DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


MS-DOS 6 on a Microsoft Network?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware
Author Message
Tombstone
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 01 Jun 2003
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2005 9:31 pm     Post subject: MS-DOS 6 on a Microsoft Network? Reply with quote

I suppose I already know the answer to this, but...

I have an ISA Ethernet card and a PC/AT 386 running DOS6. Is it possible to connect this machine to a Microsoft Windows Peer2Peer Network?

All I want to do is transfer files without doing the floppy-floppy shuffle.
Back to top
Wally
King of the Carrot Flowers


Offline
Joined: 01 May 2003
Posts: 4663

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2005 9:16 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Mate i doubt it. Dos was not built for networking.> Im sure there are programs out there that run network support. Have a look around on google for "Dos Networking"
Back to top
johngUK
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 22
Location: upstairs

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 2:57 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

And it dosen't get much easier in Windows 95 either. I'm trying to set up a peer-to-peer between my Windows XP Home and my Windows 95 comp and i ain't getting anywhere with it.

Of course i'm listening if anyones got any ideas.
Back to top
GameMaster.EXE
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 694
Location: North Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:04 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

johngUK wrote:
And it dosen't get much easier in Windows 95 either. I'm trying to set up a peer-to-peer between my Windows XP Home and my Windows 95 comp and i ain't getting anywhere with it.

Of course i'm listening if anyones got any ideas.


Hmm....interesting. I'll look into that. Right now I'm suspecting the use of outdated software or the fact that communication isn't Win95's best talent. Could you explain the problem in more detail?
Back to top
johngUK
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 22
Location: upstairs

PostPosted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 1:04 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

OK...I'm using the Ethernet ports to set up the peer-to-peer connection. So in my Windows XP i run the Network Setup wizard to configure the connection but then you must do the same on the other machine. The Network Setup wizard will create a floppy which you can use to run the wizard on machines that have Windows 98/98 SE/2000....ect but NOT Windows 95.
And as regards communication not being Win 95' strong point, I disagree because there is a way to do it but the research i have done suggests it is hard to do unless you are experianced in Networking. It's just that Networking in Windows 95 shall we say isn't user friendly.
Whereas of course using the Network Setup Wizard is as easy as 1-2-3.
Back to top
GameMaster.EXE
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 694
Location: North Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 1:11 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Then it must be a compatibility problem. I say it's time to upgrade your Win95 to Win98SE. (Mines too Tbbbbbth! ) There be a version difference between Network Setup or something. But it's definitly a compatibility problem.

Also, I never said Win95 can't communicate (I should know, I'm using Win95) It very well can but it's just that it's not very good at it. Yes, you could say it's not user friendly.
Back to top
johngUK
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 22
Location: upstairs

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 11:37 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Nah i think i'll leave my Win95 pentium as it is. I have a Pentium 2 that i've had since new which has Win98 installed. I have networked it to my XP computer with no probs.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)