DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


Master of Magic and Xcom3

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work
Author Message
Letum
Guest






PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2003 8:28 pm     Post subject: Master of Magic and Xcom3 Reply with quote

Master of Magic:
I the gamea to work ok and all but for some reason the SFX seems to totally slow down the game. Most times where the game needs to play a sound effect it halts for a few seconds and then plays the sound.
It works like this with default XP-settings (had to remove dosx though) and it's the same with VDMSound. I've tried lots of different settings in VDMSound. I've tried changing buffer times, tried changing between direct sound and wave etc etc etc.

Any suggestions on how to fix this slowdown? The music works fine I think, but it may have long load times too (you don't really notice it since it plays one long song).

XCom3
With sound on the game gets reeeeaaaaally slow and the sound crackles alot.

Ideas?

Btw, in both games I have made sure I have enough memory and then some.

System:
P4 1400 512 Mb ram
SB-Live!
Windows XP
Back to top
Letum
Guest






PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2003 8:48 pm     Post subject: Another thing... Reply with quote

I have also tried using speedset, it does nothing for me other than speeds up the music (which was the only sound that actually worked right)

/Letum
Back to top
qbix79
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 12 Feb 2003
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2003 7:41 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

master of magic works in dosbox
xcom 3 doesn't
Back to top
Guest







PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2003 11:30 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi man,
Sorry, I donīt have an answer, but my system is almost the same as yours, and MoM wonīt run. It complains about insufficient EMS memory,
but I have set this very high (10MB or so) in the program (MAGIC.EXE) memory properties dialog box, but nada!

Markus
Back to top
486 player
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god


Offline
Joined: 18 Sep 2002
Posts: 1185

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2003 6:07 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Change EMS value to 8 MB.
Back to top
Letum
Guest






PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2003 9:54 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Markus: try typing REM infront of the mscdex, _dosx_ and redir thingies in your autoexec.nt (in windows\system32).

You may need these for some weird windowsprograms, so you might want to create a new identical autoexec.nt-file (and preferably name it something else) and tell magic to use it instead (where you have REM:ed the parts stated above)

To change what auto..-file used, right click the programfile, choose properties, change to the program page and press "Advanced...".

I hope that helps and that you find a sollution to my magic-problem.

Qbix79: completely with working sound and at full speed?
Back to top
qbix79
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 12 Feb 2003
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:55 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Pff how would I know

I ran the game only once. Didn't understand how it works Happy

I can only recommend:
Increase frameskip/cycles
and hope for the best Happy

The speed is limited by your own pc and sound works as far as I know. But if it doesn't. Too bad :0
Back to top
Ragnarok
Guest






PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2003 8:42 pm     Post subject: XCOM3 Reply with quote

I can't get XCOM 3 to work on my machine at all - I used the tips from the dosgames.com webpage and nothing changes. I run the game and it starts up, gets to the DOS 4GW yada yada yada stuff, and then just stops running. Where do I looks next?
Back to top
Glenn
Guest






PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2003 10:02 am     Post subject: Got it to work Reply with quote

I got full sound on master of magic running under windows xp by using VDMS.

Using this version of VDMS:

http://vdmsound.sourceforge.net/files/VDMSLaunchPad.v1.0.1.1.zip.

I set it to directsound and to soundblaster pro2. Then I ran mom's install.exe, set music to adlib and sound effects to sound blaster pro(later).

And there you go!
Back to top
GUEST
Guest






PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2003 11:40 pm     Post subject: MoM SFX issues on Win 98 SE Reply with quote

Ok, I see Win XP users can use VDM utility to get MoM SFX to work.How about for Win 98 SE? I use some Onboard Sound card AC97...you heard of that? Yeah budget stuff.Anyhow, Im looking for a solution to get music/sfx to work under win 98 besides making a dos boot disk.Anyone else run MoM under win 98 with a solution for sfx?

Celebratory
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Get Games to Work All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)