DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


Herman, my DOS machine

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware
Author Message
johpower
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 06 Jan 2003
Posts: 428
Location: Colorado North 40

PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2003 10:46 pm     Post subject: Herman, my DOS machine Reply with quote

Full Tower 300 watt case, 486 DX4-133, 64mb, 2 x 540mb drives (no compression), Adaptec SCSI 1540 card w/2 x 2gb SCSI FH drives in external storage, 4mb S3 video card, 4x CDROM, Turtle Beach Tropez+ sound (12mb samples) hooked to 1979 Yamaha 810 sterio amp w/4 speakers (2 x 3-way mains, 2 x 2-way ambience), 21" NEC monitor, Gravis gamepad or Flightstick joystick. Comfy chair. 2 dozen DOS manuals, some not cracked in 4 years. All was bought at auction cheap or handed down to me free over past 5 years. TA-DA!! Shit-Eating Grin
Back to top
Da_Goat
Moderator
Moderator


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 2026
Location: Prescott, Arizona, USA, Earth, The Milky Way, The Universe, Nothing and Nowhere.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2003 11:24 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got a cool idea: give it to me!
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Fri Jan 24, 2003 11:12 pm     Post subject: Re: Herman, my DOS machine Reply with quote

johpower wrote:
Full Tower 300 watt case, 486 DX4-133, 64mb, 2 x 540mb drives (no compression), Adaptec SCSI 1540 card w/2 x 2gb SCSI FH drives in external storage, 4mb S3 video card, 4x CDROM, Turtle Beach Tropez+ sound (12mb samples) hooked to 1979 Yamaha 810 sterio amp w/4 speakers (2 x 3-way mains, 2 x 2-way ambience), 21" NEC monitor, Gravis gamepad or Flightstick joystick. Comfy chair. 2 dozen DOS manuals, some not cracked in 4 years. All was bought at auction cheap or handed down to me free over past 5 years. TA-DA!! Shit-Eating Grin


How does that rig play the real old dos games or the later era games?

I think you really need 2 dos game rigs anymore. A 286/s86sx for the real old games and the p233mmx for last generation dos games. Anything in the middle can be too slow for some games and too fast for others.
Back to top
johpower
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 06 Jan 2003
Posts: 428
Location: Colorado North 40

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2003 6:10 pm     Post subject: d'Idea? Reply with quote

Da_Goat wrote:
I've got a cool idea: give it to me!


Sorry to be gone a week. So.... what's the cool word dude?
Back to top
johpower
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 06 Jan 2003
Posts: 428
Location: Colorado North 40

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2003 6:26 pm     Post subject: Re: Herman, my DOS machine Reply with quote

Unknown_K wrote:
johpower wrote:
Full Tower 300 watt case, 486 DX4-133, 64mb, 2 x 540mb drives (no compression), Adaptec SCSI 1540 card w/2 x 2gb SCSI FH drives in external storage, 4mb S3 video card, 4x CDROM, Turtle Beach Tropez+ sound (12mb samples) hooked to 1979 Yamaha 810 sterio amp w/4 speakers (2 x 3-way mains, 2 x 2-way ambience), 21" NEC monitor, Gravis gamepad or Flightstick joystick. Comfy chair. 2 dozen DOS manuals, some not cracked in 4 years. All was bought at auction cheap or handed down to me free over past 5 years. TA-DA!! Shit-Eating Grin


How does that rig play the real old dos games or the later era games?

I think you really need 2 dos game rigs anymore. A 286/s86sx for the real old games and the p233mmx for last generation dos games. Anything in the middle can be too slow for some games and too fast for others.


Well, it runs Reach For The Stars (RFTS), Empire, Great Naval Battles, Warloards I/II/III and Civilization I pretty well. I have two 386DX-40 (AMD) w/math co boards and a Radio Shack 1100 (8088-8mhz) doorstop I could still use if there was a real problem. So far none.

