DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


SB 16 PCI...can't configure the base I/O.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware
Author Message
Goonch
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 18 Aug 2005
Posts: 6
Location: New Jersey

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 11:38 am     Post subject: SB 16 PCI...can't configure the base I/O. Reply with quote

Hi...this is my first post to these forums, which are great by the way. This is an awesome site.

I haven't touched a DOS game in over 10 years;however, I still saved part of my collection. Now my 8 year old son wants to see what "Dad's games" looked like...pre-Gamecube era.

I'm putting together a new retro machine. It's a pure DOS 6.2 rig...no Windows at all. However, I am having problems installing the soundcard. It's a SB 16 PCI card. The install program just won't let me set my base I/O address, which is 220H by default.

What am I doing wrong? There is nothing else on the mb besides a cheap video card.

HELP !
Back to top
Frenkel
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 536
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 1:36 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

What's wrong with a base I/O address of 220H?
Back to top
Goonch
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 18 Aug 2005
Posts: 6
Location: New Jersey

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 1:51 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Frenkel wrote:
What's wrong with a base I/O address of 220H?


Good question, I have no idea. The install program won't let me set it to that. I don't know why! Is there something that has to be changed in the BIOS?
Back to top
486 player
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god


Offline
Joined: 18 Sep 2002
Posts: 1181

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 2:00 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Doesn't manual/readme say anything?
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9246
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 2:04 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think you do anything wrong, it is that not all older MOBO's works well with SB PCI cards on plain dos, If you have ISA slots try to get an ISA SB 16 , you will not have any problems with such one.
Back to top
Goonch
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 18 Aug 2005
Posts: 6
Location: New Jersey

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 2:26 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

dosraider wrote:
I don't think you do anything wrong, it is that not all older MOBO's works well with SB PCI cards on plain dos, If you have ISA slots try to get an ISA SB 16 , you will not have any problems with such one.


That is a good suggestion!

It is an old mb and it does have three ISA slots. I will pick up an old ISA sound card and try it out.

Thanks!
Back to top
Wally
King of the Carrot Flowers


Offline
Joined: 01 May 2003
Posts: 4625

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:24 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

What games are you planning to install onto this machine?
Back to top
Goonch
Newbie
Newbie


Offline
Joined: 18 Aug 2005
Posts: 6
Location: New Jersey

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 7:03 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Wally*Won_Kenobie wrote:
What games are you planning to install onto this machine?


I have a whole bunch. Some are:

- Alone in the Dark
- Sim City 2000
- Tie Fighter
- Ultima VII
- X-com Terror from the Deep
- Blake Stone
- Doom
- Doom 2
- Syndicate

+ many more
Back to top
GameMaster.EXE
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 694
Location: North Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2005 12:49 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah yes, Doom. Such a classic.

Killer idea:
Install WinME which comes with DOS 8.0, the last of it's kind. Then remove WinME (such a terrible OS.) and poof, you have pure DOS. Might not work, but give it a try.
Back to top
dr_st
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 347
Location: Absorbed into Clayface

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 4:13 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

GameMaster.EXE wrote:
Ah yes, Doom. Such a classic.

Killer idea:
Install WinME which comes with DOS 8.0, the last of it's kind. Then remove WinME (such a terrible OS.) and poof, you have pure DOS. Might not work, but give it a try.


Please stop talking if you don't know what you're talking about.
Back to top
GameMaster.EXE
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 694
Location: North Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 4:22 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

You have a problem with me? Come and get a beating of a lifetime Violent
Back to top
dr_st
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 347
Location: Absorbed into Clayface

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 4:24 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

GameMaster.EXE wrote:
You have a problem with me? Come and get a beating of a lifetime Violent


Nope, no problem with you. Just with the nonsense you sometimes spew. Shit-Eating Grin
Back to top
GameMaster.EXE
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 694
Location: North Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 4:34 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

dr_st wrote:
GameMaster.EXE wrote:
You have a problem with me? Come and get a beating of a lifetime Violent


Nope, no problem with you. Just with the nonsense you sometimes spew. Shit-Eating Grin


What you call "nonsense" I call "idea", and what I call "idea" may be flawed, but you don't have to rub it in my face. Be nicer next time and point out what's wrong.

Back to topic, please.
Back to top
dr_st
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 347
Location: Absorbed into Clayface

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 5:34 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I will be nicer when you throw around your ideas more carefully. If you don't really know how things work, you shouldn't suggest what's to be done with them. It triggers mean responses from jerks like me.

Anyhow, there is no such thing as "DOS 8.0". It's an unofficial name to the core system files that Windows ME runs on, just like Windows 98 runs on "DOS 7.10". The difference is that in WinME Microsoft has intentially crippled DOS access - basically you have no pure DOS mode. There is a way to bring it back through an unofficial third party patch, I remember reading about it many years ago. But it's simpler and better to go with Win95/98/SE to begin with.
Back to top
GameMaster.EXE
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 694
Location: North Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 5:59 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

dr_st wrote:
I will be nicer when you throw around your ideas more carefully. If you don't really know how things work, you shouldn't suggest what's to be done with them. It triggers mean responses from jerks like me.

Anyhow, there is no such thing as "DOS 8.0". It's an unofficial name to the core system files that Windows ME runs on, just like Windows 98 runs on "DOS 7.10". The difference is that in WinME Microsoft has intentially crippled DOS access - basically you have no pure DOS mode. There is a way to bring it back through an unofficial third party patch, I remember reading about it many years ago. But it's simpler and better to go with Win95/98/SE to begin with.


Jeez, you could have just said that earlier.

And I wasn't suggesting anything, it was just an idea......
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)