DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


The Right HardStuff
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware
Author Message
johpower
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 06 Jan 2003
Posts: 428
Location: Colorado North 40

PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2003 8:40 pm     Post subject: The Right HardStuff Reply with quote

Like to see some consideration of what's the optimal DOS machine. I bet most of us have a 2nd or 3rd machine just to run DOS w/o headaches from Windoze. Maybe even a few are using Linux2DOS emulation for stability (haven't tried this myself yet but heard good things). For me this 2nd machine is a 486 DX4-133 w/64mb RAM. I have parts for a Pent 200 non-MMX that would help alot due to it's 5x better math-co core, among other things. I doubt it will be as compatable with some of my games, however. I'm about to put a Turkle Beach Tropez Plus (12mb samples!) sound card in the 486 (since it refuses to co-hab in the Celeron 500 running Win98se). Any comments? Cool
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Mon Jan 13, 2003 11:00 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I have 2 dos machines at the moment (and a few spare parts)

DOS #1.

386SX/33 4mb, 500MB HD, Orchid Farenheight 1280 VRAM 1MB ISA, Sound Blaster PRO 2.0 10x CDROM

DOS #2.

P200MMX, 24MB Ram, 512k Cache, Riva 128 4mb PCI, Sound Blaster 16 PnP + DBX50 Yamaha Waveblaster addon, Gravis Ultrasound PnP w/8mb for samples, 32x cdrom

Extra parts:
Soundblaster Pro 2.0
Gravis Ultrasound Classic .5MB (going in 386 when I can get them both to work)
Ensoniq Soundscape
Ensonic Soundscape VIVO PnP (might go in p200 if I can find it an IRQ)


DOS Box #1 will play any of the real old dos games , or at least the ones I have tried

DOS Box #2 plays the last generation of DOS games at high resolution since it has VESA 3.0 bios on the video card (Might get a voodoo 1 card)

The key I think for a dos gaming box is to have the best sound/video card for each generation of hardware to get the most out of the games.
Many games were written that sound excellent on the Gravis Ultrasound in standard or MT-32 emulation that sound crappy on a soundblaster. Some cards that emulate the SB Pro play games in mono when they will play in stereo on a real SB Pro 2. I would like to get a Roland Soundcard but they cost way too much and are rare to find even on EBAY.

Good luck running older dos games on newer systems without alot of work in slowing the system down so you dont get timing errors.

I now have 4 PC's in my room to cover gaming from early dos to present (a p400 128MB with a TNT1 and Dual Voodoo 2's (SLI) for early dx and glide games) (a XP1500+ 512mb ddr, ATI 9000, SQ2500 etc for latest games) all running on a 19" Sony 420GS and Boston speakers from 1 Belkin SOHO KVM switch.

BTW Ebay is your friends for older parts for DOS machines, same thing goes for the Forsale newsgroups.

IF I forgot to mention some hardware that would enhance my system let me know.
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2003 10:36 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, here I go again..... kazer0 likes computers.......

I currently have 6, yes thats right, 6 computers. However, I took them all apart (except for a mac, the one im on now). I will give you an overall kinda thing going on (meaning, all my parts. i continually put them together in different orders.)

Cases:

Olivetti m300 and m400 (flat at)
Dell(2) Unknowns(at tower and flat)
Mac Color Classic II (mac)
and an unknown (tower AT)

Proc:

PII MMX 266 mhz
PI
386
286
Unknown (It came on a non working motherboard. i never tried it. Im guessing 486)
Mac (whatever that is)

RAM:

192 mb SD-RAM
16mb SD-RAM
4mb RAM
8mb Ram
Unknown
Unknown (Mac)

Modems:

1920
28.8
36.6
56k
DSL

HD:

16 gb
11 gb
40 mb
100 mb
250 mb
Unknown (Motherboard partitioned)
70 mb (Mac)
(*Yes, I knoe its 7, the 16gb is a spare.*)

Disc:

1.44 mb 3.5" floppy (6)
CD-ROM (1)
5 1/4" 1.2 mb Floppy (1)

Video:

ATI 3D Rage Pro II + DVD (2 mb)
Rage XL (Cant get it to work with windows! its a 2002 card!)
Oak Technologies VGA (1 mb)
Mac Integrated
Some old crappy olivetti Cards....

Moniters:

SVGA Samsung SyncMaster 500b
Black and White Olivetti (2)

Sound:

Soundblaster 16 + AWE (2)
Mac Integrated Sound

Joystick:

Liang Pro Pc Pad, 16 buttons

Extra:

Sterio Hooked up to my PC
HAD a microphone, but my sis has it now.
Mac integrated microphone.
DSL Networking (Wireless)

And i think tahts it......
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2003 10:41 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I never said I have just 4 computers.. my list is large and includes macs (68k and ppc) c64,128,amiga,etc....

too many parts to list
Back to top
johpower
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 06 Jan 2003
Posts: 428
Location: Colorado North 40

PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2003 11:02 pm     Post subject: Hardware forum works! Reply with quote

Glad to see the Hardware forum is doing it's job so soon..... getting out the "what works for what" word! Cool

