DOS Games Message Board
DOS Games Discussion
A message board to talk about DOS games, get help, and find old games.
Do NOT post warez or abandonware requests please
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 


I have Dial-up 56k and I hate it!
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware
Author Message
GameMaster.EXE
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 694
Location: North Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 3:24 pm     Post subject: I have Dial-up 56k and I hate it! Reply with quote

The subject line says it all! Dial-up is so damn slow! What would take a broadband user 1 minute to download something would take half an hour on mine! DSL is not available for my area, so I can't get faster service. The connection speed is like 21.1k on my computer and it can't get any worse! Who's in a similar situation like me?
Back to top
Wally
King of the Carrot Flowers


Offline
Joined: 01 May 2003
Posts: 4624

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2005 9:47 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey tell me about it..

Damn telstra... cant put the line out an extra 3 kms.

So unfortunatelly i cant get DSL..
Back to top
jmmijo
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 224
Location: PDX

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 10:30 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Luckily I live in an area with choice, however, having tried out all the connection flavors, I'll stick with my Comcast cable connection Shit-Eating Grin

I hope your situation changes for the better in regards to your connection speed, really sounds like some noisy lines caused by distance and older equipment at your local CO Sad

@Wally, so I see you live down under, but does your local ILEC even offer iDSL service ?!?

This is basically a replacement to the older ISDN technology and uses a 144kb up/down. It's specifically designed for clients that are further away from their local CO's then normal xDSL will allow for a proper connection Wink
Back to top
dr_st
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 23 Jun 2004
Posts: 347
Location: Absorbed into Clayface

PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 1:52 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I used to be on dialup 56k. Initially my connection was stable at 52kbps. Then my modem died, and my new modem gave me something stable between 50667bps and 5333bps. In the very end of my dialup age I used to be able to connect at the stable speed of 54667bps.

Then I moved to cable. First 750kbps, then 1.5mbps. Was alright most of the time, except that during some periods I suffered often connection drops. I think it was in part due to unstable infrastructure of the cable company in its early days as an internet service provider, and in part due to me connecting the broadband modem through USB. When I started connecting it through Ethernet to my router the problems seemed to stop.

Then we moved to ADSL 1.5mbps. We only did it because we cancelled our subscription to the cable company's TV services (moved to the satellite company), and it was impossible (or infeasible) for us to keep their internet services. Basically I'm pretty happy with the ADSL too, except for one gripe - the upload bandwidth they give for 1.5mbps downloiad is only 96kbps (12KB/s) compared to the cable's 128kbps (16KB/s). Often not so important, but when you want to upload a big file it makes a difference, and also when eMule was uploading at 10KB/s it constantly clogged up my traffic and I experienced slowdowns I never experienced with cable. So I must use Netlimiter to limit eMule by force.
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 2:57 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

There is always Satellite internet avalible in any area, but it is very costly to set up. A reciever is $1000 US, but monthly you pay about the same as DSL.
Back to top
Maxpower
Member
Member


Offline
Joined: 21 Jun 2005
Posts: 30
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 3:22 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

I have Road Runner. It takes a few secons a file as big as 10mb. I use to have 56k. It costed $25 a year. But it was text only. LOL
Back to top
Wally
King of the Carrot Flowers


Offline
Joined: 01 May 2003
Posts: 4624

PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 8:30 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

jmmijo wrote:

@Wally, so I see you live down under, but does your local ILEC even offer iDSL service ?!?

This is basically a replacement to the older ISDN technology and uses a 144kb up/down. It's specifically designed for clients that are further away from their local CO's then normal xDSL will allow for a proper connection Wink


I think they were replacing that..

I imagine they have fixed it but we havent heard anything
Back to top
486 player
Gaming Demi-god
Gaming Demi-god


Offline
Joined: 18 Sep 2002
Posts: 1180

PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 5:11 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

We've a goverment's plan to get broadband to every cottage by usin' out of us nmt7gsm net, but it takes a long time. Sad
Back to top
Eugene Esterly III
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Posts: 63
Location: Breinigsville, Pennsylvania, USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 6:05 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm in the same boat as GameMaster.EXE.

I can only get dial-up in my general area. I have a 56K Modem but I can only get 28.8 Kbps. I live in Breinigsville, PA & we can't even get DSL but Allentown, PA which is only several miles to the east of us has DSL.

Breinigsville, PA is located in Upper Macungie Township which is the largest township in Lehigh County, PA but we can't get DSL because Verizon doesn't want to spend money to upgrade the infrastructure.

