DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


Stupid Sound Card!
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware
Author Message
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 5:39 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Kazer0 wrote:
theres no point in paying, the sound works, just not the gameport.


It works, then why is this thread so long?

Sleeping
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 7:37 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

i fixed it half way in.

Now i need to get the gameport to work.
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2003 5:25 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I opened it up and the card says vibra 16s. I can't find drivers for thart on the creative site.

Edit: I found sound blaster vibra 128. ill try that.
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2003 9:46 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Kazer0 wrote:
I opened it up and the card says vibra 16s. I can't find drivers for thart on the creative site.

Edit: I found sound blaster vibra 128. ill try that.


The Vibra 16s is a last generation soundblaster 16 value with integrated chipset. Any of creatives soundblaster drivers should work with your card. Best way to get drivers is to know the model number on your card (some were oem version)

It should be one of these models (probably plug and play)

CT2890 - SB 16 VALUE PNP OEM
CT2940 - SB 16 VALUE PNP OEM
CT2959 - SB 16 VALUE PNP
CT2960 - SB 16 VALUE PNP OEM
CT2961 - SB 16 BASIC PNP
CT2970 - SB 16 VALUE PNP OEM
CT2980 - SB 16 VALUE PNP
CT4171 - SB 16 WAVEFFECTS
CT4181 - SB 16 VALUE PNP

The 128 soundcards are PCI cards and have ensoniq chipsets (rebadged ensoniq cards after creative purchased the company)
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2003 1:48 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Grr... now I have to take the chip out. I really don't like to do that anymore..... Oh well, it has to be done.
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2003 1:57 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Vibra 16s
CT2504-TCQ
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2003 2:02 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Its not on the creative site....
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2003 3:48 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Drivers for that chip (CT2504) are here:

http://www.zdsftp.com/support/drv/cat715.html

download the one for the OS you need

Let me know how it works out

Happy
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2003 4:41 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Will do...

Edit: Um..... They dont have xp... I guess NT is closest, maybe ill try 95 too...
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2003 4:58 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

No luck. It says its for pnp only. odd. I tried add new hardware and selecting the ini files (or whatever file type it is.... inf), and it says it has not passed a windows xp compatibility test. It installs anyways and doesn't work. I tied bot the nt and 95 versions.
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2003 7:22 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Go to the local computer store and buy a new soundcard.
If your ancient card isnt supported directly by Windows XP then you cant use it because nobody is making drivers for that ancient card (looks like an oem version thats not exactly a sb16).

If your going to run the newest windows on old hardware you have these problems. Switch to an older OS or get new hardware, cant have it both ways. Every new version of windows uses a different driver architecture.

Win2k and Xp is a shitty OS to run dos games on period.
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2003 9:29 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Im not running any dos games.

Ill just have to go to my backup soundcard. A real sb16 and gameport.
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2003 10:32 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

That will work then
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2003 1:37 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

i damn hope it does.
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2003 6:37 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I speant the last 3 days mingling with creative support. First, I asked this:

I wrote:
My sound card (With a game port) came inside a computer
I bought. It is an older pc (PII MMX), and I was running
98se. It worked fine. I then upgraded to windows ME. It
worked fine then too. I then upgraded to windows XP
professional. The card did not insatall with the OS, so i
had to do it myself. It detected a soundblaster 16 or AWE
compliant sound card. I then went to install my game pad
(Using the game port), and it said that there was no
gameport installed. This worked before I upgraded to XP.
So I got the information off the card. It says Vibra 16s
CT2504-TCQ on it. I couldn't find this on your site, even
after i searched CT2504.


And they said:

Support Jason wrote:
Andrew,

What brand of pc is this card in? I can't find the number CT2504 anywhere.

Jason


And I told them that it was a home made system.

And they replied:

Support Jason wrote:
Andrew,

This card is not technically supported in this OS. However I
can provide the following suggestion:

Windows XP has native support for this card. This means
that the card will function using the drivers that come with
the operating system. Please follow the below steps to load
the native support drivers for your card.

LOAD THE XP NATIVE SUPPORT DRIVERS FOR THIS CARD
1. Go to control panel
2. Go to "Add New Hardware"
3. Let it do the PNP search.
4. Select the option that allows you to select the driver
manually from a list.
5. Pick Creative , and the model of your sound card.
6. Hit OK.
7. Follow the rest of the on-screen instructions to finish the
driver install.



Jason


Well he just told me what I siad I already did (This was ina diffrent section on the support form.

So i sent the message:

I wrote:
This doesn't work. The only option it has for creative
is "Soundblaster 16 or AWE compliant". It installs, and the
sound works, but the gameport does not.


And, finally, wich is what they could have said in the first place:

Nathan - CLI Tech Support wrote:
Andrew,

I regret to inform you that there are not any drivers or support for the
sound card in Windows XP.

Thank You.

Nathan - CLI Tech Support


Sleeping
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2003 6:54 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Well that took a whold 5 minutes. I just slide one out and the other in. Then I looked at the date on the vibra. 1994. Oops. Wll the other one is (Its not really newer, I didnt check the date) and its pnp, and the gameport (As far as I know), works.

Thanks for your help Unknown_k.
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2003 7:22 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I stay away from new os on old equipment because of the driver issues, that and new OS runs slow as hell on old equipment anyway. I dont see why people take a perfectly working computer and run the newest OS on it that slows it to a crawl, doesnt support the hardware, and wont let you run the programs you want on it.

there are alot of people here who run XP on old hardware and then post 100 messages about how this game doesnt work anymore or this hardware doesnt work anymore. All I can say is that use Win2k on a work machine and windows 98se on a games rig and EVERYTHING WILL WORK! XP doesnt buy you anything on old hardware, just makes problems. I dont know of any software that doesnt run on 2k/9x.
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2003 7:33 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, all my games (Except GTA2) work on xp, and it runs faster than it did with 98se or me.
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2003 8:24 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Must just be a better driver, Xp and 2k have an extra layer between the game and the hardware which slows it down a bit, windows 9x/ME dont.
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2003 8:38 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I had C&C renegade on ME,a nd it was slow as hell. It went a bit faster on XP.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)