DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


Stupid Sound Card!
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware
Author Message
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 3:08 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

So how can i fix it?
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 3:45 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Its pretty easy.

Open your computer, find the sound card, make a note its model number and if it has any jumpers (make a note of the pins that are shorted).

Goto the website of the maker and d/l the software for the OS your using, d/l the pdf manual if available (should be)

Make sure that the bios of your computer is setup to accept plug n play devices.

make a dir called c:\drivers\creative and dump your win9x drivers there and unzip them

In windows 9x remove all drivers for any sound card.

Reboot

Find your windows CD

When you boot it should ask you for drivers, direct it to the directory you made and it should load multiple drivers. One for sb16, one for AWE (wavetable), one for joystick port, probably loads a driver for IDE port also. it might need some windows files thats what the windows CD is for.

Make sure there are no conflicts in irq or ports (check the manual you downloaded and reference jumper settings you wrote down)

This will have setup your card for windows 9x

If your doing just dos , or dos and windows 3.x you should have installed the dos/win3x drivers (basically you unzip those to numerous disks and install manually at the dos prompt)

Normally the SB16 is on port 220 Irq 5 or 7 dma 1
Wavetable should be at port 330 or 300
Gameport maybe port 201

Problems can come up if you have the sb ports setup to some wierd port, most older games wont recognize the soundcard if your using anything above irq 9 , above dma 1, or some wierd port.

This is assuming you dont have a conflict in dma, irq, or port. Windows would tell you if you did. And should be corrected.
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 4:36 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

But im on windows XP now, there are no drivers on creatives wbsite, and I will not go inside my pc. last time i did that, I broke it. ill open all my computers but this one.

I tried installing gameport, but that didn't work.
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 4:53 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Kazer0 wrote:
But im on windows XP now, there are no drivers on creatives wbsite, and I will not go inside my pc. last time i did that, I broke it. ill open all my computers but this one.

I tried installing gameport, but that didn't work.


Go pay somebody who knows what they are doing to fix it since you dont take advice and cant open the case.
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 5:23 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

theres no point in paying, the sound works, just not the gameport.
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 5:39 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Kazer0 wrote:
theres no point in paying, the sound works, just not the gameport.


It works, then why is this thread so long?

Sleeping
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2003 7:37 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

i fixed it half way in.

Now i need to get the gameport to work.
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2003 5:25 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I opened it up and the card says vibra 16s. I can't find drivers for thart on the creative site.

Edit: I found sound blaster vibra 128. ill try that.
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2003 9:46 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Kazer0 wrote:
I opened it up and the card says vibra 16s. I can't find drivers for thart on the creative site.

Edit: I found sound blaster vibra 128. ill try that.


The Vibra 16s is a last generation soundblaster 16 value with integrated chipset. Any of creatives soundblaster drivers should work with your card. Best way to get drivers is to know the model number on your card (some were oem version)

It should be one of these models (probably plug and play)

CT2890 - SB 16 VALUE PNP OEM
CT2940 - SB 16 VALUE PNP OEM
CT2959 - SB 16 VALUE PNP
CT2960 - SB 16 VALUE PNP OEM
CT2961 - SB 16 BASIC PNP
CT2970 - SB 16 VALUE PNP OEM
CT2980 - SB 16 VALUE PNP
CT4171 - SB 16 WAVEFFECTS
CT4181 - SB 16 VALUE PNP

The 128 soundcards are PCI cards and have ensoniq chipsets (rebadged ensoniq cards after creative purchased the company)
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2003 1:48 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Grr... now I have to take the chip out. I really don't like to do that anymore..... Oh well, it has to be done.
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2003 1:57 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Vibra 16s
CT2504-TCQ
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2003 2:02 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Its not on the creative site....
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2003 3:48 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Drivers for that chip (CT2504) are here:

http://www.zdsftp.com/support/drv/cat715.html

download the one for the OS you need

Let me know how it works out

Happy
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2003 4:41 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Will do...

Edit: Um..... They dont have xp... I guess NT is closest, maybe ill try 95 too...
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2003 4:58 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

No luck. It says its for pnp only. odd. I tried add new hardware and selecting the ini files (or whatever file type it is.... inf), and it says it has not passed a windows xp compatibility test. It installs anyways and doesn't work. I tied bot the nt and 95 versions.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Free Windows games


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)