DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


system comparison

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware
Author Message
pedersencato
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 10:51 am     Post subject: system comparison Reply with quote

I need your opinions on two computers my brothers have...
First:
P4 2.8 w/HyperThreading
1.5GB ram
80GB SATA and 160GB PATA
GeForce FX 5600
LG DVD+-R/W (No DL)

Next:
Athlon FX 3400+ (hypertransport?)
512mb Ram
300GB PATA
GeForce FX 6200
HP DVD+-R/W/DL


So first I'd like to know which processor is better then a full comparison of which is the more powerful machine... and when my brother brings his computer home from college I'm going to run benchmarks on both of them.
Back to top
The_Sinister_Mastermind
Overlord


Offline
Joined: 26 Oct 2005
Posts: 2745
Location: NSW, Australia, Down Under Verse

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 10:31 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

The P4 is more powerful but that doesn't necessarily make it better.
Back to top
pedersencato
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 10:36 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

that's a comparison of the complete systems right? Oh, and I was told that the athlon's numbner (the 3400+) was how fast the processor is in comparison to a intel... Is this right was is that pperson a jerk? thanks
Back to top
franpa
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 847
Location: australia, qld

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 10:40 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

that person is a jerk (whoever he/she is) the number on the athlon is a model number (well sorta) while the number on the p4 is its speed in mhz/ghz
Back to top
The_Sinister_Mastermind
Overlord


Offline
Joined: 26 Oct 2005
Posts: 2745
Location: NSW, Australia, Down Under Verse

PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 9:15 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Well the P4 is 2.8GHz and from what I can find on Google the Athalon is either 2.2 or 2.4GHz.

What is it exactly that you're trying to find out about these 2 computers?
Back to top
pedersencato
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 19 May 2004
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2006 7:57 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm just debating with my one brother that the athlon was the better rig... and I was hoping you guys could settle it for us. BTW, thanks for the help I've gotten from you guys.
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2006 9:34 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

...

Whoever said the P4 was more powerful, never pretend you know what your talking about please.

The approximation is that every AMD point (Ex: 2400+ = 2400 points) is approximatly equal to a pentium MHZ. Therefore, P42800 < AMD3400+.
Back to top
franpa
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 847
Location: australia, qld

PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2006 9:53 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

lol your f**kd in da head man
Back to top
The_Sinister_Mastermind
Overlord


Offline
Joined: 26 Oct 2005
Posts: 2745
Location: NSW, Australia, Down Under Verse

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 12:29 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

I wrote:
Well the P4 is 2.8GHz and from what I can find on Google the Athalon is either 2.2 or 2.4GHz.

Kazer0 wrote:
Whoever said the P4 was more powerful, never pretend you know what your talking about please.

How was I pretending? I specifically said "from what I could find on Google".


Last edited by The_Sinister_Mastermind on Mon Jan 16, 2006 12:32 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Wally
King of the Carrot Flowers


Offline
Joined: 01 May 2003
Posts: 4643

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 8:19 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Kazer0, my rival,

Did he say he was god?

No, he used google and found those results.

If anything you didnt read it properly Happy

Ah the debates...
Im going with intel, Seeing apple went with them. AMDS just cook.
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:09 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh man Wally, your just sad. Apple went with Intel because Intel is a larger company, not because they are better. It is well known that in the desktop PC marker, Intel is far behind AMD (Mobile on the other hand is the opposite). Not to mention the 2.8ghz Intel chip is outdated by years, and the FX series is among AMDs top-of-the-line products, AMD is a load better in this case.

As well, ghz doesnt mean anything really. ghz is a frequency, not a speed.
Back to top
Wally
King of the Carrot Flowers


Offline
Joined: 01 May 2003
Posts: 4643

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 8:35 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Apple didnt go AMD for several Reasons

1) The chips arent low powered enough to fit apples specifications
2) Celeron chips will not be released for apple.
3) AMD may come into the game soon enough as soon as the chips are low powered

This was taken from a Macworld magazine and all rights are reserved
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2006 9:38 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

If all rights are reserved, then why did you just use it? Excatly.

It is a well known fact that todays AMD processors use less power than todays pentiums.
Back to top
johpower
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 06 Jan 2003
Posts: 428
Location: Colorado North 40

PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:39 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

I gotta go with Kazer0 on this. The AMD is generally = to a 3.4 ghz P4 in PERFORMANCE and runs at a lower core speed, using less power (in most cases) and reducing demands on the motherboard. So, I say the Athlon would be prefered. Congratulatory

I'd like to up the Athlon's RAM since that's the only comparative bottleneck. With 1.5 gb in each, the Athlon should be 20-30% faster in benchmarks.

Apple's (sellout?) deal with Intel is really a resignation the Motorola can't come up with the performance Macs need due to various factors both tech and legal. Mac fans don't like it but their machines will run faster in the long run and likely cost less. AMD versions may be forthcoming. Blissful


Last edited by johpower on Tue Mar 21, 2006 7:17 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
HappyHarvick29
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 21 Jun 2004
Posts: 78
Location: London, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 10:46 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Plus the AMD was using the FX chip. That is an insanely fast and expensive chip. FX Athlon 64bit 3200+ is about 250 CAN.
Back to top
johpower
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 06 Jan 2003
Posts: 428
Location: Colorado North 40

PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 2:47 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Not for long!! Wink
Back to top
WishboneDawn
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 17 Jun 2005
Posts: 69
Location: Eastern Canada

PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 5:14 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm with the AMD crowd. While the P4 is 2.8 GH and the AMD is about 2.2 gh that's deceiving. The model number is roughly a guide to what Intel chip it's comparable to so the 3400 is more a match for a 3.4 GH. The architecture for both chips is very different meaning that AMD can toast the P4 in gaming. Take a look at the front Side Bus for each. For a P4 I think it's around 800 mhz, for the Athlon it should be about 2000 MH. Malevolent If you were using the computer for multi-tasking, then the Intel, with the hyperthreading, might be preferable.

But boy, I'd give an arm for an Athlon 64FX!

I'm on a Sempron 3400 myself...A S939 Sempron with a FSB of 2000mhz. Something I never knew existed before we bought this computer.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)