DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
NEW! DOSGames.com has been massively upgraded to v2.0 with TONS of new features!
Check out the new design and dozens of new features including online play!


Tell us about your computer!
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 13, 14, 15  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware
Author Message
Winger2
Expert
Expert


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 152

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2003 10:30 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

okay I have an awesome old packard bell..but I can not for the life of me figure out where to check the specs...any advice?
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2003 10:41 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

If your running dos type MSD.exe and it should give you some basic specs like mouse/memory/processor etc
Back to top
Dogbreath
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 4627
Location: In the back of a jacked-up Ford.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2003 1:30 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php <-if you want to know EVERYTHING about your computer, try that.
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2003 1:49 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Dogbreath wrote:
http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php <-if you want to know EVERYTHING about your computer, try that.


I am sure that windows app will work great on a dos machine.

Laughing
Back to top
Dogbreath
Admin
Admin


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 4627
Location: In the back of a jacked-up Ford.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2003 5:10 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Haha! No, I assume that he has windows running on it... if not, then try what Unknown_K said.
Back to top
jmmijo
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 224
Location: PDX

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2003 9:29 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I still have an old DOS version of PC Tools Deluxe. I do beleive it too has a tool like MSD Wink
Back to top
Guest







PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2003 11:18 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

486dx2 66mzh
4mb ram
52x cdrom
soundblaster16
Back to top
Dopefish
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 29 Aug 2003
Posts: 371
Location: West Hartford, CT

PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2003 9:32 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the following:
_____________________
486DX 50mHz (I know, weird speed)
16MB RAM
SVGA video
Soundblaster 16
_____________________
Pentium I 90mHz
1GB HDD
*I don't remember the rest of the info, it stopped working a while ago
_____________________
Pentium II, unkown speed
64MB RAM
ATI Rage-128 video card
*I don't remember the rest
_____________________
Pentium III 450mHz
128MB RAM
GeForce 4 MX 440
Yamaha DS-XG onboard sound
8.5GB HDD
_____________________
Apple IIe (platinum) 1mHz
128K RAM
Composite video
Internal speaker
(2) 5.5 floppy drives (no hard drive)
Mouse
Back to top
Joris
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 27 Jul 2003
Posts: 390
Location: the Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2003 12:08 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

My comp:

AMD Duron 1300 Mhz
256 Mb RAM
40 Gb Harddisk
8 Mb 3D card <-- yes I know... it itsn't the best one...
WinXP
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2003 2:17 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey joris, I jsut updated my video card. It WAS a ATi Rage XL 8mb, and before that, an ATi 3D Rage II + DVD 2mb card, and that was only 6 monthes ago. Behold the power of my new GeForce 2 MX 400 64mb card!
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2003 6:02 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Would you please cut down on its size? Try using <font size="-2">.
Back to top
OddTodd
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 12
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2003 3:24 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's the computer I'm stuck with.

1.8 Ghz processor
60 gig hard drive
64 mb GeForce 4 MX 420
POS Intergrated sound card
ATI TV Wonder VE TV Tuner
256 mb Ram (I will be updating to 512 for christmas)
52x CD RW Drive
30X DVD Rom and CDRW Drive

I know it's not great, but it does whatever I need it too.
Back to top
denrix
*Special*
<font color=CC00CC><i>*Special*</font>


Offline
Joined: 30 Sep 2003
Posts: 456

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2003 3:35 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Oddtodd: I got a pentium celeron 466 mhz with 8.7 GBs, 64MB ram. Wanna swap?
Laughing
Back to top
OddTodd
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 10 Jun 2003
Posts: 12
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2003 3:37 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

No, that's ok. Cool
Back to top
denrix
*Special*
<font color=CC00CC><i>*Special*</font>


Offline
Joined: 30 Sep 2003
Posts: 456

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2003 3:42 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

lol
I thought so.
Moral of the story: Always be happy with what you got.
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2003 1:51 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Ha ha, denrix, mines better than yours. Look in my sig.
Back to top
Guest







PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2003 10:21 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Computer 1
P4 3.06 Ghz
512 MB Ram
120 GB hard drive
128 mb Geforce 4 mx 440 graphics card
48X cd-rw
16X dvd

Computer 2
P 75 Mhz
8 MB Ram
1.5 GB hard drive
4X cd drive
(I use this one for old Dos and Win95 games)
Back to top
Splodginator
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 23 Apr 2003
Posts: 558
Location: Nowhere.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2003 11:55 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I've upgraded mine:

1.1 GHz Intel Celeron
Intel 82810 Motherboard
HP Pavillion mx50 Speakers
126MB SDRAM
2 HP Generic Speakers.
Cable Modem
"Windows" XP
20.4 (14.4) GB Ultra DMA HDD
HP CD-Writer Plus
HP Generic Keyboard
HP Generic Mouse
GeForce 4 MX440-SE
Back to top
Guest







PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 10:37 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, this is more like the opposite of Bragging, but heres the output of my Sysinfo Xchat script:

<Zaphod`> CPU: Mobile Pentium MMX @ 234 MHz | Mem usage: 18.9/45.3 mb (42%) | Swap usage: 23.4/204.4 mb (11%) | Disk usage(IBM-DTCA-24090): 2.7/3.7 gb (73%) | Uptime: 56 mins 45 secs


Stuff Sysinfo cant tell you: The LCD is broken. I'm using Redhat Linux 9.
Back to top
Zaphod`
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 11
Location: Massachusetts, USA, Earth, Sol System, Milky Way, Alpha Cluster, 3rd Dimension.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2003 10:46 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

That was me.

Whew, twice in one day. I'm batting 1000.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4 ... 13, 14, 15  Next
Page 3 of 15

 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)