Pennsylvania just enacted a law which requires that Verizon upgrade an area for DSL if 50 people or more request DSL.
Back to top
GameMaster.EXE
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 694
Location: North Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 9:19 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmmm...

I'm trying to get SBC Yahoo DSL and I live in a neighborhood of about 70 houses and 2 apartment complexes. I'm suprised why my area hasn't upgraed......
Back to top
jmmijo
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 224
Location: PDX

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 11:12 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Boy I feel for those that don't have a choice, regardless if they want to use broadband or not.

PDX, has so many options, in fact there's a non-profit group that wants to WiFi the entire metro area. They even pursuaded the city to look into this and the city appears to be moving forward with this, however, they want to charge a minimum fee to cover the cost of the serivice and equipment Wink

Currently, you can go many places in the downtown area and just roam with your mobile device for free Shit-Eating Grin
Back to top
GameMaster.EXE
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 694
Location: North Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 3:31 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

For now, I'll have to see about acclerated dial-up. Or maybe NETZERO 3g high-speed dial-up. That any good?
Back to top
Wally
King of the Carrot Flowers


Offline
Joined: 01 May 2003
Posts: 4624

PostPosted: Sun Aug 28, 2005 7:25 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

YOu should at least attempt to get ISDN.. or wireless is another option
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 11:59 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Kazer0 wrote:
There is always Satellite internet avalible in any area, but it is very costly to set up. A reciever is $1000 US, but monthly you pay about the same as DSL.
Back to top
jmmijo
Lord of Gaming
Lord of Gaming


Offline
Joined: 16 Oct 2002
Posts: 224
Location: PDX

PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 9:24 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

Kazer0 wrote:
Kazer0 wrote:
There is always Satellite internet avalible in any area, but it is very costly to set up. A reciever is $1000 US, but monthly you pay about the same as DSL.


The problem that occurs with Satellite broadband is it's extreme latency. Not good at all for gaming, d/l yes but not gaming unless you want to lag all the time that is Laughing
Back to top
Kazer0
Mercenary Dishwasher


Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2002
Posts: 2704
Location: In an igloo with my pet penguin, eh?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 31, 2005 5:51 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

jmmijo wrote:
Kazer0 wrote:
Kazer0 wrote:
There is always Satellite internet avalible in any area, but it is very costly to set up. A reciever is $1000 US, but monthly you pay about the same as DSL.


The problem that occurs with Satellite broadband is it's extreme latency. Not good at all for gaming, d/l yes but not gaming unless you want to lag all the time that is Laughing


Thats because Sattelite uses a 56k modem for upload, satellite for download.
Back to top
Eugene Esterly III
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Posts: 63
Location: Breinigsville, Pennsylvania, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2005 11:58 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I saw a write-up in my local newsletter for the area which I live in & I am happy. There is a sign-up sheet to get broadband cable Internet in my area & I signed the sheet several hours ago. If 25% of my area signs up, Service Electric Cable TV will hook up my area for broadband. I hope that it works out since dial-up is inaddiquate for downloading.

I download a lot of freeware games, apps, et al & it takes so long to download the files. Even a 1 MB file takes almost 10 minutes, on broadband, it takes less than a minute to download 1 MB.
Back to top
GameMaster.EXE
Way too much free time
Way too much free time


Offline
Joined: 29 Jun 2005
Posts: 694
Location: North Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2005 4:13 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

My "new" modem is 56k, but its giving me like 28.1k.
Who's pissed off at dial-up like me?
Back to top
The_Sinister_Mastermind
Overlord


Offline
Joined: 26 Oct 2005
Posts: 2745
Location: NSW, Australia, Down Under Verse

PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2005 4:56 pm     Post subject: Reply with quote

Well like I said in the other thread. For years I suffered like you with dial up, and hey you should be pleased yours is giving you 28.1, my download speed was 3-6k. It seriously sucked. Now my downloads start at 600k but they quickly slow down to about 30k.
Back to top
Eugene Esterly III
Experienced Member
Experienced Member


Offline
Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Posts: 63
Location: Breinigsville, Pennsylvania, USA

PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2005 12:54 am     Post subject: Reply with quote

GameMaster.EXE wrote:
My "new" modem is 56k, but its giving me like 28.1k.
Who's pissed off at dial-up like me?


I'm in the same boat as you. My modem is a 56K but I can only get 28.8K in my area because of the phone lines.

I'm not pissed off at dial-up, I'm pissed off at the broadband companies who seem to what to forget about my area. At least Service Electric Cable TV is interest in bringing broadband to my area.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DOS Games Discussion Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Free Windows games


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group and Ask an Expert
Also powered by Darren and the other admin and mods' hard work! ;)