DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


What should I run on a 286-machine?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware
Author Message
fabiobol
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 11:19 am     Post subject: What should I run on a 286-machine? Reply with quote

I would like to use my AMD 286 again. It has 6 MB RAM, 200 MB Seagate HD, 3,5 inch FDD and 5,25 inch FDD. I would like to go to the internet with an isa-modem, but I can't find any browsers that can run on a 16-bit CPU! Again, what games could I run?
Back to top
WishboneDawn
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 17 Jun 2005
Posts: 69
Location: Eastern Canada

PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 6:24 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Tic Tac toe with a grease marker on the screen?
Back to top
fabiobol
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 8:40 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Shit-Eating Grin Shit-Eating Grin Yes, I know... really, what can I use on it? Some playable games must exist!
Back to top
Wally
King of the Carrot Flowers


Offline
Joined: 01 May 2003
Posts: 4624

PostPosted: Thu Oct 13, 2005 8:37 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a Dos browser around
Back to top
486 player
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god


Offline
Joined: 18 Sep 2002
Posts: 1181

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 2:58 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Internet requires 386.

There are a lot. (Espicially Apogee/Epic Megagames) Download and try.
Back to top
Frenkel
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 535
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 3:33 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Titus the Fox

Quote:
Internet requires 386.

BS!
http://www.fdisk.com/doslynx/
Back to top
fabiobol
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 12:13 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Very good, I will try.
Back to top
fabiobol
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 12:18 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Again.... can any version of Linux run on a 286-machine?
Back to top
Dosser
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 02 Jan 2005
Posts: 462
Location: BEHIND YOU

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2005 7:30 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

might be easier if you just used DOS: I really don't get linux. Its like someone rewrote DOS, and suddenly everyone started talking about how great it was.
Back to top
GameMaster.EXE
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 694
Location: North Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 7:25 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

You can try Windows 3.1 standard mode or just stick with DOS.
Back to top
JKSM
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 531

PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 10:11 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

fabiobol wrote:
Shit-Eating Grin Shit-Eating Grin Yes, I know... really, what can I use on it? Some playable games must exist!

The original Digger game bootable disk was maded to run on 286 CGA graphics only. The excellent remake downloadable on dosgames & other site should be able to run on older machines beside newer machines I think.
Back to top
Wally
King of the Carrot Flowers


Offline
Joined: 01 May 2003
Posts: 4624

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 3:53 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Any virus you can think of as well Shit-Eating Grin
Back to top
Frenkel
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 535
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 5:24 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

fabiobol wrote:
Again.... can any version of Linux run on a 286-machine?


Linux requires a 32 bit processor, like a 386.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Free Windows games


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)