DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


Tell us about your computer!
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 13, 14, 15  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware
Author Message
Thunderdog
Token Black Guy
<b>Token Black Guy</b>


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 1738
Location: Southeastern Japan

PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2003 12:39 pm     Post subject: Tell us about your computer! Reply with quote

I have a PII 400 w/ 128 MB ram (today, I'll upgrade to 256) and 8 MB video card. 3 Hard drives:A 1.5 GB, a 1.2 GB, and a 500 MB. Modem:56K Monitor type:HitachiFuck you, you 12 year old shitface.

2.0 GHz AMD Athlon 64 3000+, 512 MB DDR2 RAM, 32 MB nVidia Geforce 2 (Ignore that), 120 GB Seagate HDD, and an awesome, cheap Raidmax case with a stock power supply which will likely burn out soon. http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1786784&CatId=1509


Last edited by Thunderdog on Sat Jun 16, 2007 12:10 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
Bobo
Moderator
Moderator


Offline
Joined: 10 Oct 2002
Posts: 846
Location: Twilight Zone

PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2003 1:56 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a PII 350 w/ 128 MB ram and 32 MB video card. 1 Hard drive: 10 GIG Modem:56K Monitor type:DELL
Back to top
Thunderdog
Token Black Guy
<b>Token Black Guy</b>


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 1738
Location: Southeastern Japan

PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2003 2:48 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm supposed to be getting a 10 GB soon, so I can copy all the files on my other drives onto it, and then put a burner and DVD in
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2003 10:46 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah! Now i see it..... Well my specs for all my pcs are in the general dosgames area under some topic..... It needs to be moved here. The specs for my present computer are yet somewhere else. The moderator might want to move some posts here......
Back to top
Da_Goat
Moderator
Moderator


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 2026
Location: Prescott, Arizona, USA, Earth, The Milky Way, The Universe, Nothing and Nowhere.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2003 11:19 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Here goes: 16 MB Vid Card, AMD Athlon 1.4 GHz processor, 128 RAM, 1 40 Gig HD, Modem: Cable (and I think I have a 56k modem too, but I don't use it, obviously), Monitor emachines (ooh, behold the green 'e').
Back to top
486 player
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god


Offline
Joined: 18 Sep 2002
Posts: 1183

PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2003 5:59 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Intel 486 DX2 66 MHz
20 MB RAM
407 MB HD
50x CD-ROM
A Sound blaster clone with AdLib, Windows Sound System and SB Pro mode or support.
ISA Cirrus Logic CL-54xx VESA 1 MB
3,5" Floppy drive
3-button mouse
18" CRT Monitor


Last edited by 486 player on Sun Jun 01, 2014 10:38 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
webmaster from hell
Guest






PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2003 6:31 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Intel Pentium MMX 200Mhz
160 MB Ram (upgraded from 75mb)
ATI Rage II+ Onboard Video
Soundblaster Compatable onboard sound
Mortorola 56K modem (replaced stock 28.8 modem)
USB Hub
48X CD-Rom Drive (Replaced old slow stock cd-rom)
Stock 1.44 mb floppy drive
DX 8.0 (Direct 3D doesn't work, corrupted or something)
Computer type: Gateway 2000, circa 1997
Windows 98 non SE

monitor: Gateway 2000 EV500, SVGA

Microsoft Sidewinder 3D Pro Joystick
Microsoft optical mouse
Stock speakers (pretty good)






if I can think of anything else, ill add here
Back to top
Thunderdog
Token Black Guy
<b>Token Black Guy</b>


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 1738
Location: Southeastern Japan

PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2003 6:59 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

I laugh at your petty joystick. I've got a force feedback
Back to top
webmaster from hell
Guest






PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2003 7:12 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got a force feedback around here somewhere too, but for most games I prefer the non force feedback. SoI listed theone I really use.
Back to top
wardrich
"Some Troll"


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 3945
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:14 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

well...

computer 1: Good all around (almost)

P1 133mHz
6Gigs
16mb video card
unknown sound card (soundblaster 16?)


computer 2: Definatly not a dos computer Sad

P4 2.2gHz
40Gigs
32mB video card
unknown sound card


computer 3: Good ol computer

All i know about this is that it is a TANDY, it uses the Deskmate OS, its internal memory is JUST big enuf to store the OS. All games run off of 3.5 floppies, but it does thave an old B drive in it tho.
Back to top
Thunderdog
Token Black Guy
<b>Token Black Guy</b>


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 1738
Location: Southeastern Japan

PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2003 9:52 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

wardrich wrote:

old B drive


** 5 & inch Wink
Back to top
wardrich
"Some Troll"


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 3945
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2003 4:49 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

ah thx, i can never remember that
Back to top
Oz
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 15 Sep 2002
Posts: 581
Location: London, UK.

PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2003 11:36 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, i have one compute, and old parts from the upgrade.

i used to have a p3 933 mhz, w/ a dvd drive, cd burner, good ati graphics card, 19 inch screen, etc... but then, i went to Hong Kong.

i got a new motherboard, 1.8 GHz processor, 512 megs of ram, and a new hard disk drive (60gigs). i went home, installed all the parts, and then realised that i had forgotten the graphics card.
Crying Crying Crying

oh well, it's pretty good. i'm gona set up a new computer from all of the old parts just around the corner from the current one, network them, and play quake with my dad all day long...
Back to top
johpower
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 06 Jan 2003
Posts: 428
Location: Colorado North 40

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2003 6:33 pm     Post subject: Cool 50mhz? Reply with quote

486 player wrote:
Intel 486 DX 50 MHz
20 MB RAM
407 MB HD
4x CD-ROM
A Sound blaster clone (I think) with AdLib, Windows Sound System and SB Pro mode or support.
ISA Cirrus Logic
3,5" Floppy drive


Is that an honest-to-dog real full 50mhz chip or a DX2 chip? If the real mccoy, hat's off. Fastest machine of the old school!! But AMD's DX-40 gave you a good run for the money. Wink
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2003 8:23 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

a 486 DX 50 non dx/2 is very rare.. and would make the VLB bus run at 50 mhz speeding up any hd and video card on the bus considerably (assuming they would even run that high, alot dont)

I had a cyrix 486-dx40 and it was the last processor I owned that didnt need a fan on the heatsink. Do you guys remember back when there were no fans inside your computer (except the silent PS fan)? My XP athlon heatsink/fan can be heard very clearly even with the tv running.
Back to top
486 player
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god


Offline
Joined: 18 Sep 2002
Posts: 1183

PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2003 6:22 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Ol' 4ies has only ISA buses.
Back to top
Amro
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 24 Sep 2002
Posts: 479
Location: nth world

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2003 12:57 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

2 computers...

"Main" computer: Compaq Computer
1GHz AMD Athlon
64MB Video Card
128MB SDRAM (will upgrade soon)
SoundMAX Sound
Ethernet Adapter (Wind River Systems modem, Verizon DSL)
40GB Hard Drive

Secondary Computer: Custom Made
PIII 504Mhz
128MB Ram
16MB Video Card
Ethernet Adapter with WRS Modem (same as above, but I can connect only one at a time.)
10GB Hard Drive.
Back to top
Amro
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 24 Sep 2002
Posts: 479
Location: nth world

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2003 1:01 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

oh yeah my Athlon runs xp and piii runs win2k
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2003 1:04 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

watch the double posts
Back to top
Da_Goat
Moderator
Moderator


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 2026
Location: Prescott, Arizona, USA, Earth, The Milky Way, The Universe, Nothing and Nowhere.

PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2003 2:05 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't see a double post....
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 13, 14, 15  Next
Page 1 of 15

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)