I kept the 386's when I discovered NASA uses up to 386 level machines for sats because they have big fat traces that withstand radiation and micrometiorite damage pretty well and still have some speed. Supposedly the only powerful CPU's in space are in laptops some astronauts bring up for use in better shielded areas. Maybe we need to send the next STS mission some Space Invaders or RFTS to relax with! Laughing
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2003 8:17 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Do any of those 386 boards have a ps2 mouse header by chance? I need to find a motherboard that has one for my KVM. sucks having so many mice on my desk.


Might be buying a gateway 386sx because it has the needed ps2 ports but I really just need a motherboard with ps2 ability.
Back to top
johpower
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 06 Jan 2003
Posts: 428
Location: Colorado North 40

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2003 5:28 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Unknown_K wrote:
Do any of those 386 boards have a ps2 mouse header by chance? I need to find a motherboard that has one for my KVM. sucks having so many mice on my desk.


Might be buying a gateway 386sx because it has the needed ps2 ports but I really just need a motherboard with ps2 ability.


Unfortunately, I don't think so. I'll diggem up soon and have a closer look. If they surprise me I'll give a ring. Any reason you have to get that Gateway beyond the mouse? There are plenty of serial-ps2 converters in the world.
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2003 5:35 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I liked the look of the Gateway designed cases.

Converters dont work, cant feed a ps2 signal from a kvm to a serial port.
Back to top
computer_person
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 14 Apr 2003
Posts: 26
Location: Wherever,but mostly on the Internet

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2003 3:28 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

johpower wrote:
Full Tower 300 watt case, 486 DX4-133, 64mb, 2 x 540mb drives (no compression), Adaptec SCSI 1540 card w/2 x 2gb SCSI FH drives in external storage, 4mb S3 video card, 4x CDROM, Turtle Beach Tropez+ sound (12mb samples) hooked to 1979 Yamaha 810 sterio amp w/4 speakers (2 x 3-way mains, 2 x 2-way ambience), 21" NEC monitor, Gravis gamepad or Flightstick joystick. Comfy chair. 2 dozen DOS manuals, some not cracked in 4 years. All was bought at auction cheap or handed down to me free over past 5 years. TA-DA!! Shit-Eating Grin


That's cool! I wish I could buy that. Would work better than my crappy computer.
Back to top
John The Ax
Moderator
Moderator


Offline
Joined: 15 Sep 2002
Posts: 1476
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2003 4:01 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you the guy on the old forum who we made fun of for naming his computer?
Back to top
johpower
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 06 Jan 2003
Posts: 428
Location: Colorado North 40

PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2003 5:59 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

John The Ax wrote:
Are you the guy on the old forum who we made fun of for naming his computer?


The "old forum"? Nope, not me. Actually I name my hard drives (by label) which makes them easy to sort out, even when they've not been used for some time. This PC alone has 2 IDE and 4 SCSI drives (currently IDE: Herman, George. SCSI: Amy, Mabel, Ida and Zelda), so you can see it's handy.

(Trace by trace, server by server, the ghost of 8088 Herman came looking for the one called The Ax. Over his shoulder the clicking of ancient Seagate 225's would be sometimes be heard, ever just beyond the last site, just about to come upon him in a dark URL. Quickly The Ax would move on, but never quite far enough, never to rest, never to rest... Malevolent )
Back to top
Tombstone
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 01 Jun 2003
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2003 12:46 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

I still end up having to use CPU killers and RAMDisks to hobble my DOS Box enough to play my favorite oldskool games...

Don't even ask what hoops I had to jump through to get Pirates! Gold to run...

Thank God for MS-DOS v6.x and the DOS Configuration Menu. No more stupid Boot Floppies cluttering up my desk...
Back to top
johpower
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 06 Jan 2003
Posts: 428
Location: Colorado North 40

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2003 5:22 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Any luck with simply turning off the "turbo" switch? If you have no external switch you can make one. Nearly all mobos your age have turbo pins on them. A spare single throw switch and two insulated wire leads to the pins will cover the parts list. (You can canibalize a switch and wire set from a junker PC case as an easier solution). Some machines allowed a key combo to set turbo speed at boot or on the fly.
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2003 9:10 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

My old 386/40 can be turned to run at 8mhz via turbo switch. Thats slow enough to run about anything.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)