 14 Aug 2006
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2006 4:11 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

The SET BLASTER also has 2 extra parameters.

SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 H5 P330 T6

I got drivers from:

http://easymamecab.mameworld.net/html/snddosdr.htm

EAPCI.zip didn't work, even though I got the Ensoniq SB16PCI (I think). But SBPCI.zip one loads.


Yep, I disabled the internal sound card too.

PS: What does the T parameter mean? You specified T7. SBPCI.zip file specifies T6. EAPCI.zip file specifies SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 T2.
Back to top
franpa
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 847
Location: australia, qld

PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2006 6:23 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

i didnt specify T7, altho T6 or T4 should work fine... its what soundcard you have... T6 is soundblaster 16 and T4 is soundblaster pro... T1 is soundblaster... T2 is either soundblaster again or it is soundblaster v2.0
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Free Windows games


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)