DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


A few games questions

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Game Help, Hints and Tips
Author Message
alban lusitanae
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 13 Aug 2005
Posts: 28
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 6:20 am     Post subject: A few games questions Reply with quote

Greetings. I'm a newb here, although I have posted as a guest helping people to accelerate in F117 SF. Happy

Anyway, I have a problem with Fighter Bomber. When I choose a mission, I go to arm the plane and then I press END and it returns to mission selection. What is happening? What do I have to do to make it work? I don't understand... Everything is working fine n my DosBox 0.63 and WinXP, no problems there.

Thx
Back to top
alban lusitanae
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 13 Aug 2005
Posts: 28
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 10:18 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Help? Sad
Back to top
alban lusitanae
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 13 Aug 2005
Posts: 28
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 8:36 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Well thx anyway... Upset
Back to top
GameMaster.EXE
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 694
Location: North Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 8:54 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Why would you be pressing end? Perphaps that is the problem........ Sarcastic
Back to top
alban lusitanae
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 13 Aug 2005
Posts: 28
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 12:38 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

because in amiga, that's how we conclude the armament phase and step to the cockpit.

I tried clicking everywhere on the screen and it just doesn't go on. If you anyone who can help, post here. Thanks. Happy
Back to top
GameMaster.EXE
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 694
Location: North Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 1:03 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I see.......
I've never used amiga before and I'm not famiailer with it. Sorry, I'm the wrong guy to ask. Wink
Back to top
alban lusitanae
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 13 Aug 2005
Posts: 28
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 1:09 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't need to be familiar with it Happy I just need to know how to pass the damn arming screen. Hope somebody takes it out of the net and helps me out on this one... Wink
Back to top
GameMaster.EXE
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 694
Location: North Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 1:11 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Could it be that your copy of the game is shareware?
Back to top
alban lusitanae
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 13 Aug 2005
Posts: 28
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 1:17 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

not really, it would say so. besides, I took it from the best abandonware site around (no offense to this one, of course) and all games are full, or they are not posted at all.

If you like MK, BTW, may I suggest Moonstone? Happy
Back to top
GameMaster.EXE
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 694
Location: North Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 1:27 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

alban lusitanae wrote:
not really, it would say so. besides, I took it from the best abandonware site around (no offense to this one, of course) and all games are full, or they are not posted at all.


Dosgames.com does not host abandonware. Only freeware and shareware.

Just so you know.
Back to top
alban lusitanae
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 13 Aug 2005
Posts: 28
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 1:33 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

as I said Wink I have a lot of pages that host many freegames, more than are here. I wonder why they don't up the game count Happy
Back to top
alban lusitanae
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 13 Aug 2005
Posts: 28
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 1:34 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

BTW what's with the dosraider bash? I'm a newb Benevolent
Back to top
GameMaster.EXE
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 694
Location: North Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 1:40 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Dosraider is another member here. Ok, back to the topic. You were saying.......?
Back to top
alban lusitanae
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 13 Aug 2005
Posts: 28
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 2:24 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

ok sorry i asked
Back to top
Wally
King of the Carrot Flowers


Offline
Joined: 01 May 2003
Posts: 4627

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 9:16 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

it sounds like you have a corrupt or read only file.. I do suggest trying to remove the readonly option as followed:

1. highlight all the stuff in the folder
2. right click on any file and press properties
3. if read only is checked or is a light grey in color un select it..
4. Appy
5. Retry running the game

IF this fails i should suggest redownloading the game as sometimes abandonware doesnt always work . If you got it from www.the-underdogs.org well this might be the case. If not try that site and see how you go
Back to top
alban lusitanae
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 13 Aug 2005
Posts: 28
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 6:56 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Thx WWK, I'll try and see if that works. BTW, when (amd if) I find what is going on, do you wish me to post it here so that you can add it to a sticker?
Back to top
Wally
King of the Carrot Flowers


Offline
Joined: 01 May 2003
Posts: 4627

PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 9:01 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Just post your results Happy
Back to top
alban lusitanae
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 13 Aug 2005
Posts: 28
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 1:48 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm afraid I have bad news to me. Sad

Nothing has worked. I even took the game from 5 different sites, one of them being the underdogs, and I can't start the missions. I'm desperate. Soon I'll abandon this game. There is no use. I still have many simulators around... Sad
Back to top
dosraider
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 9257
Location: ROTFLMAO in Belgium.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 3:24 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

It is more that there aren't any missions shipped with the game(rip ?).You can check that in the games folder, missions are stored as *.MSN files.
What you can do is create your own missions.
Choose "DESIGNER" in the main menu.
->select your airbase
->add targets and stuff....(sam/comando/whatever and-or refuel points)
->after you have created your mission select "DISKMENU"->save->drive C->give it a (short!) name.(it will be saved in your games dir)
From then your mission is aviable from the main menu under "USER MISSION"-->>"SELECT"
You can create as many missions as you wish,and share you files with others.


Don't forget to release your wheel brakes, or you will not be able to take off.
Back to top
alban lusitanae
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 13 Aug 2005
Posts: 28
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 1:19 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I'l be... Confuzzled You are absolutely correct! There aren't any! Why in the name of the Gods are The Underdogs providing the game then?! That's piracy! I'll check it out if I make missions or not. Thanks DR.

QUOTE
Don't forget to release your wheel brakes, or you will not be able to take off.

Come on DosRaider, I'm not a newb in flight simulators, I mean... Wink Laughing Finished almost a dozen of the ancient ones and much of the modern (in fact, my record is ending the EuroFighter 2000 campaign in 6 missions) Happy

I just wish this game fighter bombert wasn't so unrealistic, BTW... a bit like F-117 Upset
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Game Help, Hints and Tips All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Free Windows games


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)