DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


I want to build a 386-system

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware
Author Message
fabiobol
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 3:41 am     Post subject: I want to build a 386-system Reply with quote

I want to build a 386 PC. But... what socket shall I use? I'm trying to find a motherboard for it, but I actuallt don't know if socket 2 and 3 are correct: if I correctly remember, the socket 2 and 3 were for the 486 cpu.
Again, will Windows 95B run on a 386DX-20 MHz, 16 MB RAM, 1 GB SCSI HD, and 2x CD-rom?
Back to top
Frenkel
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 537
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 10:00 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Windows 95B wil run on a 386 with 6MB RAM.
Back to top
fabiobol
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 2:02 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Very good!! But I don't know which socket should I choose... could you help me, please?
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 7:17 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think there was a socket designation for 386 systems.

Anyway try to find a 386 DX 40 motherboard with 8x 30 pin RAM slots, a FPU installed would be nice also.

If the battery is dead and leaking replace it or it will kill the keyboard port.

You will need a Serial mouse (unless you get an old gateway system with PS2 ports).

A Tseng ET4000AX video card chip will work out great (1MB)
Back to top
fabiobol
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:00 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

So, I have to choose a motherboard with a 386DX built-in. Am I right?
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 8:32 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Some are surface mounted (mine is), others have a socket so the CPU can be replaced. It is much easier and cheaper just to find a motherboard and chip installed on ebay then to hunt for each item seperatly.
Back to top
fabiobol
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 2:35 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

If I use a 386-SX, could I try to use Windows 95?
Back to top
Wally
King of the Carrot Flowers


Offline
Joined: 01 May 2003
Posts: 4651

PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 5:40 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

386 would work with 95. I have seen it do so. But its RATHER SLOW
Back to top
Roger
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 07 Jun 2004
Posts: 68
Location: Europe by the Danube

PostPosted: Tue Apr 11, 2006 1:48 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

I remember running Win'95 for the first time on my 386 @ 25Mhz with 4 MB RAM. Man, it was slow. It took 5-10 minutes just to load. It was back in 1996, I think.
I was completely disgusted by the pretentious interface and uninstalled the Windows, returning to my familiar DOS.
Back to top
Haos
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 5:54 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I haven`t seen any 386 - class mobos with replacable CPU... and that`s why there was no socket designated for them.

Why 386? It`s pretty useless class. Really old games will still be too fast, and a whole bunch of newer DOS games (i.e. dos4gw) wont run on it.

Get a P1xx, 64 megs of ram, PCI class system (or better, VIP - Vesa local bus, ISA, PCI). Tseng ET 4xxx or 6xxx PCI series is ideal for graph, as for the sound - SB 16/32/64 (ISA pnp only) and Roland for midi.
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 11:12 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

386 are fine for older games, use the turbo function button to drop a 33/40Mhz part down to 8Mhz if the games run too fast (without rebooting).

P200's are nice for the last DOS era games as stated.

There are 386's that are surface mounted (last generation) but most used a socket (not a ZIF socket like the 486 made popular).

I had to use 3 different machines to cover the DOS era (Tandy 1000HX for the cga stuff, 386/40 for the middle years, and p200mmx for thae latter stuff). Its not just the chip itself that is the problem, you need the correct era sound and video to get the job done also.
Back to top
fabiobol
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2006 4:16 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anybody got a 386??? I live in italy... if someone lives in europe, i will cosider buying a 386-CPU with motherboard!
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)