Last edited by johpower on Sat Jan 25, 2003 6:43 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2003 11:10 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Send a PM to Dogbreath or the Moderator of this forum, itll go faster.
Back to top
Da_Goat
Moderator
Moderator


Offline
Joined: 14 Sep 2002
Posts: 2026
Location: Prescott, Arizona, USA, Earth, The Milky Way, The Universe, Nothing and Nowhere.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2003 11:42 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Stupid Admins....Mods are where it's at! Yeah, yeah, I moved it Cool
Back to top
486 player
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god


Offline
Joined: 18 Sep 2002
Posts: 1179

PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2003 6:06 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

486 DX2 66 MHz
32 MB RAM
VESA Local Bus display card
DOS 6.22
Reset and Turbo buttons (No Mo'Slo!!! Celebratory )
3 button mouse
21" monitor
Sound Blaster 16/32
Stereos

To most CGA games 8086
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Fri Jan 24, 2003 11:15 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

486 player wrote:
486 DX2 66 MHz
32 MB RAM
VESA Local Bus display card
DOS 6.22
Reset and Turbo buttons (No Mo'Slo!!! Celebratory )
3 button mouse
21" monitor
Sound Blaster 16/32
Stereos

To most CGA games 8086


What monitor? 21" for dos games means you can see each pixel Laughing

I love my 19" 4220GS sony monitor, too bad SONY isnt making ANY crt monitors smaller then 21" anymore since its not worth their time ((better snag one of them cheap 19" monitors now before they are gone).
Back to top
Oz
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 15 Sep 2002
Posts: 581
Location: London, UK.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2003 10:45 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

yep, i'd give anything for my ol' 486 dx2 50 Mhz, it's 14" screen was perfect for anything, it even did 1024*768, imagine that on a 14"...
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2003 11:43 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

14" monitors were kind of small, and didnt use the whole screen like todays monitors do (plus they were round).
Back to top
486 player
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god


Offline
Joined: 18 Sep 2002
Posts: 1179

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2003 2:10 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

the bigger, the better. (!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Sat Jan 25, 2003 2:28 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

My first PC had VGA (286) what good games were there on a 8086 with CGA anyway? For anything that far back your better off with the AMIGA or C64 version.
Back to top
486 player
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god


Offline
Joined: 18 Sep 2002
Posts: 1179

PostPosted: Thu Jan 30, 2003 6:34 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

If game's published (copyrighted) in 80's, it's CGA and to 8086. But sadly, most o' 'em are abandonware.
Back to top
johpower
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 06 Jan 2003
Posts: 428
Location: Colorado North 40

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2003 3:22 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

486 player wrote:
If game's published (copyrighted) in 80's, it's CGA and to 8086. But sadly, most o' 'em are abandonware.


Oh, I wouldn't say that. There are plenty of decent 80's progs running video better than CGA. Now before say, 85, then you are fairly right.


Last edited by johpower on Tue Feb 18, 2003 4:51 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2003 4:31 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Games in CGA look horrible, its better to get out the C64 and play them on that machine!

Was EGA used alot for games or did it go from CGA to VGA graphics?
Back to top
johpower
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 06 Jan 2003
Posts: 428
Location: Colorado North 40

PostPosted: Tue Feb 18, 2003 5:10 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

If you are replying to my 2/18 statement, I've amended it to more clearly mean that the 80's wasn't all CGA.

EGA was used from '83 to '89 generally. It was mainly in response to calls for better color depth and better than Mac video games for PC's at the time. Most games after '86 supported both VGA and EGA mode (not much diff between EGA and VGA coding). The advent of good cheap VGA monitors killed EGA.

You can even see the transition-ware. A big border would be put around an EGA video box and buttons added there for onscreen controls that the original didn't have.

And don't forget to add: "device(high)=c:\dos\ega.sys" to your config.sys to get the better res.
Back to top
Tombstone
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 01 Jun 2003
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 1:29 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Where can one purchase an old system like this? I've got a Pentium 133 (see signature), and even a Pentium 90, but they're too advanced for some of my favorite old DOS games (Gunship 2000, Pirates! Gold, etc.)

I have been hunting for a 386/DX40 (or thereabouts) for two years. Yard sales, eBay, you name it, I've checked into it.

I had one of those boat-anchors about 12 years ago. Who knew I'd be wishing I still had it?
Back to top
Unknown_K
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 1:38 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you in the US? I have a 386SX/40 MB that needs a battery, maybe we could trade.
Back to top
Tombstone
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 01 Jun 2003
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 12:22 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Unknown_K wrote:
Are you in the US? I have a 386SX/40 MB that needs a battery, maybe we could trade.


Unfortunately, I'd need the whole nine yards. I have old drives < 500MB for it, some old 4 - 12X CD-ROMs that I'm pretty sure still work, wads and wads of good 30 pin SIMMs, and that SB CT3990 VLB card for audio, but that's it. I don't even have an AT class chassis anymore.

I might still be interested, though...

Q. Does your mainboard have the on-board FDD/HDD controller?

Q. Does your mainboard have a ISA-VLB slot?

Q. Do you have the 386/40 CPU?
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Free Windows games


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)