DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Windows XP SP 3

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware
Author Message
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 4143
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2006 6:04 am     Post subject: Windows XP SP 3 Reply with quote

Anybody has Service Pack3 onboard?Because i've installed it and it's ok but it has a few (But IMPORTANT) glitches such as no(and i mean absolutely NONE) sound drivers but it is realy nice with that vista interface. The reason i posted this here is because i heard it wasn't build by MS. Is it True?
Back to top
franpa
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 847
Location: australia, qld

PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2006 8:03 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

it hasnt even been released yet.... what you most likely have is that hotfix pack which sites used to claim as a pack of updates that are gonna be included in sp3... most have changed the packs name now.
Back to top
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 4143
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 9:05 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Hold IT!!! Then how come i get UPDATES for it huh???


for my little friend behind me: It's not an Official version for MS!!!!!
Back to top
franpa
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 847
Location: australia, qld

PostPosted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 12:48 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

um check out microsoft website... if anything they would be going all out on getting people to update.

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/default.mspx <--- where does it mention service pack 3 for windows??? all i see is service pack 2 and same goes for windows update.

here is a news article... http://www.pcworld.com/article/id,122871-page,1/article.html?RSS=RSS
this may be what you have... http://www.thehotfix.net/sp3_2.html
Back to top
AdamN
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 29 Oct 2006
Posts: 261
Location: in your basement with a blood-covered axe

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 1:59 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Service Pack 3 isn't released until next year, however Internet Explorer 7 and Windows Defender are released.

Windows Vista atm is a Real Candidate version!
Back to top
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 4143
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 2:07 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Larry Laffer wrote:
It's not an Official version for MS!!!!!


Hacked version of Service Pack2, with a Vista interface and many *ahem* already installed programs
Back to top
Amro
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 24 Sep 2002
Posts: 479
Location: nth world

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 7:59 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I try to avoid service packs. Windows is bad enough.

I don't have SP2. I installed, my computer started crapping out. I promptly uninstalled that piece of crap.
Back to top
Wally
King of the Carrot Flowers


Offline
Joined: 01 May 2003
Posts: 4625

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 7:02 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Windows Vista.. Windows at all...

Bleh
Back to top
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 4143
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 7:10 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

You tell me an OS with a range of game compatibility as large as Windows's and I won't think twice before installing it Tbbbbbth!
Back to top
Amro
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 24 Sep 2002
Posts: 479
Location: nth world

PostPosted: Sun Nov 05, 2006 1:44 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not that Windows is compatible, it's that most games are made with DirectCrap. id Software, Epic Games and Blizzard are some of the few companies that make games with OpenGL (or at least, also with OpenGL).

Also, you can install more than 1 OS (as I have) so you can run your games on windows. By the way, what games are you playing?
Back to top
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 4143
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2006 1:25 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm really low on disk space so I don't think I'm gonna install another OS!

As for the games:
Starcraft with/out BroodWar on Battle.net
Counter Strike 1.6
Track Mania Nations
Open Transport Tycoon Deluxe
Tactical Ops
Allegiance, as soon as I forward the ports on my router Sarcastic
Space Quest 5, Space Quest 6
and as soon as I get it Leisure Suit Larry 7: Love for Sail!(my disk went "bust" a month ago)
Back to top
Amro
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 24 Sep 2002
Posts: 479
Location: nth world

PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 7:05 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

SC is playable via Wine, but no battle.net Sad
CS 1.6 runs on linux
TO as well
I don't know about the others Sad
Back to top
Larry Laffer
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 19 Feb 2006
Posts: 4143
Location: Romania

PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 12:37 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Damn goodie let's TO some time!
And what's Wine?
Back to top
Amro
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 24 Sep 2002
Posts: 479
Location: nth world

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 1:33 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Wine is a windows emulator for Linux. The developers prefer to call it a "compatibility" layer. It ran World of Warcraft on Kubuntu 5.10 just fine (though it did require some extra work... however, I just followed a howto, there are plenty of howtos around for other games as well).
Back to top
franpa
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 847
Location: australia, qld

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 10:15 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

does wine run dosbox perfectly? Shit-Eating Grin i'm aware theres a linux port of dosbox.... but am still curious as to whether the windows version will work in wine.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)