DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


Cannot use DukeNukem 3D! Audio troubles

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware
Author Message
fabiobol
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 5:43 pm     Post subject: Cannot use DukeNukem 3D! Audio troubles Reply with quote

I have a Super-dos machine:

AST Bravo LC/66D, with cpu changed, i486DX4/100 MHz, 48 MB EDO RAM, 4 GB HDD, video Cirrus integrated (1 MCool and Sound Blaster 16 Value (non PnP). I also have modem, which gives me the possibility to surf the web with Windows 95.

I tried to use Duke Nukem 3D... the game runs quite well at 320x200, but if I set the audio ON, it gives me an error message that speaks about an audio IRQ conflict.
I tried putting in Windows 98 (not too slow) but the problem was not solved. So I went back to 95. What can I do? I also upgraded the audio drivers, without success.

Again, what video card shoul I use to go fast with dos games? At the moment I have a Cirrus Logic Chip integrated in the AST motherboard. Games like Big Red Racing run quite slow. A Tseng or a trident Vesa local bus would be better than the cirrus chip?
Back to top
486 player
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god


Offline
Joined: 18 Sep 2002
Posts: 1183

PostPosted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 5:27 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Select other settings in Setup and autoexec.bat. If thou've an printer, unplug it. Maybe modem too uses same IRQ.

To these slow games, yeah, VESA is better.
Back to top
Ro@m
Hamachi Guardian


Offline
Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 1556
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 8:01 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

try setting your sound card on Sound Blaster,and IRQ on autodetect,and setting your music to midi.
Back to top
fabiobol
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 8:47 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

This evening I will try it. My TSENG ET4000AX is better than an integrated Cirrus Logic?

Both of them have 1 MB of video memory... The Cirrus can use 16-bit colour but the Tseng doesn't go over 256 colours. Is there any way to make true color working?
Back to top
franpa
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 847
Location: australia, qld

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2006 9:51 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

i am thinking that the nvidia tnt 2 was the first true 32bit graphics card... this had 32mb of ram i think and would make it seem like no you can't set the 1mb video card to use 32bit colour.
Back to top
fabiobol
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2006 12:27 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

I used 32-bit colour with a Maxtrox G200 with 8 MB of memory.
I used 16-bit colour also with a S3 Trio64V+ with 1 MB of memory without any problems.
So in my opinion it is'n possible that i cannot set my ET4000 at least at 65000 colours.
Back to top
franpa
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 847
Location: australia, qld

PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2006 5:00 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

good thing i didnt state what i said as tho it was fact. (and didnt realize that such old cards could do 32bit)
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)